We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graham H”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Redruth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Railway Yard B&B
Ranked #2 of 10 Redruth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
saltash
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Graham H”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have just returned from a short stay in Lanner and chose this b&b as it was conveniently close to the coast for are hiking holiday,as well as being near the old tramlines for some inland walks,Which are right out side the front door and have world heritage status, hence the name The Old Railway Yard. We stayed in the double room,carnbrea which had a balcony with sea views to the north coast in the distance . Breakfast was cooked by Graham, on our second night we decided to eat in as evening meals are offered and that was cheaper than eating out! Even packed lunches for our days hiking. Sue and Graham make great hosts and made us very welcome looking after our needs, We will definitely be back for a longer stay next time.

Room Tip: The down stairs room is self contained
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graham h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
71
12
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The image that was referenced in the review is one of mine and I can state quite categorically that it is not as stated "the view". On the other hand the views of Carn Marth and the engine house are spectacular.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

I've stayed here twice through business for a total of 5 nights and can not fault the place for breakfast, accommodation and welcoming hosts. I only wish I hadn't been there for work!
Upon my second visit I new the owners and was welcomed on sight and then had a cup of tea with them. I helped Graham with his internet on my first trip, so this was very fast upon my second trip!

Room Tip: Downstairs room with kitchenette because it is self sufficient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhydian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

If TA provided a rating choice of "good" (rather than either "average" or "very good") that's what I'd give Old Railway. Expectations based on the B & B's website as well as other TA reviewer were not fully realized. For example, the website--which is very slick--includes high-quality photos of other Cornwall locations that you can't see from Lanner Hill and states "The Old Railway Yard Bed and Breakfast offers spectacular views of the rugged and beautiful Cornish coastline and landscape." What you'll actually see very close-up, because it's directly across from the B & B, is the region's domed water reservoir with perimeter fence and car park for work vehicles (that was the view from our window) . . . take a look at: flickr.com/photos/33847785@N00/3293238874/
The owners are a nice, helpful couple but the overall experience was just "good", compared to several other B & B's stayed at for the same price in Cornwall and Devin, as well as years of having been a guest in various B & B's in Europe, North America and Central America.

Room Tip: Request a room (if they have one) that does not face the domed water reservoir.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vac08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have just recently stayed here and thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. The location was very good as we were visiting family and it was nearby, also very central to other places in Cornwall to visit with a good bus service and train service nearby. Graham and Sue made our stay so enjoyable. The rooms were immaculate and 1st class. The meals were very good. Not only that, they made us feel at home not just guests at a standard B&B. We felt we were treated as friends. We shall definatly recommend this B & B to our friends and family.

A one definatly not to be missed!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Room with access straight to outside, and access to rooftop terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamSuzanne, Owner at The Old Railway Yard B&B, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
The end of the season is just about here even though we are open all year round. We would just like to say a big 'thank you' to all our new friends that visited our home through out the year and took the time to comment on their stay on trip advisor and our own website. Thank you all again, best wishes, Graham & Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Old Railway Yard really is an excellent B and B. The rooms are newly decorated with every possible amenity and VERY comfortable beds! The owners are very friendly and welcoming and cook a really delicious breakfast. They were so helpful with tips on where to go and what to do - honestly we could not have wished for a better B and B.

Room Tip: The double room on the cround floor is lovely with its own bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hettie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I recently visited Cornwall with my husband and three friends for a wedding weekend. We chose The Old Railway Yard initially because it was close to the wedding venue however; our choice was finally based upon reading the numerous shining reviews written about it online.
Graham and Sue welcomed us to their B&B like good friends, and looked after our every need throughout our stay. The house was beautifully clean and homely, and to our surprise almost completely built by Graham himself. The room my husband and I stayed in was very well equipped with everything we needed; including the loan of a wedding tie that had been forgotten in our haste. It was exceptionally clean and very nicely finished: we even had the use of a small communal lounge, which was ideal for our group of five.
Breakfast was ordered in the evenings for convenience and was served when we wanted it. The food was delicious and perfectly cooked on all three mornings of our stay - with an excellent cup of freshly made coffee to accompany!
Sue and Graham were professional and extremely accommodating, even providing us with a complementary Cornish cream tea during our stay.
I would without doubt recommend The Old Rail Yard to anyone visiting Cornwall; this lovely, very reasonably priced B&B was an ideal base for us while exploring this very green and pleasant land!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose-Angus79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redruth
1.4 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
3.9 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Camborne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Cedars B&B
The Cedars B&B
#1 of 10 in Redruth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Railway Yard B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Railway Yard B&B

Property: The Old Railway Yard B&B
Address: The Old Railway Yard Tram Cross Lane | Lanner Hill, Redruth TR16 5TZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Redruth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Redruth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Railway Yard B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Railway Yard B&B is AA Four star Gold and 2015/16 winner of The friendliest B&B of Great Britain, highly recommended bed and breakfast set in the heart of Cornwall with sea and countryside views. Built in 2007, it offers a double room with balcony and en-suite shower room, a twin room with private bathroom all rooms have TV, Wi-Fi tea/coffee making facilities. A guest lounge is also available with extra facilities including TV, fridge, iron etc. Full English (AA Best breakfast certificate 2015) or Continental breakfasts are available and evening meals (AA Best evening meal certificate 2015) A delicious complimentary cream tea is offered on arrival or during your stay. New for 2012 we have a ground floor superior double or twin room with en-suite bathroom with walk in shower. This room has the advantage of having a small kitchenette area. In the grounds of our property we also have 'Tramways' our holiday let offering self catering for two. Kitchen/diner, lounge area, shower room, spiral staircase to open plan mezamine double bedroom. New for 2014 is our complimentary Hot Tub in the garden for all to use so after a hard day relaxing on holiday revive in our tub. Suitable for all year round use. Set in the garden with glass sides and roof. So enjoy a drink while watching the stars. Seats up to five. Or climb the spiral staircase leading to our roof garden have a seat and enjoy the far reaching views to the coast. New for 2015, we are registered to sell alcohol for our guests and friends whilst staying or visiting us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Railway Yard B&B Redruth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing