We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Penventon Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Redruth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I've just returned from a four night stay at the Penventon Park Hotel as a member of a group of about 30 ladies. This hotel is the best I have stayed in for a long time, the public areas are traditionally furnished and immaculately clean. The bedrooms were huge with lovely furnishings and bathrooms and the little extras such as shampoo, shower gel, shower hats and sewing kits, which was the norm some years ago but have now vanished from the major chains, were all provided and replenished daily. the towels, also, were changed on a daily basis. The food in the restaurant was excellent both at dinner and breakfast. We had a tour menu which is often not always the best when large groups are being catered for all at one time but this menu and the quality of the food could not be improved on. Finally the staff - ALL of the staff appeared to be very happy in their work, they were efficient, friendly and very accommodating, nothing was a problem to them and they made our group feel very welcome. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

“the best I have stayed in for a long time”

We are a traditional hotel, and thus provide traditional good hospitality and service, and hope to do so for a long time into the future.

We’re so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and do hope that you will return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

689 - 695 of 1,292 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

Another amazing overnight stay/spa day at Penventon. 4 of us ladies had a lovely pamper day and then gorgeous meal and cocktail. The staff simply cannot do enough for you and we absolutely love staying there. It was my birthday and they made it extra special, with special little birthday touches :) Thank you all at Penventon. Amazing breakfast as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuntieCece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

It’s lovely to welcome guests, even more so when returning.

You experienced all that Penventon has to offer, fine food, wine and also the all-important spa relaxation.

team enjoy looking after you as much as you enjoy your visits.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Our first visit to this charming hotel via an online deal. Having bought 2 night deal + dining at excellent price, our expectations were realistic. The hotel is family run and much extended on the site of an original Georgian Manor House very close to the centre of Redruth. Staff, committed, very friendly and helpful; large comfy rooms although with houses of this style, bit of a rabbit warren of corridors. Toiletries and tea making facilities - and biscuits! - provided. Also a small kitchen area with microwave and washing machine which would no doubt be appreciated by those staying longer.

However, the crowning glory was the dining room, bars and menu! Lovely olde world charm, excellent menu and standard of food all served in a delightful dining room. It was clear that the restaurant is popular within the local community for birthday celebrations etc so suggest table reservation made at time of booking. although close to the town, very little choice of eateries locally.

Nice pool and spa facilities. Excellent base for touring Cornwall.

Highly recommended and definitely happy to return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the rear garden, but generally all rooms appears quiet. If you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Thank you for your review; it is a joy to read.

Good food and wine features highly at Penventon all year around and even more so during the festive season. Our New Year’s Eve Gala Buffet features traditional indulgence, such as whole side of salmon and Beef Wellington. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back at any time of the year, but I feel that to experience our New Year Gala Event would provide an even more enjoyable culinary wow!

Thank you again for your review, it is most appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We have been going to the Penventon hotel for the past forty years, for dinner, weekend specials, overnight stays, and taking family and friends, and never once in all that time have we had anything less than a beautiful time or have standards changed in any way.
The moment you drive through the gates, you are in another time, peaceful, elegant, charming, the gardens are lovely, the staff friendly but efficient and nothing is too much trouble, the bedrooms we have used are very comfortable, with first class beds, and everything one could expect to be in the bathroom.
The dining room is so elegant with grand piano and pianist playing during your meal and fresh flowers on each table,the restaurant staff are first class, from the moment ones napkin is placed across the lap, to the moment they thank you when leaving, one has their undivided attention and polite friendliness.
Long may it continue in West Cornwall, we have never found any other hotel to compare in all areas. Thank you.

Room Tip: choose a quiet room on the south side or a garden suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

We love the title of your review “old friends”

It’s true, guests who return become our friends and we enjoy looking after you, as much as you enjoy staying.

It is our aim to provide you with a faultless stay, that you can expect and enjoy every time you return; we’re so pleased that this was the case once more, for you recent visit.

We will look forward to continue to welcome you back for many more future stays.

Thank you so much for taking time to review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I have just returned from a two night stay at this hotel with a group of friends.
From the time we checked in and the time we checked out nothing was too much trouble. The friendly staff, the cleanliness of the room and hotel were exceptional. The food was of an exceptionally high standard and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. A particularly thank you to Nigel Jeffery for sorting out our accommodation (we stayed in one of the Garden suites, well worth it!) even if you did win the rugby on Saturday Nigel!!!!

Room Tip: The Garden Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie_julie357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Your review is a joy to read, and we love the note to Nigel! He will see it, don’t you worry, I’ll ensure it!

Fine food, wine and catching up with friends, what more could you wish for.

We aim to ensure that Penventon offers the best for all aspects of your stay; we’re so pleased that this was the case for your visit.

Keep an eye on our website; we have some great offers that might interest you, for now and further into the year. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Good day,

The Penventon Park Hotel in Redruth is, TRULY a lovely, beautiful hotel. Upon entering the front entrance you are greeted with the most fragrant and huge bouquet of English flowers you will ever see. Inside the grand entrance, it is everything you would imagine an English experience should be. The front staff are ready and prepared to greet you. I usually stay in the modern Garden Suites, with lovely balconies overlooking the lush gardens.
The Penventon Hotel has it all, wonderful dining and fantastic food, main floor friendly pub atmosphere, pool, spa and best of all a five minute walk into the main town.

I love the Penventon Hotel, it is the only place I stay when I visit family and friends. The parking area surrounding the hotel is huge, nestled amongst a lovely tree lined winding driveway.

Whether you are staying for a short or long while, Penventon Hotel is the place to be.

Thank you,

Jane A.
Canada

Room Tip: Ask for the Garden Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canada85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Firstly, how lovely to receive a review from across the waves!

We’ve been described as “a gem in the heart of Cornwall” and now “the “Jewel” of Redruth”; to read your review makes us very proud, thank you so much for your lovely words.

We try really hard to uphold our standards, keeping to our heritage and traditions; we’re pleased that this comes across as such, and provides the desired atmosphere and hospitality that you enjoy.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back, do come and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

These were our first words on arrival coming down the driveway. We were greeted by a lovely young lady in reception. Our room was perfect, extremely clean and a most comfortable bed. We headed to the bar and greeted by Bruce, he was there for our stay of three nights. He was charming and a pleasure to talk to. We enjoyed good wine and local beer. I enjoyed the spa and it's surroundings and again with pleasant and helpful staff. Breakfast was really good with everything you could wish for and attentive staff. We had room service on our last evening and ordered the burgers - wow huge - lovely. This hotel was recommended by our daughter who lives in Redruth and we are due to visit again in April and we are very much looking forward to it. We run a family business and it was such a pleasure to stay in a family run hotel, it makes such a pleasant change from the large hotel chains. We found the decor fascinating especially the dining room. A very popular hotel it would seem, always guests staying. A message for Bruce ' get a pint of ginger tosser ready we will see you soon'

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

You’re review is a joy to read, and the parting comment did make me chuckle!

We’re so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Our aim is to provide professional hospitality in friendly and family orientated way.

Return guests become friends, and we always look forward to welcoming back friends.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review; we will ensure that our team including Bruce! are made aware of your lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redruth
8.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
941 reviews
10.9 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
23 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
20.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
13.7 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penventon Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penventon Park Hotel

Address: West End, Redruth TR15 1TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Redruth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Redruth
Price Range: $100 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Penventon Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Georgian Mansion, just minutes from the A30 boasts Guestrooms, Aphrodite's Leisure Spa & Dining Galleries Restaurant. Guestrooms are appointed to a very high standard offering single and double ensuite accommodation. We have twenty newly built Garden Suites with beautiful Spanish Marble bathrooms. The majority of all other bedrooms are completely refurbished to a very high specification. All rooms have colour TV, including Sky TV, direct dial telephone, controllable central heating and tea / coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Penventon Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penventon Park Redruth
Hotel Penventon Park
Penventon Park Hotel Redruth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing