We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Penventon Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Redruth
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights at this hotel this week ( early Dec 2013 ) and we were very pleased with the whole package. The facilities overall were excellent, the Manor house, restaurant and bedroom were really impressive and very comfortable ( our 4 poster bed was massive ) and the food and service fantastic. We could not understand why it was only 3 star. We would recommend this hotel unreservedly. Mike P. Cardiff

Room Tip: Room 555 -----------superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikepS1582HD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
It's great to hear that you feel that we're worth more than 3 stars.

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Do sign up for our priority club, we would love to keep in contact and welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    304
    113
    31
    21
See reviews for
209
517
57
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Taunton Somerset
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

I was treated to a very special break which included a lovely weekend stay at your Hotel. On arrival I found the reception staff were very friendly and professional, I was also very impressed to be upgraded from a single room to a twin room.
I so enjoyed the evening meal sat in your beautiful Venetian Restaurant with the pianist playing; the ambiance and the food were excellent.
Breakfast was also amazing, I have never had so many choices from the normal full English to haddock, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs to name a few.
I also managed to take time for a swim and a sauna but unfortunately the Jacuzzi wasn't available but the young lady who was responsible was very apologetic.
I am hoping to return again in February for my Birthday treat and I can't wait!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s11val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
We aim for guests to feel comfortable and welcomed from the moment you arrive.

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, do come and see us for your birthday in February. Let us know on booking, as we'll wish to celebrate with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch today with Cornwall's Retired Firefighters in the hotel's restaurant. All food pre ordered so sat down and food delivered promptly. I had duck starter which was absolutely perfect! Beautiful taste, moist and warm an excellent choice. Main course was sea bass, which was acceptable but as I'm writing a review will be precise, it was a little over done. Possibly it was kept too warm after cooking before service, but considering we were a large party I readily accept that it's not easy to get every dish absolutely perfect, and all the comments made around me were favourable. Would have preferred my fish to have been served on a plate as opposed to the low flat bowl it was presented in. It was difficult to eat from the bowl, breakfast comes in a bowl not sure about lunch! My dessert choice was the chocolate and I think chestnut which was divine! Simple, light beautifully presented and tasty what more can you ask for? I drink neither tea or coffee and when I requested just hot water there was no look of astonishment which I often experience just precise service. The staff are discreet, efficient and effective,who ever is responsible for the training does a great job and in many, ney most other establishments, lessons could be learnt from The Penventon. I would describe the place as of traditional old school style, some might prefer a more contemporary decor but in all honesty if it ain't broke, why fix it? Christmas time the decorations here are always very apparent adding to it's old fashioned charm. Congratulations to the restaurant manager and team, a pleasing couple of hours spent in your company is to be recommended!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shashvisits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Your sentiment, mirrors our own. Every now and again we wonder whether we should join the rest and modernise. Then we recieve a review such as yours, which endorses that we're right to stick to our tradtional standards of hospitality, service and food.

As a tradtional hotel, your right, Christmas decs just add to the ambience.

Thank you for such a lovely and honest review. Comments good and room for improvement are always well received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed for one night at this hotel which is very conveniently placed for Redruth town centre being only about 100 metres away.
From the moment of booking we received a series of follow up e mails confirming our booking and arrival details etc including one even on the evening before we stayed and the administration at this hotel is clearly top notch.
The hotel was excellent in all aspects from the moment we arrived. The staff were kind , friendly and helpful and offered us a free upgrade to a superior room which was HUGE and the bed extremely comfortable. The room was spotless with all the usual amenities in place and some which you would not expect from a 3 star hotel.
At breakfst the service was very well organised and the full English breakfast was superbly cooked with not a hint of greasiness on the plate!

The only very small downside was the lack of lighting on the driveway and as we had omitted to bring a torch walking the 50 yeards or so from the hotel to the main road was "interesting" and usually relied upon a passing car to light our way!

Room Tip: If you are intending to walk from the hotel in the evening, it would be a good idea to bring a torch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
You're right, we do need lighting for the drive way, but don't wish to put up unsightly beacons. We have tried some solar lighting, but sadly unsuccessfully; we will sort this, as soon as a good solution is found.

We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay, do come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Four of us spent two days at the Penventon. I call the decor classic eclectic and loved it. Every turn had another interesting bit to explore; a painting, a statue or a tiled work of art. Each guest room was spacious and comfortable. Great location, visited Treasure Park, Land's End, went golfing. All the staff were warm, friendly, helpful and accommodating. There wasn't anything they wouldn't do to make the visit a most enjoyable time. The food was a step above expectations. Sole, crab, duck, steak, vegetarian… All prepared with a delicate touch of flavor that delighted the pallet, nothing was heavy or overpowering. Ask questions about any of the dishes and the staff will explain it to assist in your decision. For example, what are the steaks like, how spicy is the dish with horseradish, what is yard. I also took time for a swim, jacuzzi and a sauna. It was a great way to relax after a day out.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaOU2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Our aim is to be a home from home, somewhere that guests feel comfortable on arrival and throughout their stay. We're pleased that this was apparent during your stay.

Do come back and see us again soon, it will be our priviledge to welcome you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truro cornwall
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We have just been with our group to the penventon hotel for our christmas lunch, and the whole experience was excellent. I called a number of places for quotes for a group and the penventon hotel were the most efficient. The room was lovely and delightfully decorated for us. Service quick and efficient with lovely cheerful staff. Food was excellent, no complaints with a great choice. All in all we could not find any faults. We will be back.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank tinaTruroCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Food and hospitality is our forte. We're pleased that this showed for your luncheon.

We have some great offers during January. Take a look on our website, and sign up to our priority club to recieve offers direct.

Thank you for your review, it is really well recieved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

What a great hotel. Beautiful rooms and fantastic food.
We were on an Amazon deal and expected a box room round the back, but no we had one of the best rooms, a garden suite with a terrace, no view as it was on the ground floor but it was a large room with bath/shower.
Ten minute walk into town centre and bus stops right outside entrance

Room Tip: We liked the garden suite room 163 but there are other similar rooms adjacent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Do come back and see us again soon.

There are similar offers on our website, and if you sign up to our priority club, we'll ensure that you receive offers direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redruth
8.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
14.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
3.3 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
11.0 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
20.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penventon Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penventon Park Hotel

Property: Penventon Park Hotel
Address: West End, Redruth TR15 1TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Redruth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Redruth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penventon Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Georgian Mansion, just minutes from the A30 boasts Guestrooms, Aphroditie's Lesuire Spa & Dining Gallaries Restaurant. Guestrooms are appointed to a very high standard offering single and double en - suite accomodation. We have twenty newly built Garden Suites with beautiful Spanish Marble bathrooms. The majority of all other bedrooms are completely refurbished to a very high specification. All rooms have colour TV, including Sky TV, direct dial telephone, controllable central heating and tea / coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Penventon Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penventon Park Redruth
Hotel Penventon Park
Penventon Park Hotel Redruth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing