We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SERENDIPITY.”
Review of Valley Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portmellon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Valley Cottage
Ranked #1 of 2 Portmellon B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SERENDIPITY.”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

It gives us great pleasure to write about our happy discovery of Sue and Mike at their delightful home- Valley Cottage. In every way they provide nothing short of perfection - hospitality, comfort, food and accomodation. Our only concern is that as they become more famous that we shall find that they may not have a vacency for US !!!! Thankyou for a super week Jackie & Charles xx

Room Tip: All rooms excellant. Rely on Sue and Mike to meet your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
47
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Royston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Decent - or rotten - accommodation can make or break a holiday. You won't get anything less than excellent with Sue and Mike Udy at Valley Cottage. Forget the 5 star hotels (where you're expected to tip the sullen Waiters) and the food served up as if an army is expected, head to this lovely little corner of Mevagissey instead.

From a personal point of view, I had a single room which came complete with a double bed and a television, although I couldn't see the coast I could hear the waves splashing and that wonderful sea air smell through the open window. Breakfast was nicely varied with plenty of choice - including a few tips on how to eat a healthy breakfast at home.

But it was the little touches that I found really nice. The selection of leaflets of 'places to visit' in the lounge, the small jar of biscuits alongside the tea/coffee making area (which seemed to magically replenish themselves everyday) there's even a small 'cool-box' fridge in the lounge for your cold drinks. Sue and Mike have thought of everything.

Mevagissey itself is literally right on top of Portmellon and has everything you need. Shops, restaurants and I counted at least five different ice-cream outlets - pure heaven. Even the seagulls are well behaved in this little corner of Cornwall.
You can't beat a good old English seaside holiday. Who needs Blackpool or Brighton ? Next time I'm in Cornwall I'll definitely head back to Mevagissey.

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

sue and mike are the loveliest couple you could wish to meet the house is outstanding and you are mad to feel very welcome the breakfast was absolutely gorgeous there is some brilliant walks around and the walk into mevagissey is lovely cant wait to go again thankyou sue and mike from cheryl and dave x

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

This is a tribute to Mike and Sue Udy.
As soon as you arrive you just know.........! My wife said ' oh wow, we cant sleep in that bed its so perfect '. I replied the whole place is perfectly serene. Sue has done a masterful job on the decor, it is so 'House Perfect' . Every touch is white !! Mevagissey is close by, Portmellon and its views even closer. The pub is even closer. We will be recommending this place to everyone and will be for years to come. We are going back next year and probably for many years to come. Thanks for a great stay. We left with some great ideas for our home and you will too.

Room Tip: Try to get the main bedroom with the doors on to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were made very welcome by owners Mike and Sue. Breakfasts were very good. Room was spotlessly clean and the interior design was beautiful. Our room had french doors which opened out into a beautiful terraced garden with hundreds of summer flowers and a bench to admire them. All this at a very reasonable price. You can set out for the Southwest Coastal footpath from their cottage (about 100 yards down to the cove). It's also a short walk (about 15 minutes) into Mevagissey with restaurants and cafes: I can recommend the Fountain Inn pub for fish and chips and Roovrays Restaurant has good fish dishes or try the Chef's fish soup.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerstoo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staines
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We made a last minute booking and found a gem. Spotlessly clean, the room was style personified. We later discovered the owner is an interior designer. The breakfast was high quality. We were made very welcome and one evening the owners drove us to a restaurant they recommended and then collected us. Overall a great stay - we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaun026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed here for the weekend of 8/9 July. The hosts, Mike and Sue Udy, have created a beautiful bed and breakfast house where nothing is too much trouble and everything is done to the highest of standards. They are very very welcoming, the rooms are a pleasure to be in, the breakfast is wonderful and clearly a source of pride for Sue. We could not have wished for more - the house is in an idyllic rural location yet literally two minutes stroll from Portmellon Cove and 10 minutes from Mevagissey.
If it were possible to give 6 stars we would!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnfiona52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmellon
8.1 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mevagissey
226 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Llawnroc Hotel
The Llawnroc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gorran Haven
580 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Rising Sun Inn
The Rising Sun Inn
#2 of 2 in Portmellon
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pebble House Guesthouse
Pebble House Guesthouse
#3 of 34 in Mevagissey
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Cottage

Property: Valley Cottage
Address: Valley Cottage Rising Sun Lane | Portmellon, Portmellon, Mevagissey PL26 6PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey > Portmellon
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Portmellon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mike & Sue Udy, invite you to Valley Cottage Bed & Breakfast in beautiful Portmellon Cove, just 100 yards level walk to the tidal beach. We offer a unique, relaxing, coastal retreat for the discerning guest. All of our stylish, comfortable, well equipped rooms have en-suite bath or shower room, generous hospitality tray, flat screen TV/DVD, silent mini-fridge, hairdryer and Wi-Fi. Prices range from £65 to £80 per night for 2 people, including a delicious, freshly cooked breakfast. Free parking is in the drive at the front of the house. Valley Cottage is tucked away up a private lane, set amidst a lovely landscaped garden with many places for guests to sit and relax in both sun and shade. We are ideally placed in mid Cornwall, with easy access to the Lost Gardens of Heligan, the Eden Project and many National Trust properties and gardens. Mevagissey a vibrant working fishing village with restaurants, shops galleries and museum, is a 20 minute walk, or a short drive away. Portmellon is on the beautiful south coast with many secluded beaches and for keen walkers, the South West Coast Path runs along the bottom of our lane. About an hour's drive, would take you to West Cornwall for the day, to enjoy Lands End, St. Michael's Mount and St. Ives. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Valley Cottage Portmellon, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing