We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a fantastic restaurant with a pub”
Review of The New Inn

The New Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The New Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 45 Restaurants in Perranporth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $40
Cuisines: Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed August 19, 2014

This is not a pub with a restaurant, as the meals are freshly cooked and are of a very high standard. It is clear that they seat enough people to make sure that the service is superb - booking is key here. We ate here every night during our stay and did not feel that we had 'done the menu'.
The beer is local Cornish ale and is well kept.
Andy and Iain made us feel very welcome; I felt the customer service was of a very high standard.

I think it is fair to say if you are looking for cheap and cheerful this isn't it - but if you like good food, well prepared and locally sourced, then sit down and tuck in!

Thank frog2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain M, General Manager at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Hi Frog 2009,

thank you! its always nice to get good feedback, see you next time!

cheers

Iain MacPherson
General Manager
01872 573326

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 281 of 379 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2014

We went in for a drink the evening before and we were greeted and looked after by Andy - the assistant manager. We were made to feel welcome and decided to book a table for the following evening. We were greeted again the following night and Andy was quick to show us to our table and take our drinks order. We requested the our champagne was put in the freezer to chill and they were more than accommodating with this. Everything and anything we asked for was never too much trouble. The drinks flowed. We were asked if we minded if the table with children were ok to order first as it was quite late. This, of course, was not a problem as it was lovely to see the restaurant accommodate families. Food was recommended and we were not disappointed. The mains were deceptive. We were all very full by the end! Andy was very attentive and we were looked after and spoilt all evening. Thank you. We will be back!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlexandraClaireG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain M, General Manager at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Dear AlexandraClaireG,

thank you for the feedback, Andy is a great asset to the business and we are more than happy to accommodate requests where possible. I am glad you had a good holiday and it was lovely to meet you. see next visit!

kind regards

Iain MacPherson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We enjoyed a meal here whilst on holiday but had to book even for a Wednesday night. The refurbishment looks great. We were very pleased with the child's menu which included 'tots tapas' which is just a plate of carrot sticks, cucumber, cheese, bread and fruit. A very simple idea but not one that is found generally, and suited my 7 year old down to the ground as a starter. Our meals were good. Staff were all pleasant but service seemed a little haphazard at times. Would return if in the area again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vatk2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain M, General Manager at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Hi VatK2014,

Thank you for the great review, Hopefully you'll see the team more settled on your next visit!

kind regards

Iain MacPherson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Had "date night" with my wife. The result was good food, great wine & Skinners' Lushingtons on tap. What more can you ask for. It's the new pubs first summer season since the refurb & lots of progress have been made. It beats a grotty, old fashioned pub that had worn carpets & dodgy electrics hands down. It's the only pub of decent quality in the vicinity and therefore it's gets very busy, even locals have to book well in advance. Do visit off season or make sure to pre-book.

Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain M, General Manager at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Thanks Richard K,

always a pleasure and being so Local I look forward to seeing you very soon. Enjoy your next date night!

kind regards

Iain MacPherson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

This place is very well kept, staff are excellent and facilities first class. The same cannot be said for the food. It was cold and the portions miserly. I had the pulled pork and thought it was a joke/child's portion. The 'triple cooked' chips were cold all 5 of them! All our other parties meals were cold and took over an hour to come, the place was not busy. A real nice place shame about your food sort it out! PS we would have stayed for more drinks and dessert but were so disappointed we went elsewhere for dessert and I went to get something to eat! Terrible

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain M, General Manager at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Dear M K,

Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback. I'm sorry you had such a poor meal. Did you speak to one of our team on your visit? as we would have happily changed the dishes/sorted the issues there and then.

Could you kindly let me know when you dined?

yours sincerely

Iain MacPherson
General Manager
01872 573326

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Inn also viewed

Perranporth, Cornwall
Perranporth, Cornwall
 
Perranwell Station, Perranarworthal
 

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing