We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Stay”
Review of Talland Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Talland Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Porthallow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Ours was a last minute booking and what a find this Hotel is, what a stunning location with fantastic sea views. All the staff are top notch and the food was five star, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We booked a small room with patio doors as we bought our dog along but were upgraded to a very large beautiful room with all mod cons at no extra charge, fantastic! The sculptures in the garden are just brilliant and the morning light shining through a chicken wire fairy hanging from one of the trees was just lovely and made breakfast in the conservatory a real treat. Even the dog got a breakfast sausage and a biscuit on arrival. Can't praise Talland Bay enough, would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EddieJ_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (908)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

600 - 606 of 908 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

The staff and the manager were both helpful, charming and very competent. The location is superb. We had a sea view which includes the gardens and the stunning trees. We mostly ate in the Brasserie because I wasn't well and I know that the fine dining restaurant is even better but the brasserie food was excellent. Really well cooked fish (Megrim sole) with home made tartar sauce. Home made Yoghurt for breakfast as well as a really good selection of cold and hot dishes. In general a delight. This place is a haven for dog owners because the owners encourage it. However, the dogs did not interfere with our stay in any way. We had a suite which was spacious and had a marvelous bathroom. The bed was luxurious although it could have been firmer for my taste.

Room Tip: I haven't seen the other rooms but the sea view is worth a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pnomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for New Year and had a great time.

The staff were their usual selves. That's to say warm, friendly and just about perfect.

The food was excellent for our first night when we ate in the resturant. It was hard to choose what to have. The New Year's eve buffet had a choice of starters, mains and puddings that was hard to beat. We all agreed that the lobster was some of the best. The kitchen staff are all a credit to this hotel.

We had our dogs with us this time and they were made as welcome as we were. It's so nice to visit a hotel where having a dog is a positive advantage and not a hindrance.

I can not thank the team enough for making us all (dogs included) so welcome and for getting the new year off to a great start

I can not recommend this hotel highly enough

Room Tip: take your dog, they'll be made more than welcom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our second visit to this delightful hotel - four nights over Christmas. The hotel staff were amazing, every little detail was thought of and Santa Claus even left us a stocking overnight! The food was delicious and a credit to the hotel's fantastic chef - we could not fault it. A new conservatory built since our last visit makes a great seating/dining area with gorgeous views. The sun came out on Christmas Eve and also Christmas Day enabling us to walk along the cliff path to Polperro and also explore the lovely lanes in the surrounding area. One of the best and most relaxing Christmas breaks we have ever had. Thank you soooo much Talland Bay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Most enjoyable and delicious Boxing Day buffet lunch within a 25 minute car journey from where we live. All staff were friendly and attentive, creating a relaxing and warm atmosphere. Thank you for making us welcome.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CornwallLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This place is amazing. Stayed in the summer and just never got round to saying just how great it was. The setting, the service the food, and drink all top quality. The manageress and the whole team outstanding. Thank you

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just returned for a couple of nights' stay at the Talland Bay Hotel. What a delight this hotel is! The service was excellent, food lovely, the bed was really comfortable and the views are fabulous. Only reservation was that the in-room seating isn't immensely comfortable but, given everything else we loved, that was a mere detail. Definitely recommended!

Room Tip: There's only 2 rooms in the hotel which aren't used for pets and their owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Askew22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthallow
2 mi away
Hannafore Point Hotel
1.2 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
10.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
490 reviews
2 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
276 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talland Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talland Bay Hotel

Address: Polperro Heritage Coast, Porthallow, Looe PL13 2JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe > Porthallow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Porthallow
Price Range: $269 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Talland Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a magical location overlooking the bay this is a very special hotel privately run with caring attentive owners and staff whose aim is to please. We have an elegant 2 star AA rosette restaurant with sliding doors where, weather permitting you can sit on our terrace and enjoy the views. You’ll know you’re somewhere special as soon as you arrive at Talland Bay Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Talland Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talland Bay Looe
Hotel Talland Bay
Talland Bay Hotel Porthallow, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing