We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Sunday Lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Penventon Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Redruth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I just wanted to compliment the chef/cook who was on yesterday lunch time.
I am currently on a healthy eating plan and just wanted to thank your team for meeting my requirements. Sometimes going out to eat is hard, to choose the right meals but your team made it extremely easy. Everything I asked for or wanted as a side order/dish was met, I understand working in a kitchen environment can be very difficult and busy sometimes so was very appreciative when all my needs were met.
Sunday was the first time I have been to the Penventon Hotel but after yesterdays experience I would definitely visit again and certainly recommend.
Many Thanks
Emma

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,008 - 1,014 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed there for one night and would definitely go back. The exterior of the building is imposing and the interior does not disappoint. It is warm and welcoming, with friendly staff in every area. The room was quirky and comfortable and in keeping with the rest of the hotel.
The dinner in the restaurant was excellent. It is not especially cheap, but was flavoursome and great quality. The staff are attentive without being over-bearing and we were well looked after.
Breakfast was fantastic! Such a great change from the usual buffet fare served in most hotels. It was freshly cooked and delicious.
I am looking forward to my next trip to Cornwall and this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welshman101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great fish and chips, and for £5 - brilliant. Best fish I have had in a long time. Fresh with a light batter and full of flavour - chips pretty good too. Followed by a perfect lemon pudding. A busy Friday lunch time and service still brilliant, will be back soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I took over a group of 90 adults to Cornwall in early October. We stayed in the Penventon Hotel with the whole group. from the very first moment of the check in till leaving the hotel after four days everybody was delighted. very good and friendly sebvice, excellent food, comfortable rooms and a beautiful hotel. An ideal base for our daily trips to gardens and sights. i can only recommend this hotel and will certailnly come again, with a group or alone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nils v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed at the Penventon for 2 nights as my son had arranged to be married at the hotel. My 3 other children, partners, spouses and children also stayed at the hotel. I found the service to be of a very high standard, the meals delicious and the atmosphere relaxed and cheerful. The dining room staff were unfailingly polite and helpful in coping with the demands of several young children and babies. The hotel provided my family with the opportunity to relax and enjoy a proper get together and the company of friends. All in all I came away with a very favourable impression.

Room Tip: The rooms leading out on to the patio at the back are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Having paid for a Ist wedding anniversay gift for our son and daughter-in-law (which due to unforseen circumstances they were unable to go) we decided to use it instead. We had a fantastic few days. Lovely hotel very helpful staff and I must mention one person in particular reception manager Nigel Jeffery a great "chap".
The room was brilliant we had a Garden Room very clean good decor. The food is out of this world, tasty and well presented, good choice at breakfast as well dining room staff very professional.
All in all a brilliant place to stay.....will stay here again even though we have family just round the corner!!!!

Room Tip: Up grade to a Garden Suite if you can.....we worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank widgetisleofwight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed at the Penventon for 1 night whilst on a business trip to Redruth. I paid £106.00 for a standard twin room which turned out to be very overpriced. The room allocated was very dated and in urgent need of updating and not what I was expecting for the price I paid. I tried to shower before going to dinner on my first evening only to find there was no hot water, I queried this with the receptionist and was told they were experiencing problems with several rooms and the problem would be corrected as soon as possible. The next morning I woke at 7am to have a shower before work only to find there was still no hot water, I complained again to the receptionist who advised me to use the showers in the gym as the manager wasn't in until 8am when he would look to call in engineers to fix the problem! I've stayed in many hotels all around the world and I've never experienced anywhere as bad as the Penventon. No hot water in a hotel is totally unacceptable. Apart from the good food in the restaurant this was my worse hotel experience ever and I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
5  Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redruth
8.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
971 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,269 reviews
14.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
13.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
11 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penventon Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penventon Park Hotel

Address: West End, Redruth TR15 1TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Redruth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Redruth
Price Range: $117 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Penventon Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Georgian Mansion, just minutes from the A30 boasts Guestrooms, Aphrodite's Leisure Spa & Dining Galleries Restaurant. Guestrooms are appointed to a very high standard offering single and double ensuite accommodation. We have twenty newly built Garden Suites with beautiful Spanish Marble bathrooms. The majority of all other bedrooms are completely refurbished to a very high specification. All rooms have colour TV, including Sky TV, direct dial telephone, controllable central heating and tea / coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Penventon Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penventon Park Redruth
Hotel Penventon Park
Penventon Park Hotel Redruth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing