We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Talland Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Talland Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Porthallow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed for a long weekend at Talland Bay in March, after being recommended by some friends, and had a brilliant time. It is a lovely hotel with stunning views and the staff are fantastic. The room we stayed in had a lovely view over the sea and was very nice but smaller than we expected, okay for a weekend, but would recommend a Superior Room if thinking of staying longer. There was no room to put bags, although there was a stand in the wardrobe there was not room to put it anywhere, lucky my Husband was tall and could reach on top of the wardrobe.
We ate in the Fine Dining Restaurant twice, the food was superb and the service second to none. We did try the Brasserie but only ate there the once, the food was ok but that was it. Breakfast was good, but on the last day we noticed a few people bringing their dogs in with them, this really put us off. It really doesn't seem very hygienic allowing dogs in when food is being served, especially when they start scratching and hairs start flying around, as did the large dog that sat at the table behind us. I know it is a dog friendly hotel but even so there should be some limits as to where they are allowed to go.
I would certainly recommend this hotel for a nice relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lol205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallandbay, Manager at Talland Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments about our hotel. I appreciate your comments with reference our pet friendly policy and have taken steps ensuring this does not occur again offing guests without pets a table in the restaurant for breakfast. Although pet friendly our aim is to ensure all guests enjoy their stay with us.

regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 907 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in a cottage and the rooms were beautifully decorated, comfortable. The setting is stunning, the website doesn't do it justice.The food was excellent and Stephen the restaurant manager couldn't have been more charming.

The only downside was that we weren't made to feel particularly welcome by the
team who run the place. In fact the chef was rude to my husband. So we certainly wouldn't return while they are in charge. It's sad because the place and food is great, but hospitality let them down. Shame.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonTraveller94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallandbay, Manager at Talland Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Thank You for your kind words, and sorry that you felt there was some unpleasantry, which I am surprised about as we pride ourselves on our hosting abilities there must have been exceptional circumstances.

regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for one night with our little chihuahua in December, with the intention of coming back for Xmas, unfortunately we left it too long and the hotel was fully booked. I can't fault it in anyway, We stayed in the suite which was just superb, lovely and clean. We ate in the brasserie so that we could have the dog with us and the meal was excellent, chef even brought us some free range chicken for the the dog. Breakfast was delicious the following morning. A wonderful night away and hopefully we will be booking for xmas this year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathyH593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallandbay, Manager at Talland Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thank you for your very kind words, you are very welcome to come and enjoy christmas with us this year, but please dont leave it too late as we would love to have you again.

regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

As we were staying a 2 minute walk away (Fred's House) decided to give it a try with our two children......very accommodating and food,staff,setting all very enjoyable. A little expensive but that's the price you have to pay. Loved the characters in the garden lol

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Esther T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallandbay, Manager at Talland Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thank you, for your kind words, you are all always welcome at Talland Bay Hotel

regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Wonderful hotel this is my second visit.
The decor is beautiful, purely eccentric with lots of art and objects to admire. Interesting pieces of furniture and soft furnishings add to the calmly luxurious vibe.
Top class attentive service makes you feel special, staff are charming and professional.
A late booking I stayed in a sea view suite with luxurious furnishings and elegant wood panelling that made me want to hang up the ‘do not disturb’ sign as soon as I entered the room. The room had a welcome sense of pampering with a good selection of facilities including dressing gowns, magazines, soft drinks and free Wi-Fi. The king size bed with crisp white on white sheets and further linen made it difficult to get up each morning. This large room, with its own private balcony, had the feel and comfort of a private residence and my terrier dog certainly appreciated the thoughtful treats and throw that was left out for her.
Pre-dinner drinks in the bar area provided the perfect place for people watching before enjoying a very good meal in the brasserie for casual eating.
Public areas are really appealing with a interesting mix of decor, colours and textures.
Calm and relaxing was the overriding impression during my weekend stay and I’m looking forward to my third stay later in the year.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nansue75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallandbay, Manager at Talland Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thank you very much for your very kind words about your rescent stay with us here at Talland Bay, we are all please you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again soon

with kind regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Short break four nights.... Very comfortable and relaxing stay! Charming, friendly, interesting decor, top quality beds/facilities. Excellent staff and wonderful choice of menu in restaurant and brasserie. Lovely setting overlooking the bay and manicured grounds! Standard of comfort, cleanliness, attention to detail second to none! Hope to return in different seasons. Thanks to all staff :-)

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank dorindaboag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallandbay, Manager at Talland Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Guest

So please you enjoyed your relaxing stay with us here at Talland Bay, myself and the Staff are always happy to abblige. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again soon.

regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

What a find! The reviews on Trip Advisor were spot on! A great room, excellent food and service (with large wine list!!). Eclectic and individual furnishings added to the overall charm of the hotel. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallandbay, Manager at Talland Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thank you For your lovely comments, we are so please you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and we look forward to see you again in the near future.

regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthallow
2 mi away
Hannafore Point Hotel
1.2 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
10.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
488 reviews
2 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
276 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talland Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talland Bay Hotel

Address: Polperro Heritage Coast, Porthallow, Looe PL13 2JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe > Porthallow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Porthallow
Price Range: $221 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Talland Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a magical location overlooking the bay this is a very special hotel privately run with caring attentive owners and staff whose aim is to please. We have an elegant 2 star AA rosette restaurant with sliding doors where, weather permitting you can sit on our terrace and enjoy the views. You’ll know you’re somewhere special as soon as you arrive at Talland Bay Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Talland Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talland Bay Looe
Hotel Talland Bay
Talland Bay Hotel Porthallow, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing