We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 80th birthday treat !”
Review of Aviary Court Hotel

Aviary Court Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Redruth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aviary Court Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Redruth
Nailsea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My 80th birthday treat !”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My daughter and I arrived at this small hotel and was greeted by Bernice who made us very welcome and made us a cup of tea on the patio. Our room was delightful with twin beds ,a very large T.V. Wi. Fi. and two Stressless chairs to sit on to watch T.V. A very luxurious en-suite and clean towels every day. Paul our host was very caring and served the lovely meals that Bernice cooked. I really can't recommend this hotel too highly. It made my special birthday very special.

Beryl and Catherine.

Room Tip: The twin bed room No. 6 was very comfortable and very quiet with lovely views of the well kept garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
32
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
906 reviews
227 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 881 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed here, with a work colleague, on Bussiness in July 2013 for 3 nights. Our employers insist on booking the accomodation, so I have little say in the matter, and had never heard of this establishment even though we work down at Portreath regularly.

The setting is perfect - secluded grounds and a chocolate box cover type farmhouse. Welcome was very friendly and the rooms large and comfortable. Everything that should work worked very well - free wifi was good and worked fine in the room as well as communal areas.

We were working nights and as such would be in bed at breakfast time - nevertheless the proprieter plated up a small breakfast for us and left it in te rooms which was much appreciated. The one cooked breakfast I made it to was superb.

All in all hard to fault - would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Me_n_my_rucksack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

From Sunday 23rd of June until Friday 28th of June my wife and I enjoyed another great break at Aviary Court
This is our forth visit this time staying in room 4 and as on our previous three visits accommodation, home cooked food and service was first class.
It is a pleasure to view the lovely gardens in such a peaceful surrounding.
We will certainly visit again..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollaston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Looks fantastic in the photo's, and their website boasts of recent refurbishment...this may be true but the refurbishment wasn't done where it is needed, ie carpet, curtains, beds.
The bed was a double - who has double beds in this day and age? I am 6'1'' and the small bed gave me backache, bed wasn't comfortable either, and the bedding was a sheet, a fleece type thing and then a duvet - well it wasn't really a duvet, more a thick rug.
Given Room 4, orange walls with blue curtains and bedding, truly awful combination in poor taste.
You have to leave your key behind on a hook together with the other 5 keys when you go out - so anyone can take your key and gain access to your room.
The worst thing about the hotel, aside from the small bed was the smell. As soon as you walk in it smells extremely musty and stagnant. This smell is everywhere. I can only compare the smell to my Nan's house after it hadn't been lived in for 2 years or an old boarding school.
This smell continues to the bedroom and even the bedding. One waft of the covers was enough to make me feel sick. You can't even open the windows above your head as they are sheet fire glass and cannot be opened. Had to use the windows the other side of the room.
Complained the following morning and was offered a different room with a slightly larger bed, declined this and was asked to pay for the second night! Needless to say we didn't even stay for breakfast.
Positives: bathroom was extremely clean, the grounds are well maintained and they have a tennis court, location.
Booked two nights, stayed one after a terrible nights sleep and went to the Carnon Downs Premier Inn - at £1.00 more expensive. Please, use the Premier Inn, a far better nights sleep, in a quiet area, a kingsize bed and no weird smell permeating everything.

Room Tip: Don't have room 4, come to think of it, any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul_S1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Once again we have visited Aviary Court (we couldn't believe our luck the first time). It was a holiday to remember. The weather was better this time! Once again Bernice and Paul were there to make all the difference, Wonderful food created by Bernice and charming banter and service by the "head gardener" Paul. They both pull out the stops to ensure you have a memorable time.
We had a different room this year, equally as good as last year. Fresh fruit every day together with a selection of fruit teas, tea, coffee and hot chocolate, not forgetting the bottled water each day.
If eating in the restaurant look out for Moley, he can appear anywhere!!
If you want a holiday in Cornwall please give this hotel a try, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, whether doubles or single bedded
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warlingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have stayed here several times over the years and have recommended it many times - the strength of our recommendations have led to at least three other people going there on a regular basis. The food is good, the place is very clean and you can really relax.

Paul and Bernice are a really great couple who run this place and they go out of their way to make your stay a really pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spsducati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackburn
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our 3rd visit, wouldn't stay anywhere else in Cornwall. Beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean bedrooms. The garden's are a credit to them. Beautifully cooked meals, with excellent choices. A previous reviewer loved the 'Bread and Butter Pudding' so did I till we had Rice Pudding it's the best I've ever had. Thankyou Paul and Bernice for making our holiday such a memorable one, dispite a little bit of rain. We'll be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaParkerDarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redruth
2.1 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,225 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
858 reviews
6.8 mi away
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lowenac Hotel
Lowenac Hotel
#4 of 5 in Camborne
123 reviews
9.1 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
437 reviews
17.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aviary Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aviary Court Hotel

Property: Aviary Court Hotel
Address: Mary's Well, Redruth TR16 4QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Redruth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Redruth
Hotel Class:3 star — Aviary Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Aviary Court Hotel Redruth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing