We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Dog Of Cornwall Event”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tricky's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tricky's Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Redruth B&B and Inns
Camborne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top Dog Of Cornwall Event”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

I am the Secretary for Camborne Redruth Canine Society & last year I discovered this little gem. I was looking for somewhere extra special which could cater for a top quality formal event. 2013 saw our canine society & Trickys' stage the return of 'Top Dog of Cornwall' which had been absent from the dog show calendar for several years; it was a roaring success!!!
Last night was time for a repeat performance for the second year running. The dedicated team that ARE Trickys' were so professional; nothing was too much trouble & I was always greeted with a smile. I can truly say the 3 course meal that was served to us was delicious & I ate the best starter I have ever eaten.
Sitting listening to the guests enjoy their evening was a huge reward. So thank you to each & everyone at Trickys' who helped me make this event a huge success. I have already booked our event with the team for 2015. Thanks guys you were brilliant, just can't see how you are going to better last night it was amazing!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benoveor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    53
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
21
39
Solo
0
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Forget premier travel inn - this beats it hands down. Excellent food, lovely staff, warm, comfortable, quiet - loads of hot water - can't fault it.

I will be travelling down four times a year - just hope I can get in - brilliant!

The only thing they could do to improve it is to fix a small tray in the shower to put the shampoo bottles on.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiltsGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Tricky's Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and for your glowing recommendation. We do fall into the same sector as Travel Lodge and Premier Inn but our room tariff is all inclusive with breakfast, wifi, parking, free use of the on-site gym etc. It is great to read that you found all aspects of the stay to be good and thanks for the tip about the showers - we will attend to that. It is always best to call our reception direct to ensure we have availability and we can often beat the online booking sites for value. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

One night stop off arriving late.
Enjoyed a great pint of Local ale and bottle of Chilean red with a steak meal. The rump cooked to perfection however the thin ribeye was slightly over cooked but tasty.
Room very clean and warm.
WiFi needed a reboot to work but once working it was very fast throughout the facilities.
Shower warm but not that hot unless you flush the toilet first!
Breakfast very good with local yoghurt.
Overall good value at £75 for two B&B

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkshire1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Tricky's Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and for your positive comments. We do try to provide good value for money and with us there are no hidden extras, breakfast is included in our room price along with parking, wifi etc. Thank you for mentioning the shower/toilet thing but you have got us a little baffled as we have never had that feedback but we will keep an eye on that. We are delighted you enjoyed your meals up in our bar/restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Just had two nights stay while on business : first the good:
• Good location, just off the beaten path but handy for Portreath and Redruth
• Staff were very pleasant
• Nice bar
• Great food in the restaurant
• The bed was really comfy and good quality bedding/towels
• Great breakfast
The bad:
• Room had a funny fishy smell (I didn’t find anything dead in there)
• Lighting poor – lit by three energy bulbs that took 5 mins to warm up
• Sink was stained/marked
• The heating didn’t work in my room and when it did it seemed to be only on first thing in the morning and in the early evening so if you were in the room between these times…
• The wi-fi didn’t work
• The hot water ran out at 6pm on the two nights I stayed there so I couldn’t have a shower
• Nowhere to put your toiletries when having a shower
• No phone or alarm clock in the room
• No plugs by the bed
• The room/bathroom could do with a bit of a refresh – clean and tidy but looking a bit dated
To be fair the rooms were pretty reasonably priced and they did give me a £20 discount for the trouble so at least they acknowledged the issues I experienced – most of which was down to faulty plumbing. I didn’t use the gym

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are exactly the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeyboy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Tricky's Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and for being so detailed with your feedback. We did have a fault on our boiler in November but it was attended to very quickly and normal service was resumed within a few hours but please accept our apologies if you got caught up in this. I think we can learn from your stay that we need to improve our communication and perhaps provide clearer information about which way to turn the controls to get hot water as the boiler is always on a t pm so there should never be a shortage of water. We are also attending to the storage of toiletries in the shower areas. It is great to read that our team looked after you so well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

strange place it is in middle of no were when walked into room a little cold but room clean and bed looked great as got into place, went for dinner dish of day cottage pie. this sounds bland but was fantastic really enjoyed it breakfast good only think wrong was cold shower in morning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinb964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Tricky's Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us on trip advisor and for your positive comments. By the comments you have made about the room temperature and the cold shower I can only assume that you stayed on the day we had a fault on the boiler. I am sorry for the inconvenience this caused but please be assured that our plumber responded very quickly and normal service was resumed within a few hours. It is great to read that you enjoyed the food you ordered in the bar/restaurant where our team work hard to produce great value, large portions of good home cooked food. We hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my company for 5 weeks, and I can't thank all the staff enough.
I would highly recommend the food/gym and the location just about everything.
Thank you tricky's for making my time in Cornwall memorable.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank jackocomms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Tricky's Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us on trip advisor and indeed for giving us such a glowing reference! Our 'lodge' style accommodation is ideal for business travellers and holiday makers alike and unlike some of the national chains in this sector of the market we don't charge for the extras - breakfast, parking, wifi and use of the onsite gym are all free of charge! we also have a great bar/restaurant offering good value home cooked food in large portions - something for everyone we hope. It is always worth giving our receptionists a call to reserve a room as we can usually beat the price quoted on any of the online booking sites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have to be honest this place is a little off the main road and on first sight I did wonder what I had done. Firstly this place is not the Ritz and it does not try to be but there are lots os plus points.Rooms aare equiped with all you need and have plenty of room. They are clean, warm and well presented. Check in staff are so polite and helpful that straght away I was at ease.
I have found a very reasonable little gem that I will be using every time I am in the area. What really surprised me was the pub/restaurent on site. Staff were simply very pleasant, helpful and always had a smile. Lorraine and Gill were exceptional. The food is very reasonable and simply great but take your appetite as you will need it here. Overall it was a very pleasant experiance and I will be going back again.

Room Tip: I stayed in room one. View over the gardens was very pleasant. Because of its location all rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Tricky's Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and for your positive comments - it is great to read that we more than exceeded your expectations. I think you have hit the nail on the head we are not the Ritz but neither do we charge their prices! We aim to offer good value for money in the 'lodge' sector of the market with none of the hidden extras you may find in the national chains - we include breakfast, wifi access, parking and use of the on site gym in the room charge and if you book direct by phone with our reception we will always try to beat any of the online booking sites.
It is also great to read that you enjoyed our bar/restaurant in terms of both the food and the service - we will pass your comments onto our team. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redruth
0.6 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
2.9 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Camborne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Tyacks Hotel
Tyacks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Camborne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
8.6 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#4 of 6 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Cedars B&B
The Cedars B&B
#1 of 10 in Redruth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tricky's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tricky's Hotel

Property: Tricky's Hotel
Address: Tolgus Mount, Redruth TR15 3TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Redruth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Redruth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tricky's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tricky's Hotel, Restaurant & Bar situated near historic mining town of Redruth, Cornwall. Just off the A30 with Cornish Beaches & attractions all easily accessible. Pub style Bar serving local ales and cosy restaurant with varied menus. BBQ/Hog Roast area. Extensive Gym (FREE for Guests). Serenity Hair & Beauty Suite. FREE Wi-Fi in hotel rooms plus TV, Tea & Coffee facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tricky's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tricky's Hotel Redruth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing