We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Groupon Voucher Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Penventon Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Redruth
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Groupon Voucher Ever!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I got a groupon voucher for a very reasonable amount of money, which gave my sister and I two nights of accommodation with breakfast both days, a very nice dinner on the first night, afternoon tea brought to our room on the second day, and access to the spa facilities.

Even though we were there on a discount deal, and were slightly apprehensive that we had booked into a posh hotel under kind-of false pretenses, the staff were all wonderful to us - very helpful and friendly. The dinner was probably the most posh I have had since a formal dinner at university, and the breakfast was the best I have ever had, with a mouth-watering amount of choice, and excellent food - hats off to the chef who introduced me to Eggs Benedict!

It's true, we were put in one of the cheaper rooms, and a little fridge would have been a nice addition. But then we asked the staff, and they offered to keep our apple juice in the fridge for us, to be retrieved whenever we asked for it.

All in all, almost obscene value for money with the groupon voucher, and one of the best hotel stays ever.

Room Tip: (Room allocated as part of groupon offer)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We now offer online booking, and at present there are some great 'hot deals' which include complimentary dinner. Take a look, you could achieve a stay on a similar rate to that of your groupon offer.

Also, do sign up to our priorty club, you'll then also recieve offers to return.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    314
    114
    33
    21
See reviews for
212
523
57
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Porthleven, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2014

What can I say, excellent throughout, very, very pleased will definitely be returning in the future, can highly recommend the pool and sauna facilities, very relaxing. Room service was first class with reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor excellent outlook at the back and patio doors for easy access
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review.

We aim to meet and ideally exceed guests’ expectation of their stay; we’re so pleased that this was the case for your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Just returned from a great 2 nights, at the Penventon Park Hotel. Redruth would not spring to mind as an obvious destination, for many people seeking a break in Cornwall, but having just returned from a break with friends, we cannot heap enough praise on the totally dedicated staff, who were so helpful and nothing seemed too much to please the guests. The food was superb and for a Hotel of this quality, the drinks were not overpriced. A great plus for the three swimmers in our group, was the free use of the indoor swimming pool and leisure complex (to burn off those calories!!) If anyone is seeking the functional, bland, motels/room for the night, very basic corporate chain, type of accomodation, then please look elsewhere, as our party of 4 thoroughly enjoyed the setting (6 minutes walk from the town centre) and overall character of the Penventon.
The central location of Redruth, between the north & south coast of the bottom end of Cornwall, was a great plus for driving to the various coastal resorts, for a bit of sight seeing. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: When booking, I had read about the night club, so requested a 'quiet room'. We had 2 rooms i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
When we receive a review such as yours; it more than endorses that we’re right to stick to our traditional and gracious standards.

It will absolutely be our pleasure to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

To begin 2014 in style, our party of six family members opted for quality The venue fitted the bill perfectly. There are of course many establishments in the area where a Sunday lunch can be obtained but the restaurant is in a different league from others. Booking in advance is advised. Service was excellent. staff helpful, and the pianist delighted us with a variety of classical and popular tunes. The menu was varied and the food presented piping hot. A very big thank you to all who contributed to a memorable lunchtime and a special vote of approval to the chef

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
We could not wish for a better review. Thank you so much for your kind words.

Penventon has been offering traditional fine food, wine and hospitality for more than 40yrs; and we're so pleased that the response from our customers continues to be positive.

I will ensure that our team and indeed Head Chef have sight of your review.

Thank you again, and do come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was our 3rd year for New Year at the Penventon. The food, as always, was second to none, with excellent choices and as much or little as you wanted. More food at midnight (but for me nowhere to put it!). Went for a swim/sauna and was pleased to be offered both a robe and towel. (Unfortunately, the changing rooms weren't that clean!)

This year we had a Garden Suite room, which was well decorated, comfortable, warm and clean. The other bonus was no outside noise from either the front of the hotel or Twilight Zone nightclub! We had been disappointed with the entertainment last year but there were no problems this year, with the DJ playing a good range of music which kept punters on the floor right until the end at 2am!

Think we'll probably book in again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
A Penventon New Year is always a good evening for guests and staff alike.

We're pleased that you also enjoyed the choice of DJ this year.

It's good to hear that our Chef and restaurant team, excelled themselves again with the Gala Buffet; we welcome in excess of 200 people every year now.

I'm encouraged that you experienced good customer service from our Health and Leisure Spa, although I will keep an eye on cleanliness of the changing rooms.

Do join our priority club and we'll keep you updated with special offers, as it would be great to see you for other celebrations throughout the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The Penventon styles itself as a "Downton-esque experience" but it isn't; it's just tired and shabby. Downton has style and class, whereas the Penventon just looks like it hasn't been decorated for decades. Our room was superficially clean but it didn't take long to find a false nail when I trod on it in bare feet. It was impossible to get any ambient lighting and even impossible to have the bedside lights on without all the other lights on in the room! We resorted to turning the television on so that we weren't dazzled by the unpleasant main room lights. We stayed on a Saturday night... big mistake. There is a night club next door and we were woken in the night by revving engines and fights. The room had some kind of wipe clean curtains... the mind boggles. We had to leave at 7:30 but the cooked breakfast wasn't available until 8! We were left a continental breakfast. Positive points: the staff were pleasant and helpful and the bathroom was OK, and it wasn't expensive. But if you want 21st century quality rather than something that might have been OK in the 70s, go elsewhere. Times and expectations have moved on and the Penventon hasn't.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pablopz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
After responding to several 5 star reviews, I can’t deny, your review is definitely far away from the responses we’re used to receiving; however we obviously do understand your personal view.
I’m not sure how we can portray traditional, when traditional is antiques, ornate cornicing and ionic pillars; which can look aged. I guess we could update with new replica’s, but that’s not really the idea and theme.
Downton-esque is a term that many guests have used to describe us; hence we have taken note, and now incorporate this term.
Penventon Dining Galleries and Ball room has provided traditional hospitality, fine food and wine to more than 6,000 diners and party goers through December, the festive season; I imagine that the noise heard in the late evening, would’ve been revellers departing from the hotel.
On a weekend, we find the most residents prefer a slightly later breakfast dining time; again, we listen to our guests and hence breakfast starts a little later, and finishes later. Your stay seems to have been for flying visit, it’s a shame that you weren’t able to partake of a hearty Full Cornish Breakfast.

It is clear that you wouldn’t frequent Penventon again, however we do hope that you will continue to visit the area; as Cornwall as a county has much to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthleven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

After a horrible time in 2013 my partner and I decided to end the year on a positive note by bring our wedding forward from August to 21st December. It was a last minute decision and so we chose to marry at the local registry office and book lunch at the Penventon for ourselves and the 5 immediate family members we had at our small intimate wedding.

The booking was very easy, I enquired about a private dining room, however we decided to just have a table in the main restaurant. Initially I had just said it was a family meal rather than a wedding and could we bring a cake for after lunch. All was good so I said that it was our wedding and booked welcome drinks for us to have on our arrival.

We decided to try to book a room for the night and the booking was made very easily over the phone, the hotel usually have a 2 night stay policy at the weekend but we were able to get a dinner, bed and breakfast deal for the 1 night that was exceptional value for money, particularly so near to Christmas.

On the day, we arrived rather windswept but were able to take some fabulous photographs in the main entrance; alongside the Christmas tree in the foyer and on the lovely staircase. We were warmly welcomed by the staff and our welcome drinks were brought to us while we sat in the lounge choosing our food. We were shown to a lovely table and were served with an amazing lunch. The food was superb and unlike the wedding we had initially planned, we were able to choose anything from their varied menu which kept everyone very happy.

A man wearing an anorak came rushing over to our table during lunch to congratulate us and our puzzled expression led him to explain he was the proprietor (David Pascoe) and he'd just arrived and heard we were here and he wanted to come and wish us well - another nice touch!

Our cake had been delivered and was presented to us with our coffee in the lounge area. The wedding co-ordinator came out and offered to stage some wedding photos for us, using the amazing furniture and took the photos for us.

The hotel was spotlessly clean and fresh, cleaning staff could be seen taking great care over the hotel in the morning.

We checked into out room after lunch and had been upgraded to a suite... the room was amazing, a huge four-poster bed, full length mirror, patio doors out into the garden, an air-mat bath (jacuzzi), again spotlessly clean and welcoming.

We made use of the pool, jacuzzi and sauna during the afternoon, the facilities were clean and sufficient for a hotel stay. There is also a gym and treatments available but we did not use these.

Due to the business of the restaurant we were not booked in until 9.30pm for dinner, but we were seated early when we came down to the bar at 9. We had a choice of the pre-paid Christmas menu or upgrading to the A La Carte (which we did). We were so warmly welcomed by everyone, asking if we had enjoyed the wedding day so far. The paino was played throughout the evening which made the atmosphere in the restaurant very nviting. There were Christmas parties in the ballroom and occasionally you could hear the disco, but this too added to the festive happy atmosphere.

The food was "superb" a word my new husband got a little fed up with that day. The duck breast main was cooked brilliantly, the quality of all the food, the presentation and the taste were great. They have "show cooking" in the restaurant with flambéed steak diane etc and my favourite dessert Crepes Suzette. As we were a late sitting the trolley had been tidied away before we had ordered our dessert, but when I asked if it was possible to have the crepes it was no problem. I said to cook them in the kitchen as the trolley had been cleaned, but they set up 2 burners on the next table to us and cooked our crepes.. again another superb dish... some may think it a bit 80's but they are excellent and considering the process charged, great value for money compared to some catering quality frozen desserts served elsewhere.

At the end of the night we had more drinks in the bar before retiring to the massive four-poster bed. In the morning we were warmly greeted and they asked how our first morning as husband and wife was. Breakfast was freshly prepared to order, we both had an omelette and it was excellent. There was a range of cereals, fresh fruit salad, toast, pastries and fabulous jams (made by the proprietor Paola Pascoe).

So after an amazing wedding day we sadly checked out.

I cannot thank the Penventon enough for making us feel like royalty. ALL the staff were brilliant and made us feel like the only guests and VIP guests at that. Despite a bad year we are so glad that we cancelled out planned wedding and chose to use this hotel for our big day. I can highly recommend the hotel for a lunch, a dinner or a nights stay.. or like us.. all of the above!

Room Tip: We had room 150 - a garden suite.. patio doors onto the garden, large four-poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janeway75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
The lovely vibe that I read from your review is that all our team were aware and went out of their way to ensure your wedding day, although intimate, was as important and memorable as if a 100 guests had attended.

We can't train this, this is due dedication from our team for whom many have been with us for between 10 and 40yrs!

We do value our customers, and hope that all feel special from arrival to departure.

I cannot tell you how well recieved your review is, and how happy we are that you decided to spend such a special date in your lives, with us here at Penventon.

Do come and see us again soon, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redruth
8.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
838 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
11.0 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,085 reviews
14.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
13.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penventon Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penventon Park Hotel

Property: Penventon Park Hotel
Address: West End, Redruth TR15 1TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Redruth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Redruth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penventon Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Georgian Mansion, just minutes from the A30 boasts Guestrooms, Aphroditie's Lesuire Spa & Dining Gallaries Restaurant. Guestrooms are appointed to a very high standard offering single and double en - suite accomodation. We have twenty newly built Garden Suites with beautiful Spanish Marble bathrooms. The majority of all other bedrooms are completely refurbished to a very high specification. All rooms have colour TV, including Sky TV, direct dial telephone, controllable central heating and tea / coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Penventon Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penventon Park Redruth
Hotel Penventon Park
Penventon Park Hotel Redruth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing