We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay..highly recommended”
Review of Talland Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Talland Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Porthallow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We have just spent the easter break at The Talland Bay Hotel which is situated in Talland between the pituresque fishing village of Polperro and Looe. The break was a birthday present to my girlfriend. She was over the moon with this place.

The rooms are finished to a high standard and are tastefully decorated. The hotel is decorated with wonderful pieces of modern art and designer furniture giving the hotel a

We booked a superior room which offered a sea view looking out over the bay. You could see sheep and horses grazing in the meadows which lead down to the waters edge.

Our stay was very relaxing. Staff where very polite and attentive. The food in the fine dining restaurant was the best we have ever eaten. If you would like to treat someone to a relaxing break in Cornwall, look no further than The Talland Bay Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank startrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (920)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

895 - 901 of 920 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2010

I have just come back from a weekend stay at Talland Bay Hotel with my husband. From the moment we stepped into the hotel the service we received was superb. We were shown to our 1st floor room which has the most amazing views over Talland Bay. The room was gorgeous. A huge rooom witha super king size bed as well as a lounge area and a large ensuite bathroom which has a seperate shower and bath. The room was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. In fact it was without doubt the nicest hotel room that I have ever stayed in.
The interior of the hotel is stunning. It has lots of unusual art work throughout and the decor is contemporary and stylish. It is situated overlooking Talland Bay. This is a beautiful part of the Cornish coast line with coatal walks to either Looe or Polperro.
The meals that we had at the hotel were delicious and the service superb.
We had an iydillic weekend at Talland Bay Hotel and I cannot wait to go back.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sallyclem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Just had a few days at this lovely hotel.The hotel has recently been refurbished to a very high standard by the present owners .The rooms are large some with sea view or garden view they are well appointed and very individual .The views are beautifull ideal for walkers as you can walk from the hotel grounds to Polperro and Looe along the coast.The restaurant is superb and the service and the food speaks for it self with 2 AA rosettes.Talland Bay is a ideal place for peace and quiet and the welcome at this Hotel makes it an ideal holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgina20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

The hotel, which occupies a magnificent position overlooking the sea in South Cornwall, has recently been refurbished to a very high standard. Our sea view room had every comfort to which we are accustomed at home. Log fires in the lounge and dining room gave an additional homely touch. The staff, from the owner and his wife downwards, could not have been more welcoming and helpful and the waiters in the elegant dining room were attentive and informative. As for the food, it cannot be long before at least one and probably two Michelin stars are awarded. Unusually for us - since we are not easily satisfied - we could find nothing to criticise.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GodfreyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2010

Before staying in Salcombe we stayed here and it was fantastic. The food was very tasty and even the younger members of the party found at least two dishes they liked which is always a challenge when travelling.

The hotel was a very relaxing atmosphere but a short drive away were plenty of activites for the whole family.

A great trip was had and we are thinking of visiting again in 2011

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanman1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We returned to this hotel 34 years after our first stay. It is a very welcoming place and has recently been acquired by new owners who instantly made us feel at home upon our arrival. Our (upgraded) sea view room was spacious and spotlessly clean with an exceptionally comfortable bed. Tea with freshly baked cake was served in one of the lounges between 4 and 5 pm each day.

The evening meals were absolutely delicious and the service first rate. There was a lovely log fire in the lounge of an evening with very pleasant background music.

The gardens are beautiful even at this time of the year. The location is secluded which is something we like.

The new owners have plans to update the hotel during December and January and we are looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_taffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

Stayed here a couple of months ago, I think this is our 4th stay in the last few years. We just love the location, the hotel is quietly tucked away down a tiny road and minutes from the beach at Tallland.
The hotel rooms do seem to vary a bit in size and decor, this time we booked late and were a bit disapointed in the room. It was right up on the top floor and although very clean the decor was rather dated, as it was just one night it did not matter. The rest makes up for it, comfortable lounge, the food is better than you would expect and friendly staff.
We enjoyed walking along the coast path to Looe, lovely views. Looe is not great but a fantastic cornish pasty shop worth a visit.
We would return again, but ask for a better room.Look out for last minute deals on their website they are good value in comparison to other hotels in Devon and cornwall

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashfordlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthallow
6.2 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
1.2 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
10.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
505 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,437 reviews
2 mi away
Hannafore Point Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talland Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talland Bay Hotel

Address: Polperro Heritage Coast, Porthallow, Looe PL13 2JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe > Porthallow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Porthallow
Price Range: $214 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Talland Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a magical location overlooking the bay this is a very special hotel privately run with caring attentive owners and staff whose aim is to please. We have an elegant 2 star AA rosette restaurant with sliding doors where, weather permitting you can sit on our terrace and enjoy the views. You’ll know you’re somewhere special as soon as you arrive at Talland Bay Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Talland Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talland Bay Looe
Hotel Talland Bay
Talland Bay Hotel Porthallow, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing