We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Penventon Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Redruth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights, a small initial problem was rectified quickly and efficiently. Food was excellent, and the staff extremely helpful and cheerful. Would definitely recommend this hotel. the rooms were a good size and hotel very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndiCrowthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

847 - 853 of 1,271 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights with a Travelzoo offer for £199 B&B with dinner on the first night and a cream tea on arrival.
From the moment we walked into reception we loved this hotel. Staff were welcoming and efficient and nothing was too much trouble.
We had a garden room which had a terrace to enjoy the afternoon sunshine. The room was a traditional style, in keeping with the hotel, was well equipped, very large, light and airy. The bathroom was large and had a lovely powerful shower.
The pool and spa facilities were very good and again the staff were helpful and very friendly.
The bar seemed to be well stocked with a good range of drinks and the staff were very friendly and attentive.
The restaurant staff were mostly quite young but clearly well trained with a great sense of service. Any request was finalised with the question 'is there anything else I can do for you' which was delivered with sincerity. Food was de-lic-ious and all cooked to perfection.
Breakfast next morning was of the same high standard and it was truly a treat to have an poached egg with the white cooked but the yolk still runny and best of all was that the bacon was cooked properly with the fat browned to almost crispy but the meat not dry and leathery - not an easy task.
We got the feeling that the staff genuinely cared about the guests and that they enjoyed working at this hotel this made the whole atmosphere welcoming. They achieved that delicate balance of being friendly but respectful which many hotels can only aspire to.
We would definitely visit again and have already recommended.

Room Tip: Garden rooms had a sunny terrace and a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank griffle1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Post code lead us into a cul-de-sac then onto fields.!!! apparently the system is not recognising the postcode ... so this needs to be sorted, as you take an entirely different route into Redruth to get to this lovely hotel.
Good parking, quick friendly check in. Very large room with double and singe bed plus large sitting area with couch etc. Patio door opened to a patio garden which was lovely through the day with the little individual table and two chairs . (would have liked to have had a window to open at night as we like fresh air through the night) The only thing we found unsatisfactory was the bathroom door- it was GLASS - yes - opaque - but you could still see through. I see no logic for this - two things health and safety - say someone fell into it and it smashed - secondly - when needing to use the facilities through the night - you did not put the light on as it woke partner with the full glow of light into the bedroom. So my husband, aged 84, had to negotiate in the dark - not really satisfactory.

Lovely thick white towels in bathroom which were changed daily. Bedroom and bathroom well maintained and very clean.

Goodish evening meal which came with our offer on the first night. We ate out second night as would not pay prices for the meal we had. Bar prices were very reasonable. Good breakfast - lovely natural smoked haddock with poached egg. Help yourself to everything else, so copious amount of granary toast.

We used the leisure centre, small but good. Have to choose your time to use as once you have over 6 people in the pool it became crowded if you wanted to swim lengths. Clean and well maintained.

Lovely staff, smiling and polite. Good customer service.

Would I go again - if the price was right yes but not at current prices, so I will look for offers which took us there this time.

Room Tip: check the postcode before travelling there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We booked this 2 day break with travel zoo for £199.00 with a 3 course evening meal on the first night and breakfast both mornings, it also included an afternoon tea for two. When we arrived the hotel looks beautiful with wonderful gardens. The reception staff were very nice and we had a garden room which was wonderful, very spacious and a patio that leads out onto the gardens where you can sit with a glass of wine and just chill. The room was very clean and comfortable. We took advantage of the pool and the facility's are very good with sauna, gym, spa and pool.
The evening meal was very good but the breakfast choice was excellent, with a choice of kippers, haddock, scrambled egg and salmon to name but a few choices, you also help yourself to fresh juices, fresh fruit, toast, yoghurt and croissant . The dinning room is also where you eat breakfast, it is lovely and very relaxing. The only disappointment we has was the cream tea, the scones were dry, the jam very runner and only enough clotted cream for 1. However it is a very beautiful hotel and all staff are very friendly and helpful. We visited St.Ives for the day which was wonderful, also the Eden Project which is about 1hour away and that is a must, a wonderful experience.
The hotel is a good base to visit many parts of Cornwall and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: The garden view room is very nice and we liked the fact that you can sit outside to enjoy the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burtcroghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I could write a book about this hotel - "A little piece of heaven." From the minute you drive down the drive to the time you check out, it's all about you. The reception is warm and welcoming. The staff throughout the hotel are very helpful, attentive, efficient and courteous. Nothing is too much trouble. An absolute credit.

The food is truely, "Out of this world." I will never eat Beef Wellington anywhere else (Thank you Joe). The Cream Tea, Breakfast and Dinner, all amazing (so good my husband booked an additional night). Beautiful dining room, crisp white linen table cloths, a lovely dining experience - combined with the amazing food and the exceptional service (Harriett especially), this was worth the stay without anything else.

The bedroom was large, comfortable and very clean. A lovely alocve with table and chairs. The bed mattress could have been more comfortable but having a tempur memory foam mattress at home - hard to beat!!

The pool, gym and spa facillities were all great and a real bonus especially with British weather being what it is!! The facial treatment I had with Sharon was wonderful and very relaxing.

It's not often we stay at the same hotel because we like to go to different places and have different experiences. However, we love this hotel so much that we have booked to stay again (three weeks from our first visit) can't wait. If you'd like a hotel full of character and charm with amazing food and exceptional service, this is the one for you and a hard one to beat. Thank you all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We love this hotel because of the people who run it and the classic elegance it radiates being situated in an estate-like park. The service is exactly what you would expect from a first class British hotel - friendly, respectful and always helpful when the need arises. We have travelled to SW England for the past 5 years, and would not think of staying anywhere else. And Nigel Jeffries, the reception manager, makes you feel welcome as soon as you enter the lobby!

Redruth is centrally located. Ideal for the self-driver to reach all points of interest within a short period of time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erika k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stopped here on the way to the Isles of Scilly, myself and my partner and our two mums. Lovely big rooms, friendly staff and first class service. Had a lovely dinner in the restaurant with very good food. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and all freshly cooked and piping hot. Some of the rooms maybe as other reviews have stated a little tired and in need of refurbishment but are lovely and clean and spacious and the public rooms look great. Thank you to all the staff who made our stay enjoyable. One thing I would say was I got a cheaper rate booking the hotel direct rather than through one of the Hotel booking websites so it is always worth calling the hotel to book.

Room Tip: Book direct with hotel not internet booking sites for a better deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9Jacquie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redruth
8.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
903 reviews
23.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,595 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
11.0 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
8.7 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penventon Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penventon Park Hotel

Address: West End, Redruth TR15 1TE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Redruth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Redruth
Price Range: $108 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Penventon Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Georgian Mansion, just minutes from the A30 boasts Guestrooms, Aphrodite's Leisure Spa & Dining Galleries Restaurant. Guestrooms are appointed to a very high standard offering single and double ensuite accommodation. We have twenty newly built Garden Suites with beautiful Spanish Marble bathrooms. The majority of all other bedrooms are completely refurbished to a very high specification. All rooms have colour TV, including Sky TV, direct dial telephone, controllable central heating and tea / coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Penventon Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penventon Park Redruth
Hotel Penventon Park
Penventon Park Hotel Redruth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing