We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Talland Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Talland Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Porthallow
Certificate of Excellence
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Garden Suite (room 30) is a good size, very well furnished and comfortable with excellent TV. An overpowering aroma from a plug-in air freshener and lack of fridge were bad points, as was the stern notice warning guests not to drink red wine in the room for fear of expensive spillages. The small patio immediately outside is next to a gravel drive that all cars use to enter the car park, so not really private. The sea view is limited. The bathroom is a good size but hardly luxurious, there is no shaver point.

On arrival we were offered the choice of dinner in the restaurant, (which were told was likely to be busy) or the brasserie that is actually a small conservatory next to the bar and does not look inviting, it lacks atmosphere. The restaurant menu was limited so feeling hurried, we chose the latter.

The public areas are clean and smart with interesting artwork. The bar however was soulless and pre dinner drinks were served and taken in a solemn, awkward mood. Two regimented rows of tables and chairs do little create an informal ambience.

At dinner the service was inconsistent and the food poorly prepared and presented. The “special” sirloin steak in pepper sauce arrived crammed on to the plate with no finesse, it was unappetising and the meat rare, not medium as requested. The homemade burger was served pink, (no choice had been offered) and lukewarm, again piled on a small plate that made it impossible to deconstruct and eat comfortably. The paper napkins and poor table setting were more bar snack than £30 per head brasserie.

Our polite requests to rectify the problems with the food were not well received by the waitress who had been perfunctory from the start and as we learned later, was the proprietor. Her response when we elected to cut our three night stay to one was “I think that’s best”, no apology or attempt to rectify the situation and encourage us to stay was made.

The room price, with dinner is on a par with four star hotels that offer more facilities and in some cases better locations. The drinks prices are higher.

The casual indifference of the proprietor made us feel unwelcome, ask for problems to be addressed at your peril.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SomerKidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallandbay, General Manager at Talland Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel, we are sorry to hear that your visit was not up to your high expectations, we always endevour to make guests visits to our beautiful Hotel as special as we can unfortunately not on this occassion.

with kind regards

Stephen Waite
Talland Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    88
    22
    10
    6
See reviews for
135
552
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a weekend break at Talland Bay staying from Friday to Monday at the end of January. We stayed in a cottage in the grounds which to be honest wasn't up to the standard of fixtures and fittings that I was expecting having read reviews. The service and food was always really good but feel that the cottage let things down.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallandbay, Manager at Talland Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank You, For your comments, I am sorry that you felt your stay was marred by our cottage, however I am a bit baffled to when you stayed and which cottage you stayed in as 2 of our cottages where under refurbishment at the end of January and I didnt have anyone staying in the third? If you would like to getting touch so that we could discuss any issues that we need to address

With Kind Regards

Stephen Waite
Talland Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Excellent service, with plenty of staff to cope even when the brasserie was full. Breakfast was excellent and again the service was first class, with everything arriving promptly. Waiting staff were all super efficient and friendly.
The bedroom was light and airy and the bed was comfy.
Could do with better pillows tho.
We had a really great three nights and will definitely return.

Room Tip: 17 is on the corner and overlooking the car park so you do get some noise with the cars going but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ponkysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallandbay, Manager at Talland Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for you comments, so pleased you enjoyed your time hear. Hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Talland Bay Hotel is perfection. We have just returned from an amazing 2 night stay. I cannot fault it at all, our room was beautiful looking out over the sea. Spacious, beautiful decor and extremely comfortable. The fine dining restaurant was sublime, outstanding food and service. The brasserie and bar equally lovely on our 2nd night. The staff were all great, friendly and brilliant service. Oh and breakfast was delicious too!! Wouldn't hesitate to recommend and can't wait to return one day. The location is wonderful offering, peace and quiet with stunning views. A long awaited perfect weekend set. Thank you Talland Bay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sutz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallandbay, General Manager at Talland Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank You.

So glad you enjoyed your stay here with us at Talland Bay Hotel. Hope you see you again soon.

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed a few times and the service is outstanding. Very dog friendly, he even got a bowl , mat and a bone.The best part is the menu, it's amazing, fresh seafood and local produce. My favourite is the scallops. vRecently voted best independent hotel in Cornwall I believe

The view is wonderful !

We are both gluten free and they will do anything on the menu just taking out the gluten. They even make fresh gluten free bread.

The management and staff are very friendly. The walk around the grounds is worthwhile

Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neil84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallandbay, General Manager at Talland Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you For your Kind words

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Talland Bay Hotel, and we able to contribute to your anniversary celebrations.

with kind regards
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brossac, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at the Talland Bay for our wedding anniversary. Our 2-night stay was in the beautiful White Suite at the front of the hotel overlooking the lawns to the sea below. We were blessed with outstandingly good weather for our stay and this made our trips out the more pleasurable. Walks along the cliff paths to both Looe and Pollpero took about 50 minutes each way. Talland Bay itself is just at the bottom of the lane, about a 5 minute walk. The hotel was simply delightful: lovely, engaging and helpful staff; outstanding food (we ate in the main restaurant on both nights, although the brasserie looked great as well); and the decor, cleanliness and facilities of the hotel itself were terrific. Perhaps the only suggestion that I would make would be to make more radical changes to the restaurant menu each night (only one of the half dozen or so choices for each course actually changed on the second night). Nevertheless, this was a great visit and we will certainly be back again in the future.

Room Tip: You will not do better than the White Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Splin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallandbay, Manager at Talland Bay Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you For your wonderful comments we hope to see you agains soon here at Talland Bay

regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Each year around the end of January we treat ourselves to a nice meal and night away to celebrate our birthdays. This year we left it very late to book, and our first choice hotel was full. This turned out to be very good news for us, as we ended up booking a night at Talland Bay. We booked a standard double room for £190 for dinner, bed and breakfast, plus a small additional charge for our two dogs. Now, finding a nice hotel that allows dogs can be tricky, but Talland Bay were not only happy to accommodate them, but also provided a doggy welcome pack. When we arrived we asked if we could view one of their cottages as we were considering upgrading, but were told that we had in fact already been upgraded to one of the suites. Very refreshing that they did not simply allow us to 'upgrade' ourselves and charge the extra. The room was spotless and spacious with a fantastic Kingsize bed and a bathroom with a free-standing bath and a seperate shower. Lovely views over the hotel grounds to the sea beyond. The food at both dinner and breakfast was exceptional, and as good as, if not better, than many expensive 'posh' restaurants. The coast path can be picked up just down the hill from the hotel and a gentle stroll to Polperro takes about an hour each way (plus a pub break in the middle, of course!). Overall, I would happily recommend Talland Bay to anyone. I have stayed in many hotels, and I would have expected to pay an awful lot more than we did for the quality of the hotel and the food. Steve and Denise, Penzance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallandbay, Manager at Talland Bay Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you again soon.

regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthallow
1.2 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
23.3 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talland Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talland Bay Hotel

Property: Talland Bay Hotel
Address: Polperro Heritage Coast, Porthallow, Looe PL13 2JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe > Porthallow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Porthallow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Talland Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a magical location overlooking the bay this is a very special hotel privately run with caring attentive owners and staff whose aim is to please. We have an elegant 2 star AA rosette restaurant with sliding doors where, weather permitting you can sit on our terrace and enjoy the views. You’ll know you’re somewhere special as soon as you arrive at Talland Bay Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Talland Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talland Bay Looe
Hotel Talland Bay
Talland Bay Hotel Porthallow, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing