We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Penventon Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Redruth
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Having purchased a voucher for this hotel on line, we wondered what it would be like. We need not have worried as the hotel has a certain genteel air about it and the accommodation was certainly very good. We upgraded to a Garden Suite and were not disappointed. Unfortunately, the weather did not lend itself to us using our patio area, but the views were lovely.

The afternoon cream tea and breakfast were excellent. Our only complaint was that being told we were booked in for dinner at 8.00 p.m. (we would have preferred 7.30), it took an hour between ordering our meal and actually sitting at the table and eating it. The staff apologised several times, but there are only so many "sorrys" you can accept before it becomes laughable. Other than that, it was lovely break.

Room Tip: A Garden Suite is lovely if you feel like upgrading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moe45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    313
    114
    32
    21
See reviews for
212
522
57
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay here recently, the room was basic but sufficient. Cream tea on arrival was beautiful. Lovely grounds and interior. Food was amazing and service was fantastic especially certain staff - thank you Bruce (our wine waiter) and Craig (food) who couldn't help us enough and made our stay even better!!

Only negative was; We were supposed to have breakfast included however we were only told about the cream tea and dinner so were not sure when or what to do and therefore did not get breakfast :-(

A place to this standard and price would not be in our budget if was not for their groupon offer and hope to see another one on soon for us to be able to experience the place again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bububer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My son-in-law and his partner booked this as a birthday treat for my husband via Groupon, we had also recently got married so decided to upgrade to a Garden Suite. What an superb hotel with staff that go the extra mile. Even though on the Saturday they had two weddings and all the staff were very busy still felt like we were given excellent service and attention. The A La Carte menu is to way above three star food and very reasonably priced. Our room was spotlessly clean and patio doors opened up on to well tended grounds. Unfortunately as we were only staying for two nights I did not get chance to use the pool or spa facilities. Next time we stay it will be for longer so we can enjoy these facilities. Congratulations to all staff in this very friendly excellent family run hotel. Just one little minor niggle, a stronger light is needed above one of the mirrors so us ladies can see to put our make up on!!.

Room Tip: Ground floor garden suites provide direct access to grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank datoogood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2013

A funny old fashioned hotel in its style but comfortable, friendly and good value for money. Good food both at breakfast and dinner - set menu reasonably priced. I stayed in a single room which was small but well furnished. Hotel had good wireless so I was able to work in my room. My only problem was that it was too warm in my room at night despite the cool weather outside
I didn't use the spa facilities but maybe next time as I have booked myself in again for next month!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictorialHEpsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Penventon is a great hotel offering excellent service and value for money. All the staff are friendly and helpful and keen to make your stay memorable. I agree with other reviewers that the pool could benefit from some updating but nevertheless it is still a good facility and we spent an enjoyable hour each day using the pool, sauna and spa.
The breakfast choice is excellent, I can personally recomend either the full english or the smoked salmon.
Redruth is also a good base to tour the mining sites, with a number of good accessible circular walks. Plus it is a good base to tour both nort and south coasts of cornwall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cliveBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

In celebration of my wife's 70th birthday we had a family meal in Penventon Park Hotel. The meal was excellent; the service brilliant and the atmosphere ideal. We then stayed in one of its bar areas where the decor and surroudings matched the hotel's srvice

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wellaCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sámi, Kefallinia, Greece
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My Husband booked the indulgence break as an anniversary surprise. We were greeted by friendly staff and made to feel very welcome. Our room was a garden suite and was amazing. The pool however was a bit dated but this did not spoil our stay. The dinner in the restaurant was first class and the staff treated us like royalty. We would have no problem with staying here again when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nesta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redruth
8.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
831 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
11.0 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
13.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
8.7 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penventon Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penventon Park Hotel

Property: Penventon Park Hotel
Address: West End, Redruth TR15 1TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Redruth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Redruth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penventon Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Georgian Mansion, just minutes from the A30 boasts Guestrooms, Aphroditie's Lesuire Spa & Dining Gallaries Restaurant. Guestrooms are appointed to a very high standard offering single and double en - suite accomodation. We have twenty newly built Garden Suites with beautiful Spanish Marble bathrooms. The majority of all other bedrooms are completely refurbished to a very high specification. All rooms have colour TV, including Sky TV, direct dial telephone, controllable central heating and tea / coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Penventon Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penventon Park Redruth
Hotel Penventon Park
Penventon Park Hotel Redruth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing