We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,016)
Filter reviews
1,016 results
Traveler rating
854
111
27
16
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
854
111
27
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstalland bayfine diningdog friendly hotelbrasserie menuquirky decormain restaurantsea viewstunning locationcoastal pathcornish coastfantastic hotelsecond to nonedog ownerssunday lunchhigh standardcream teareturn visit
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 1,016 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2017 via mobile

We’ve been here 6/7 times now and every stay is excellent... artworks continually changing, reception a pleasure to deal with nothing too much trouble, rooms spotless - in a word EASY

we will be back next year

Christmas decorations awesome

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank rowlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallandBay, Owner at Talland Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Dear rowlane,

Thank you for your kind and succinct review.

You are clearly one of our significant fans and we are pleased to make your stay a memorable one.

Your lovely comments, elsewhere, about the food and our extensive gin collection are also noted, as well as the comment about filling your own wine glasses. We have fallen a little short on that one and apologies are extended for that.

Please talk to Stephen, Jack or Lucy on your next visit about how we can make amends for that slip.

We will look forward to that visit and thank you again for helping us with your review(s).

Dr K M O'Sullivan
MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2017 via mobile

Every time you visit something has changed - just slightly - this time however decked out for Christmas and what a job they have done and in the usual unusual Talland bay hotel style I spotted 4 Christmas tree's from the slightly quirky all white one, to the conventional (ish) one but with a turned over top as if too tall or to imitate a pointy hat with the legs of an elf sticking out, to the helter skelter and finally to my mind the best of all the mannequin based one with a bodice and none of them look out of place.
As usual great staff, great rooms, great food and great service. We will be back of that there is no doubt. Thanks guys

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Wynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallandBay, Owner at Talland Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Dear Wynn W,

Thank you for your very kind review of Talland Bay Hotel and it’s Christmas decorations.

The decorative arrangements and much of the production of the decorations themselves is the brainchild of, Penny, our longest serving team member. Penny has, in the last couple of years, been encouraged to “take the lid off” her creative urges and she has put her stamp not just on the Christmas decorations but in the public rooms and bedrooms of the hotel, with, what we believe to be, stunning results.

In fact, all of the team have the same passion to make you your stay both wonderful and unforgettable.

We are all very pleased that we have “hit the spot” for you and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Will you spot all the subtle changes that we are making for 2018.

Thank you again for your kind review.

Dr K M O'Sullivan
MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2017 via mobile

Ive stayed here a couple of times before and hadnt written a review, I came back with my family this year (just for a drink with a view) and was met with the same professionalism and beauty.
The Hotel overlooks Talland Bay with breathing sea views. In season you are two minutes away from a little seaside cafe.
The hotel is full of character, I guarantee this quirky gem will make you smile.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallandBay, Owner at Talland Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Dear Claire R,

Thank you for your kind review of the several visits you have made to Talland Bay Hotel, it is much appreciated.

We are pleased that you think of the hotel as a “gem”. The team work hard and conscientiously to try make everyone feel that they have had a wonderfully, unforgettable experience when they visit. We are pleased to have worked some “magic” for you. We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you again for your review.

Dr K M O'Sullivan
MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2017

What a fabulous place we were blown away with everything the setting the friendly staff the quality of the food and the room we stayed in Sea veiw was amazing
It was such a special weekend seeing our friends get married and the hotel made it so memorable
Thanks to all all the hard working staff for making it special
The Christmas decorations were outstanding
Definitely would love to return

Room Tip: The rooms over looking the sea and gardens
Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallandBay, Owner at Talland Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Dear Alison P,

Thank you for your kind review of Talland Bay Hotel.

The setting is superb for a wedding, whatever the weather and this wedding, amongst the Christmas decorations was a highlight of the season for all involved, I believe.

We are certainly delighted that you enjoyed your stay, the wedding and the Christmas decorations.

If you would like to stay again the best thing to do would be to telephone Lucy and the reception team and invite them to look after you.

Thanks again.


Dr K M O'Sullivan
MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2017

I have been meaning to write this review for a while because the Talland Bay Hotel is one of my favourite places to stay in Cornwall. I have stayed there several times over the years and have noted how it has gone from strength to strength. The food and the service are exemplary. I know that the team have won several awards but I also feel strongly that it deserves Michelin recognition too, as it compares very favourably to restaurants of a similar quality in Cornwall. I would also like to give a shout out too to the Housekeeping team, who are simply wonderful as they are both efficient and discreet. I would like to thank Stephen, and the whole team, for another lovely and very relaxing stay. I hope to stay with you again soon.

Room Tip: I enjoy staying in Room 1 with a wonderful view over the bay
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank maureenlondon2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallandBay, Owner at Talland Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Dear maureenlondon2017,

Thank you for taking the time to review your several visits to the Talland Bay Hotel.

As you will know Stephen and the whole team, including our, “efficient and discrete”, “Room Fairies” whom you record as “Housekeeping” and not forgetting the Head Chef, Nick Hawke, and his kitchen brigade, work hard to try to give you a wonderful, not like any other, culinary experience.

The culinary bull has had it’s horns firmly “grasped” by Nick and his team in the kitchen, and we are hopeful that one day we may be seen as deserving of the accolade to which you have alluded.

In the meantime we hope you will realise your hopes and stay with us again soon and observe the several subtle changes we are making to the fabric of the hotel and it’s offering to our guests.

Thank you again.

Dr K M O'Sullivan
MD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews