We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One to go back to!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Penventon Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Redruth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013

From the moment we arrived at Penventon Park we knew we would enjoy staying there..
The staff are very helpful and friendly and the whole hotel was clean and comfortable with lots of splendour and history and had a very cared for feeling..
We stayed in a garden room which was ideal, nice and roomy plenty of hanging space good size bed ( but a bit old and tired like me) and I missed my duvet as they still use cotton blankets. there was also a settee and sliding doors to the gardens which was good..
The dining room is first class with comfortable seating, linen table cloths and good china and the food served here is tasty and well presented ..We were on the indulgence offer and enjoyed every meal..
The Spa is nice but just needs a bit of a spruse up..
Will hopefully visit this hotel again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pandy110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,261)
There are newer reviews for Penventon Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

875 - 881 of 1,261 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

It is a great shame that something so basic and essential to a good stay was very poor. Until I went to bed I was happy with my stay. I had gone for a swim and had a jacuzzi (the pool area was a little tired but functional) then came the best bit.... The meal was second to none and worth every penny I paid for it. Unfortunately I probably would not stay again as the bed and pillows were so uncomfortable I was unable to get a good nights sleep.the bed was so old and you could feel all the springs, the pillows were also old and hard. I also am not really keen on blankets and sheets and found myself tied up in them mid way through my uncomfortable night.
Simple small changes would make the difference in this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqui G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've stayed at the Penventon on numerous occasions now and have always enjoyed my stay. Breakfast is generous and good, although if you are eating evening meals in the hotel, it can be fairly expensive. I have only ever stayed as a lone traveller and I enjoyed a range of rooms, from their tiny but well equipped singles to larger rooms in the older part of the hotel.

Staff there are a real asset and they obviously pride themselves on good customer service. The fitness suite and pool are excellent.

The hotel is steeped in history and has a Victorian splendor to its public areas. An excellent place to stay for single or business travellers because of its central location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Archie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at the Penventon for two nights - from Sunday April 21 What a wonderful hotel full of splendour and history - We ha a large room - 146 - that was excellent but needed a lace curtain for a bit of privacy The food was first class well served by an attentive reastaurant staff . We enjoyed the Spa particularly with tables for a leisurely coffee etc - Give Redruth a miss - Camborne is much better but has not much to beat ! Wiil return again when next offer comes up. Anyone not satisfied must be very hard to please Joan and David Williams

Room Tip: Rooms reached through theloung area are probably the quietest although we experienced no noise at al...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoanandDave_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Booked a day for the 6 of us for my mums Hen do, on the £70 spa package. First impressions, the poolside needed a general update. One question to Penventon, why do you have garden umbrellas inside? The poolside furniture all needed a serious update, instead of cheap white B&Q furniture. The pool was warm, a good size and so was the jacuzzi, the sauna was lovely too. As far as the facilities went, they were brilliant. The organization of the whole day was good, we were told when our treatments would be, and our lunch, but thats where it went downhill, the first two had their treatments, ( all the treatments were lovely, really relaxed) our lunch came out as the 2nd two had their treatments, even though we asked for it to be held because they were still having treatments, to which we were told "your lunch is on the table" and that was it. The lunch was nice not very exciting, and rather bland, but the menu wasn't very inspirational very limited, and for £70 each we didn't really get our moneys worth with only one course. Whilst having our lunch, one of our party was asked to change the treatment time for someone else to have her slot, as if the other person was more important, which delayed our entire day and she had to wait around. The package is very overpriced, I understand beauty treatments cost money, but we worked out the day could of cost around £40 instead of £70. We enjoyed our treatments, but wouldn't visit again. And no cake of the day!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have just spent 2 days here and I can say that although the decor of the rooms is very dated its clean tidy and a friendly hotel. Try to get a garden room and be aware that they have a lot of single beds. Also, although I was upgraded to a suite (essentially a room with a double bed) the walls are paper thin. The staff are very attentive and thorough.

The dining is excellent. The decor of the restaurant may well not be to everyone's taste but if you go with it, the meals are very high quality and the breakfasts superb.

One downside was the restaurant manager who kept talking over tables at people rather than discretely coming next to them to talk and has absolutely no sense of discretion or courtesy that aside a very good dining experience.

This does belong to the generation of British hotels that were seemingly last designed in the 70's but I would say that will be fine with the clientele that they attract. Excellent function spaces although in the evening the restaurant was far too hot - on what was not exactly a warm spring night.

Overall a very friendly family run hotel, tired but welcoming.

One last thing, the toilet paper is like sandpaper.

Room Tip: Make sure you state very clearly what bed arrangements you want.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urbanalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We try to get down to the Penventon at least once a year,usually in February. This is an old manor house and still has a certain air of "stately home" elegance.There are some lovely antiques scattered around and a lovely old grand piano in one of the drawing rooms,sadly unplayable as it has been sealed up, my itchy fingers remained so!
The rooms are spacious,comfortable and well appointed,although television reception can be abysmal at times,particularly when one has foregone dinner to watch the master chef finals!!
All can be forgiven when you visit the rester ant as the food here is excellent,wonderful steak and seafood, no nouvelle cuisine here.The staff are all charming,efficient and helpful,particularly Nigel, the reception manager. Do make an effort to visit this lovely hotel, it is not expensive and well worth the trip.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are great if you have adog with you,if you can stretch your budget,the suites are s...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineHubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redruth
8.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
895 reviews
23.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,582 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
8.7 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,163 reviews
11.0 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 20 in St Ives
2,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penventon Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penventon Park Hotel

Address: West End, Redruth TR15 1TE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Redruth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Redruth
Price Range: $113 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Penventon Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Georgian Mansion, just minutes from the A30 boasts Guestrooms, Aphrodite's Leisure Spa & Dining Galleries Restaurant. Guestrooms are appointed to a very high standard offering single and double ensuite accommodation. We have twenty newly built Garden Suites with beautiful Spanish Marble bathrooms. The majority of all other bedrooms are completely refurbished to a very high specification. All rooms have colour TV, including Sky TV, direct dial telephone, controllable central heating and tea / coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Penventon Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penventon Park Redruth
Hotel Penventon Park
Penventon Park Hotel Redruth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing