We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hoel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Penventon Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Redruth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and found the hotel very good value. Good location for visiting other areas. Friendly and helpful staff. Food excellent - reminded us of fine dining on board P&O cruises. Thoroughly enjoyed evening meal and breakfast each morning. Rooms comfortable and spa very good. Had a great full body massage by Sharon (thanks for getting rid of the pain in my shoulder blade!). Agree with other reviewers that they need to de-clutter - too oldie worldie for me but we all have different tastes.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 146 which was spacious with a seated patio area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritawinstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our surroundings and decor aren't to everyone's taste. We're loathed to modernise, in fear of becoming beige, like so many modern hotels these days.
Food and good service is our passion, and it's evident that this rings true with your experience. Thank you for taking the time to review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

816 - 822 of 1,286 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a romantic old building. Delightful paintings and wood carving, even if a little dated in places. There are many of the older generation staying in the hotel, but this should not be off-putting to youngsters. I suspect a lot of people keep coming back year after year. And why not?The Pascoe family evidently do a great job building a team of staff for the hotel who are friendly and highly competent. A rarity nowadays.

The location is best for those who want a base to explore the various bays and attractions in Cornwall and Plymouth. Redruth has some attractions to offer, but not more than a few hours worth.

A must is to visit the Hotel restaurant. The food is hearty and tasty, and the service is top notch. Good olde English food, which again is a rarity.

If you want to see how other establishments have gone backwards in the past thirty years, I suggest you come here. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fresh1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

My first thought it is "Blimey we couldn't have wished for a better review!"

We do welcome back guests time and time again, and what's really great is that Children of parents are now coming back with their children.

We're welcoming more visitors this year than ever (many of which are return guests), I think the word is spreading that we're the place to visit; and with the hit TV series Downton, we are becoming popular with all age groups.

Thanks so much for your review, it's really well received and appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Our room was a disappointment. Room 14. Walls were paper thin, woken up early in the morning by the TV next door, angry birds and people talking. Worn carpets in the corridor. Not value for money. Refurb required. Staff were friendly though. And breakfast ok.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank SIBS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Having just responding to several glowing reviews, my jaw has dropped a bit on reading yours. We realise that we can't please all of the people all of the time, but even so, it is saddening to us to receive a review that puts us as below par. I will obviously investigate your points raised. Regarding the noisy birds, I'm afraid they are prevalent in the whole of Cornwall, we're just thankful that we don't have as many seagulls as coastal venues!
Whilst we appreciate that you probably won't return to us; Cornwall as a County has much to offer, and we do hope you will continue to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I found this hotel on secret escapes and booked immediately. It was the only mistake I made as i could have got a substantially better deal had I gone to hotel directly.

This is an excellent choice for touring and I highly recommend the hotel to anyone. We were, admittedly, upgraded to a garden room, in the new wing. This meant a large ground floor room with a small seating area outside, a huge comfotable bed with plenty of space round it and a marble bathrom with shower and bath. The room was quiet but, because there is only a sliding door, we had to leave it partially open to get some air during a couple of sticky nights.

The breakfast was sensational. Enough choices for a complete change every morning for 2 weeks. From full Cornish/ English to eggs benedict, kippers to french toast, everything is freshly cooked for you, and it shows. Served by immacuately turned out staff, it really has the feel of a country estate. We ate here on 2 nights during our 5 night stay and were very impressed with both the quality and quantity of the food. The 3 course A La Carte is especially good value.

We used the Spa most evenings during our stay and found it very enjoyable. The pool and Sauna were especially welcome after a hard days walking.

Redruth has not got much else to offer except the excellent refurbished cinema which is an easy walk from the hotel but the location made up for that as it was so easy to get to St Ives, Crantock, Falmouth (highly recommended) and loads of other intesting sea side villages and resorts to both theWest and East of Cornwall
.
I have stayed in several 4 star hotels which did not have the facilites or ambience with which this family run hotel obviously prides itself with. Well done, you deserve 4 stars! we will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room, if you can. 169 was at one end and therefore very quiet although we could hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Your review is a joy to read, thank you.

Our motto is "love the past, live the present, embrace the future!" Future being flat screen TVs, email and online booking!

It is always best to book direct, our rates to book direct are in line with booking agents, plus you have a greater range of rooms to choose from, as we offer more room types direct than you can book on a booking agent website.

We have some great offers on our website, and a team of reservations ladies and David (our one gentleman in the office) who are on hand to answer any questions you may have.

It's advisable to enquire and book earlier than later, we operate early booking discounts, rather than late deals; our prices tend to rise the busier we become.

We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay, it will be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have stayed here several times and never had reason to complain, food was excellent, room was very clean and spacious. unfortunately Redruth has nothing to offer very poor and run down area, so we travelled to St Michaels mount and Porthleven for something to do.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vera A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.
We have been noted previously as "a gem in the middle of everywhere!".

We're no more than 25mins from all major towns and attractions, such as St Ives, Helston, Falmouth, Truro; 10mins to our local beach.

Your stay is typical of many guests that stay with us; they use us as a great base for delicious food and good accommodation, and go off and explore the county during the day.

Accessible via the A30 means that you've got good roads to reach us, but you can then easily reach all the scenery and attractions down the quaint cornish roads, once you've unpacked and settled in!
Also, don't forget the train, we're only 10mins walking from the station, a trip to St Ives on the train is a must, the scenery is lovely, particularly the domestic line along the seafront from St Erth to St Ives.

We value all our guests, but even more so those who are returning time and time again; thank you so much for your review, it is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked through Secret Escapes but got the date wrong and the lovely receptionist sorted us out with the same room and deal as arranged. We had a super cream tea in the afternoon and lovely meal in the evening. Breakfast had a good selection to choose from and was delicious. The room had a lovely outlook into the garden and was fairly quiet.
Only complaints were the room smelt a little damp due to the extractor fan not working which we did report to reception and our car was covered in bird droppings as we had parked under the trees in the car park....ours was not the only car that suffered from this problem!!
Overall a super stay.

Room Tip: Go for a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellor80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Junior Suites are beautiful, a room type favourite of many of our returning guests. Regarding the birds, we are trying to find a humane way of keeping the criters under control. One suggestion is to bring in a Falcon handler for a day a week; apparently the falcon's presence frightens the birds away; our team are looking forward to seeing this, even if the birds aren't!
There are some great offers on our website at present, do take a look, maybe we can tempt you to return sooner. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed for two nights, clean but very dated. Service and food was 1st class! Bar, Lounge, dining room, and bedroom are very dated with colour schemes a bit busy. Felt like we had been dropped into a game of Cluedo! Would still recommend a stay and if back for a visit to the area we would consider a return to the Penventon.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bandit1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penventon, Manager at Penventon Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Hi Bandit 1969
Love the statement "could've been dropped into a game of Cluedo" it made us chuckle. We prefer to use "Downton-esque" as a descriptor of our surroundings.

Our hotel does have many period features, antiques and collectables; we have often wondered how to upgrade the hotel without losing it's charm, and have considered a de-clutter. The challenge is to decide which bits should stay and which should be re-homed?

We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and would return. It is our pleasure to welcome all our guests, but even more so those that choose to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redruth
8.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
931 reviews
23.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,615 reviews
10.9 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
14.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
20.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penventon Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penventon Park Hotel

Address: West End, Redruth TR15 1TE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Redruth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Redruth
Price Range: $99 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Penventon Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Georgian Mansion, just minutes from the A30 boasts Guestrooms, Aphrodite's Leisure Spa & Dining Galleries Restaurant. Guestrooms are appointed to a very high standard offering single and double ensuite accommodation. We have twenty newly built Garden Suites with beautiful Spanish Marble bathrooms. The majority of all other bedrooms are completely refurbished to a very high specification. All rooms have colour TV, including Sky TV, direct dial telephone, controllable central heating and tea / coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Penventon Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penventon Park Redruth
Hotel Penventon Park
Penventon Park Hotel Redruth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing