We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic sweet waffles”

Perran Dairy Ice Cream Parlour
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Perranporth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
Description: Perranporths favourite handmade Cornish artisan ice cream made fresh in our shop daily for over 50 years. We use local Roddas cream and milk in our ice cream to give it a real Cornish taste. Try our fresh crepes, hot Belgium waffles, sundaes, desserts, paninis and homemade stone baked pizzas. Our friendly staff welcome you to our vibrant ice cream parlour/restaurant.
Restaurant details
Description: Perranporths favourite handmade Cornish artisan ice cream made fresh in our shop daily for over 50 years. We use local Roddas cream and milk in our ice cream to give it a real Cornish taste. Try our fresh crepes, hot Belgium waffles, sundaes, desserts, paninis and homemade stone baked pizzas. Our friendly staff welcome you to our vibrant ice cream parlour/restaurant.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic sweet waffles”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We visited Perran Dairy twice whilst staying in Perranporth and sampled a few flavours of the ice cream, all of which were fantastic. The 2 scoop sweet waffles was excellent value, with a crunchy, warm sweet waffle, 2 scoops of ice cream, clotted or whipped cream and a drizzled sauce. We had them once and then had to return the next day to sample other flavours. Can highly recommend the rum and raisin and old jamaica ice cream with the maple sauce. Both times we were served by a polite and helpful young lad. We much preferred Perran to the Pavillion Ice Cream Parlour further round the corner.........they supplied hairs in their ice cream!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    40
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great selection of Food on offer - Ice Cream, Pizza, Waffles and more!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

What I first noticed about this place while passing was the huge counter of different ice creams! On going in there is many shapes and size cones and pots you can choose. I went for a four scoop tube - and it was a lot! You can pick from the various flavours on offer. I chose Chocolate & Orange, Vanilla & Fudge, Volcanic Ash and Chocolate. There are so many options including caramel ones, fruits etc. You can either take away or sit down inside here. I noticed on the board the 'Daddy' ice cream, you will be shocked at how big this cone is! There is also toppings available (flakes, fudge, sweets etc)

I noticed the following also available in here: Pizza (Veggie option available), Waffles, Crepes, Sundaes, Milkshakes etc.

I will be returning here when I next come to Perranporth to try their pizza and waffles.

The staff are friendly.

Pizza, Waffles and Crepes are cooked fresh on-site.

There are couches & tables, chairs & tables and also bar stools.Toilets available.

You need to spend over £5 to use your card, which is easily done as it is a little more expensive than others places. Me and my husband ordered a x4 scoop tub each and it came to about £8.50.

I highly reccommend popping in to try some of their ice cream.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenine_Plym0uth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream in Cornwall!!!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

As always excellent ice cream!!!! Felt i had to take my brother and his wife, who were visiting Cornwall for the 1st time from the USA in here for a proper Cornish Ice Cream and as usual we were not dissapointed. They both thought it was excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Excellent reviews say it all...”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I wouldn't normally bother to take the time to review an ice cream shop, but....

I would agree with all the positive reviews and more - they do the best ice cream we had in the two weeks we were away! Flavours rotate, all rich. The malteaser flavour was a bit bland but all the others were great. Go other places and you just regret it when you very quickly realise they aren't as good....usually nowhere near as good. We won't be doing that agin - we'll be here every time! Excellent value as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank St_Albans_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdidlands/ birngham area
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“most amazing ice cream ever.”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

went here while on holiday loads of different flavours all hand made on the property. my favourite had to be the kiwi sorbet thought they were all equally as nice, well at least the 1s we had chance to try did a great banana split with 3 scoops of ice cream of your choice and either clotted or whipped cream. they did crepes and waffles and various hot foods, the waffles and crepes were lovely and the pizzas looked nice but never had a chance to try them.
all in all have to say u have to go her for icecream while thereso worth it and cant wait to go back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tildi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perran Dairy Ice Cream Parlour also viewed

Perranporth, Cornwall
Perranporth, Cornwall
 
Perranporth, Cornwall
Perranporth, Cornwall
 

Been to Perran Dairy Ice Cream Parlour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing