We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find- we left totally inspired”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Redruth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Railway Yard B&B
Ranked #2 of 10 Redruth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Myself and my partner stayed here for one night during a touring holiday of southern England. An absolutely fantastic house which has been built by Graham from scratch to his own design. The rooms are absolutely delightful- we had our own little balcony to sit out on. The extra guest sitting room complete with iron and ironing board is a welcome extra. Both Graham and Suzanne are fantastic hosts- make you feel welcome from the start to finish. Breakfasts are around a large dining table... cooking by Graham too- a truly talented man! Highly recommended and value for money. A definite return for us if we are ever in the area

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamSuzanne, Owner at The Old Railway Yard B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Having read all our visitors reviews it is most rewarding to Sue and myself to know our guests have enjoyed their stay with us, it is satisfying to see our guests take the time to write a review which is helpful not only to us, but all our future visitors too.

Thank you again to all past visitors and new friends from around the world and here's to many more visitors.

Graham & Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
There are newer reviews for The Old Railway Yard B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 190 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

On a business and pleasure tour of Cornwall we were delighted to discover this gem of a B&B. Sue and Graham are so welcoming, passionate and proud of their home and so they should be. Built by Graham's own hands it reflects their care attention and quality. Not only that, the tastiest breakfast of the whole trip. Great position easy reach of the places you will want to visit such as St Ives, Falmouth, St Michael's Mount etc. Some wonderful Gardens and coastal villages too.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilson2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Very clean and well equiped. Friendly owners and lovely views.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank werstdcygvhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in July 2011 and were due to have a double room in the B&B but were changed to the Tramways Villa next-door on arrival as this suited the owners better due to a large family also staying at the B&B. It was a fantastic B&B, the owners Sue and Graham were very welcoming and made us feel at home straight away. It was very well furnished, very clean and the attention to detail was very high. The breakfast cooked by Graham was excellent! The location is also very very good with easy access to the main roads and onsite parking. Would recommend this B&B to everyone!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamthenoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

This was the perfect place to explore Cornwall. The accommodation is second to none and Graham and Sue are perfect hosts, we simply can't wait to stay there again!

We will reccomend this place to all of our friends in Australia....

Make sure you are hungry at breakfast, its fantastic

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captain-carl900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We were recommended to this B&B from a friend who lives locally. From the moment we arrived to the fantastic breakfast on the last day we were very impressed throughout. The attention to detail was perfect. We will certainly stay here the next time we are visiting.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul_rik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

A very warmly welcome
We have had a pleasant stay and felt very comfortable
Fresh cooked and individual breakfast

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnandBrigitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redruth
1.4 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,261 reviews
3.9 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
8.4 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Tyacks Hotel
Tyacks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Camborne
255 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Cedars B&B
The Cedars B&B
#1 of 10 in Redruth
170 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Inn For All Seasons
The Inn For All Seasons
#5 of 10 in Redruth
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Railway Yard B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Railway Yard B&B

Address: The Old Railway Yard Tram Cross Lane | Lanner Hill, Redruth TR16 5TZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Redruth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Redruth
Price Range: $54 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Railway Yard B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Railway Yard B&B is AA Four star Gold and 2015/16 winner of The friendliest B&B of Great Britain, highly recommended bed and breakfast set in the heart of Cornwall with sea and countryside views. Built in 2007, it offers a double room with balcony and en-suite shower room, a twin room with private bathroom all rooms have TV, Wi-Fi tea/coffee making facilities. A guest lounge is also available with extra facilities including TV, fridge, iron etc. Full English (AA Best breakfast certificate 2015) or Continental breakfasts are available and evening meals (AA Best evening meal certificate 2015) A delicious complimentary cream tea is offered on arrival or during your stay. New for 2012 we have a ground floor superior double or twin room with en-suite bathroom with walk in shower. This room has the advantage of having a small kitchenette area. In the grounds of our property we also have 'Tramways' our holiday let offering self catering for two. Kitchen/diner, lounge area, shower room, spiral staircase to open plan mezamine double bedroom. New for 2014 is our complimentary Hot Tub in the garden for all to use so after a hard day relaxing on holiday revive in our tub. Suitable for all year round use. Set in the garden with glass sides and roof. So enjoy a drink while watching the stars. Seats up to five. Or climb the spiral staircase leading to our roof garden have a seat and enjoy the far reaching views to the coast. New for 2015, we are registered to sell alcohol for our guests and friends whilst staying or visiting us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Railway Yard B&B Redruth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing