We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming and comfortable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Redruth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Railway Yard B&B
Ranked #2 of 10 Redruth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very welcoming and comfortable”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Old Railway Yard really is an excellent B and B. The rooms are newly decorated with every possible amenity and VERY comfortable beds! The owners are very friendly and welcoming and cook a really delicious breakfast. They were so helpful with tips on where to go and what to do - honestly we could not have wished for a better B and B.

Room Tip: The double room on the cround floor is lovely with its own bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hettie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
80
15
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I recently visited Cornwall with my husband and three friends for a wedding weekend. We chose The Old Railway Yard initially because it was close to the wedding venue however; our choice was finally based upon reading the numerous shining reviews written about it online.
Graham and Sue welcomed us to their B&B like good friends, and looked after our every need throughout our stay. The house was beautifully clean and homely, and to our surprise almost completely built by Graham himself. The room my husband and I stayed in was very well equipped with everything we needed; including the loan of a wedding tie that had been forgotten in our haste. It was exceptionally clean and very nicely finished: we even had the use of a small communal lounge, which was ideal for our group of five.
Breakfast was ordered in the evenings for convenience and was served when we wanted it. The food was delicious and perfectly cooked on all three mornings of our stay - with an excellent cup of freshly made coffee to accompany!
Sue and Graham were professional and extremely accommodating, even providing us with a complementary Cornish cream tea during our stay.
I would without doubt recommend The Old Rail Yard to anyone visiting Cornwall; this lovely, very reasonably priced B&B was an ideal base for us while exploring this very green and pleasant land!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose-Angus79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I visited Cornwall with a group of friends and probably wouldn't have chosen Redruth if it weren't for the wedding we were going to, but I'm so glad we stayed here. Graham and Sue were so friendly and kind that I felt like I was staying with a favourite aunt and uncle rather than perfect strangers. The house was very well presented and we even had the use of a separate living room which was a real bonus. And the breakfast was spot on, too. I was really sad to leave The Old Railway Yard and hope to go back. Thanks Graham and Sue! x

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Lovely time here - perfect spot for a nearby family wedding. Lovely welcome, gorgeous hosts, good rooms, great breakfasts (with baked beans in a little pot on the side - just how I like it!).Very happy to recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhdwfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

a really good b and b made to feel very welcome by Graham and Sue, clean rooms and a lovely cooked breakfast each morning. Will be back again next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gill104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamSuzanne, Owner at The Old Railway Yard B&B, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Having read all our reviews, this is just to say a big thank you to all our visitors for all your lovely comments. It is lovely to meet all our guests that have revisited Cornwall from all corners of the world and stayed with us again and here's to looking forward to meeting many new ones in the near future. Graham & Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locks Heath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Graham and Sue were wonderful hosts and very welcoming. The standard of the accommodation was excellent with a lovely bedroom, access to a separate lounge and breakfast in their fantastic kitchen area. The thing that distinguished this for us was the homeliness of the place and the fact that you were part of their home and made to feel at home. We are parents of a student at Exeter University and normally stay in Falmouth but for this weekend couldn't get booked because of the sea shanty so had to look for alternatives. We were surprised at how easy it was to get to Tremough campus, only 10 minutes drive, so if you are considering staying over while visiting a student we would thoroughly recommend this B&B. The rates were very reasonable and we are always looking for a bargain!! We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobydog1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2012

A warm Cornish welcome awaits you at The Old Railway Yard from owners Graham and Sue. Their beautifully decorated and presented home is spotlessly clean and immaculate, and the breakfast is cooked to order at a time you prefer. We have stayed many times and can't fault anything. We have used all their rooms,all being good, but the newly built Garden Room is superb, and is self contained with amazing features. Their tariff is very fairly priced for the high standards offered. We most definitely recommend it. Jill and Mike Luntz

Room Tip: The garden room is self contained with own entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 71jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redruth
1.4 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,246 reviews
8.6 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
685 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Cedars B&B
The Cedars B&B
#1 of 10 in Redruth
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Collins Arms
Collins Arms
#6 of 8 in Redruth
14 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Inn For All Seasons
The Inn For All Seasons
#5 of 10 in Redruth
101 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tricky's Hotel
Tricky's Hotel
#4 of 10 in Redruth
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Railway Yard B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Railway Yard B&B

Property: The Old Railway Yard B&B
Address: The Old Railway Yard Tram Cross Lane | Lanner Hill, Redruth TR16 5TZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Redruth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Redruth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Railway Yard B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Railway Yard B&B is AA Four star Gold and 2015/16 winner of The friendliest B&B of Great Britain, highly recommended bed and breakfast set in the heart of Cornwall with sea and countryside views. Built in 2007, it offers a double room with balcony and en-suite shower room, a twin room with private bathroom all rooms have TV, Wi-Fi tea/coffee making facilities. A guest lounge is also available with extra facilities including TV, fridge, iron etc. Full English (AA Best breakfast certificate 2015) or Continental breakfasts are available and evening meals (AA Best evening meal certificate 2015) A delicious complimentary cream tea is offered on arrival or during your stay. New for 2012 we have a ground floor superior double or twin room with en-suite bathroom with walk in shower. This room has the advantage of having a small kitchenette area. In the grounds of our property we also have 'Tramways' our holiday let offering self catering for two. Kitchen/diner, lounge area, shower room, spiral staircase to open plan mezamine double bedroom. New for 2014 is our complimentary Hot Tub in the garden for all to use so after a hard day relaxing on holiday revive in our tub. Suitable for all year round use. Set in the garden with glass sides and roof. So enjoy a drink while watching the stars. Seats up to five. Or climb the spiral staircase leading to our roof garden have a seat and enjoy the far reaching views to the coast. New for 2015, we are registered to sell alcohol for our guests and friends whilst staying or visiting us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Railway Yard B&B Redruth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing