We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Seiners Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Seiners Arms
Ranked #3 of 11 Perranporth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
torbay
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

A hotel right on the beach looking out to the sea. Rooms are small but comfortable and clean and the service was good. Staff are friendly and polite. The best thing is waking up and looking out at the beach and the rolling waves. The breakfast is fine .

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    108
    56
    28
    23
See reviews for
116
194
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

Seiners really is in a perfect location, situated right beside the beach it is away from the bustle of the town but still only a stone throw away. We were surprised to find that on arrival there was nowhere to park (car park very small and very full) so I ventured inside to ask advice only to find there was nobody to greet us at the entrance, instead check-in is at the bar. We had to park at a nearby car park which was refunded to us. The room was fine- fairly basic and in need of a hoover but other than that perfectly adequate apart from a small bed! The real joke was at breakfast, during our 3 days of stay there was not once a clean, laid table ready and equipped with the essentials like glass, cup, knife and fork etc. I asked for a plate and the waitress said she would get one and was then gone for well over 5 minutes meanwhile the toast was getting cold. Cereals, fruit, yogurts hot and cold drinks are all self service so what the hold up was I have no idea! There appeared to be plenty of staff around but only one waitress was actually frequenting the dining room. She was constantly apologising to people for the wait on their food/ drinks/ cutlery and probably got the brunt of much dissatisfaction. All in all, the relaxed beach dude approach is certainly taken to an extreme in this business and has a negative affect on the customer service. Although it is not expensively priced, as a B and B it was not worth the money we paid for our stay and we would not recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josey54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

We stayed here for two nights the weekend of 2nd July. First of all - to be positive, the location is excellent. The hotel overlooks the beach at Perranporth and the beach is fantastic. The restaurant where you have breakfast is bright and airy and looks over the bay, the bar is quite trendy and cosy, but as the rooms overlook the outside bar terrace you probably wouldn't want to take young children. Our daughters are 13 and 10 and couldn't get to sleep until last orders as it is just too noisy outside. Oh yes, and there is very little free hotel parking.

The website, to be positive, is just beautiful. It really helped in our decision to book (foolishly without looking on TripAdvisor first) as it looks like the whole hotel is modern, light and airy and suggests that the hotel has had a serious refurbishment. Reality: It is very careful in what it shows. The carpets in the corridor and on the stairs are very old and stained and there is a funny damp smell to the area. Inside the rooms, the carpets are no better, the furniture is cheap and extremely tired and battered and the bedding looks like it is about 20 years old, both in terms of its 80s pastel flower design and the amount of wear to it. Our bathroom wasn't very clean. One of the things that really put me off most was the obviously dirty toilet brush sitting on a raised bit of carpet at lap level when you sit on the loo - ugh. The sealant around bath and sink was mouldy and gappy and the shower a dribble emanating from bath taps. I see that some of the reviewers believe the rooms are "adequate" but at £99 a night for a family room, I'm afraid I expect more. Not luxury, just good clean modern facilities.

Having spent our Friday afternoon and evening on the beach and following time in Truro on the Saturday morning we came back at lunchtime to see that our room had not been cleaned, beds made or towels replaced. Obviously, we had been as clean as possible but the towels were well used as we had all showered in the evening and the morning and there was sand in the bath, on the bathroom floor and carpet. Thinking this was an oversight we went to the beach for the afternoon and returned to find that this still had not been done. So I went down to reception (which is never manned) then into the bar to find someone to come and clean the room. The gentleman I found (who appeared to be the duty manager from the conversation he was having while I waited) sighed, went to a room behind the bar, found some clean towels which he threw at me with rolled eyes and continued on his way at breakneck speed. Delightful.

Breakfast. Again being positive, the restaurant space is quite unlike the tired hotel with local art on display, modern furniture and white walls. I think this may be the blueprint for future refurbishment – I hope so. The menu is lovely too. On the first morning, I had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon on a muffin. Not beautifully presented particularly and the eggs were a bit cold, but, yes, adequate. My husband and youngest daughter decided to have the beautiful sounding American style pancakes with maple syrup. When they came they were about three inches high (each pancake) as if they had puffed up in an oven, indeed it seemed that maybe this was what had happened as the maple syrup on them was rock solid and the pancakes either too hard to bite, or chewy. My husband complained and the waitress laughed that maybe the chef was having an off day (indeed) and took them away. No alternative was offered. The following morning, I decided to give the chef a second chance as I really fancied pancakes! The waitress laughed and said that they would probably be better as it was a different chef (yes, she seriously said this) and indeed they were. It’s just that the maple syrup wasn’t maple. It was golden syrup which isn’t really the same.

In conclusion, I think the new management of Seiners perhaps have some great ideas, but they haven’t implemented them yet and to begin with an artfully, carefully shot website (note there are no photos of the rooms or wide angles of the hotel exterior etc) is misleading. Basic rooms would be fine, but they need to be spotlessly clean and maintained. Friendly staff with a sense of humour are also fine, but they need to have a sense of humour which isn’t at the expense of their own colleagues, or the lack of hotel servicing! When this hotel is actually refurbished, looking at the ideas that are alluded to already it could be good, it could even be great.

But right now, avoid it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallyanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

We have just returned from Perranporth, where we stayed at the Seiners with family and work colleagues (part business, part pleasure). Ages ranged from 18m to 50+. Not one of us didn't love our stay. The hotel has a breathtaking view of the beach. Rooms are totally adequate. My husband (recovering from surgery) had four of the best nights sleep he's had in a year. No one minded that we asked for milk every five minutes. Or endless towels. I think we met every member of staff and each was friendly, warm and welcoming. Whoever served our breakfast asked what we were planning that day and gave us advice. Next time they saw us they asked how it had gone. And they gave that level of service to every one who was staying there. Our five year old loved all of the staff. He wants us to move so he can work there! The hotel is a credit to the hard work of the fairly new management team. We would like to thank them for making our holiday one of the best we've ever had.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhishaunandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

We stayed at the Seiners with our 6 and 8 years old boys, and had a bunk bed in our room. Okay hotel is little tired but it reflects the cost you pay, food was great and good value, breakfast was superb, best full english in years. Location is fantastic, u cannot be nearer to the sea. So its Cornwall and would recommend the place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliverwooburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

I would have put a seperate review on, if there were a link to Rocks, but there wasnt one. I dont want to diss the hotel as we didnt stay there, but we ate in the restaraunt next door, which I believe is part of the hotel. It was meant to be 'fine dining' but it was far from it. First impressions, its very nice inside, with a gorgeous view, but the food and the service was awful. Some of ordered the goats cheese ciabatta, and had to ask for more goats cheese as it was minimal. They brought out more of the cheese, but only a tiny sliver which was meant to go between 4 of us! The waiter didnt know what was on the menu, where it had come from, and he wasnt very quick of his feet either. Most of us had the steak, and it was rubbish; very chewy and fatty and not what we expected for £15. I would have rather paid a few more quid to have a better steak. It was meant to be served with potatoe fondant, but looked like one massive roast potatoe. When we complained the the waiter about our food, he just said 'ok' and that was that! One of my friends had the sea bass and they said it was very tender, which was the only good thing about the whole exprience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charliechunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

We have just had our wedding at Seiners and the staff made it the most sensational day possible. The food at this hotel is out of this world and the location is stunning. Seiners has a friendly atmosphere and although we had our wedding there making it lively, most of the time it is a lovely peaceful, and beautiful location making it an ideal retreat for families. All of our guests commented that they were very impressed with the service, and were very taken back by the spectacular views. In fact, our guests were so impressed because they feel that Seiners will soon become "the place" for weddings.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjames7070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perranporth
5.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.8 mi away
The Driftwood Spars B & B
5.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
St. Agnes Hotel
St. Agnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in St Agnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
St George's Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seiners Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seiners Arms

Property: The Seiners Arms
Address: The Beachfront, Perranporth TR6 0DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Perranporth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Perranporth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run bed and breakfast with a traditional Cornish bar and restaurant overlooking Perranporth beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Seiners Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seiners Arms Hotel
The Seiners Arms Perranporth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing