We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, Clean and Fun hotel with Stunning views!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Talland Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Talland Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Porthallow
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely, Clean and Fun hotel with Stunning views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I would say that this hotel is number one for a reason. I have in all honesty not stayed in any other hotels in this area but we are SO pleased we chose The Talland Bay Hotel and I cannot wait to have a reason to return.

They are very dog friendly (with puppy cookies and a little blanket waiting in the the room for us). The hotel is in a great location as you can walk 2.9 km in either direction and end up in a sweet little fishing village (I preferred Polperro over Looe but found great coffees in both) We also took short day trips to Fowely and Saint Isaac - both towns are very well worth seeing!!

We were only there for 5 nights so did not get as much of a chance to explore as I would have liked but honestly we enjoyed the hotel so much we found ourselves lounging in front of the Bay most afternoons and taking the dogs down to the beach which was only a 5 minute walk down a hill. (The beach Cafe is adorable!!)

We had a really great breakfast each morning with views over the immaculate garden and breathtaking coastline. We had dinner in the brasserie one night and the food was really very good.

The staff as in the girls at the front and the waiters and waitresses were all very friendly and helpful. I thought the owners were really nice but did see a bit of moodiness on occasion, however when we were out in the town and mentioned where we were staying business owners seemed to hold The Talland Bay Hotel owners in high regard and pass on their hellos and best wishes!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mle_webb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    87
    22
    10
    6
See reviews for
128
540
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Superb location and setting.The hotel is quirkiness personified and the rooms are very comfortable but room 17 is very noisy from early morning activity of staff. The restaurant brasserie is very good but the alcohol is slightly overpriced. Unfortunately I witnessed on several occasions the proprietor arguing with staff in front of us and is a grumoy man that seems to have a lot of problems on his shoulders.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has outstanding views, eclectic displays of art and ornaments, with friendly and accommodating staff, evident from the start. Food was great, service by the waitresses was excellent, and Stephen was professional yet approachable.
The meal was faultless, and the friendly and welcome atmosphere in the bar area was so relaxing that it felt as though we we with invited friends.
The proprietor was lovely, and we found the room to be perfect.
This is the only hotel that we've managed to find that treats dogs as guests; almost complete freedom to experience the communal areas, gardens, and grounds. Our dog is our companion and this hotel allowed us to have a holiday together, without exclusions. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnietheCoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We arrived late afternoon in beautiful sunshine and saw the grounds and view at their best. On a day like that it takes some beating. We were very happy with our room which included a sea view.
We booked dinner in the bistro and went to the bar beforehand. A lady standing in the bar entrance ignored us and it was only when we approached her that we found she worked there and got her to serve us but she took not interest in us at all.. The quality of the food was very good but we were surprised how small the dining tables were and they had to bring a side table to accommodate everything.The waitresses were polite but that's as far as it went with no attempt to make conversation or enquire whether we were happy.
During our trip we had stayed at two other hotels of similar size and price where we were were made to feel much more welcome and all the staff were interested in us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geordieboy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed one night on our way back from visiting a relative in another part of Cornwall because we wanted to explore an area of Cornwall we don't usually see on our trips. The hotel was down a long single track lane, not unusual in Cornwall and not a problem for us as we are used to the driving conditions. The hotel is in an elevated position so has lovely sea views from the garden sun loungers. The walk to the beach is quite steep and having viewed the beach there was little else to explore. If you are happy to stay in each evening the hotel's position is ideal, but if like us you prefer a wander after your evening meal you may want to drive to Polperro. The room was spacious, clean and had a nice bathroom. There is no lift. We had a nice evening meal in the conservatory area. Breakfast was adequate too but it was difficult balancing all elements on the small tables in the conservatory. Overall we had a nice stay but as the most expensive hotel of our trip I have reservations about its value for money, and due to lack other things nearby I would not want to stay here for very long. Cornwall has other villages with more character.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljm250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandvaux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Truly a beautiful place to spend a few relaxing days. The garden offers a somptuous view over Talland bay and the surroundings are very calm (you can even see a 12th-century church over to the left). 100% satisfaction on this side of the hotel, even though the varied statues here and there are a bit too much to our taste.
The staff is efficient and agreeable, we were even given a complimentary upgrade. But we certainly didn’t feel the « warmth beyond the smile », as proclaimed by their motto. Business as usual was more adequate to what we felt.
Nevertheless, what you get is certainly up to what you pay (the brasserie menu is quite common, we didn’t try the restaurant)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cl_loertscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

What a fantastic place! Felt like heaven on earth. Warm welcome, fabulous comfy room, with French doors to patio with stunning sea views. Best food I've eaten beyond overpriced London cuisine. Dogs were treated as valued guests, as was I. Will certainly be going back.

Room Tip: For dog owners, the ground floor rooms are all great but sea views only available from 18, 30 &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthallow
23.3 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.2 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
6.1 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talland Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talland Bay Hotel

Property: Talland Bay Hotel
Address: Porthallow, Looe PL13 2JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe > Porthallow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Porthallow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Talland Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a magical location overlooking the bay this is a very special hotel privately run with caring attentive owners and staff whose aim is to please. We have an elegant 2 star AA rosette restaurant with sliding doors where, weather permitting you can sit on our terrace and enjoy the views. You’ll know you’re somewhere special as soon as you arrive at Talland Bay Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Talland Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talland Bay Looe
Hotel Talland Bay
Talland Bay Hotel Porthallow, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing