We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening out!”

The Golden Lion Inn & Lakeside Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 63 Restaurants in Redruth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Evening out!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We live within 3 to 4 miles from the Golden Lion and decided we would take advantage of their Friday evening 'stir-fry' deals. We have been previously, some time ago.
I regularly receive their 'specials', etc. as I'm on their e-mail contact list.

I have rated them a 'Very Good' and not an 'Excellent' only because my pudding (I considered) could have been hotter. That's my only criticism, if you can call it that.

Great service, warm welcome, prompt and attentive waitressing, really tasty food at a reasonable cost. Great v.f.m.

We received the bill and the waitress had forgotten to include our bottle of wine.
If we weren't impressed and satisfied with the meal, and the service, we might have said nothing, but we we brought it to their attention and paid up :-)

Would have no worries recommending the venue to anyone.
Will definately book again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    106
    36
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Never again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Definately our last visit - never again. Liver and bacon came without bacon although it did come separately after we mentioned it. Our major complaint was the truly awful service. We waited some time for our orders to be taken then absolutely ages for the plates to be cleared; I had read The West Briton from cover to cover whilst waiting. Had to ask for dessert menus which took for ever to appear but then no-one came to take the order so we gave up. We politely mentioned the slow service only to be told it was because they were so busy - the place was just about empty! We are local to this pub but will not be going again nor will many of our friends and family. Terrible service, lacklustre atmosphere and an unwillingness to accept a polite but justified complaint by the management does not auger well for the future of this establishment.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john g, Owner at The Golden Lion Inn & Lakeside Restaurant, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your review .I'm sorry you were not satisfied with your recent visit as we try very hard to please our customers, but unusually on this occasion we were understaffed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch Time Roasts”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Good to see that food is sourced locally but shame it is not cooked that well. On arrival we found one of the waitresses rather brusque when we queried our table. There were seven of us booked in for Sunday lunch - we each decided to have a roast dinner. Verdict from the party was that the meat (we had between us beef, lamb and pork) was thinly sliced, not much of it, with no flavour. We felt that it was not good value for money. Gravy was dark and nothing to write home about. I had pork with apparently prune and apple stuffing which I was told was not available and it was apricot instead except I couldn't find any. Yorkshire puds were tasteless, roast spuds not brilliant and the veg was watery. We were asked if we needed anything else, well yes how about the sauces to accompany beef etc. These arrived and sadly you knew that they came from out of a jar. As we were not impressed with the main course, we decided not to spend any more money so gave the puddings a miss which are over priced for a pub and the drinks are very expensive too. Sadly, this one is not on our 'Must Return' to list!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cat4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“BOGOF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Went for lunch on a BOGOF voucher. Excellent value - fish (huge) and chips and steak and kidney pie for £11. We had walked 3/4 of the way round the reservoir in very cold weather so the fire in the bar was very welcome. Good service and good food. We will return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing location, fabulous food and v.friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We visted recently and were so impressed that we felt the need to leave a comment. The very friendly barman and waitress were warm and welcoming upon our arrival and throughout our stay. The menu is a wide range of different dishes, we both had the fish pie and it was absolutely delicious. We cant wait to come back and try more of the amazing dishes on the menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Lion Inn & Lakeside Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Golden Lion Inn & Lakeside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing