We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, small portions, prices a bit too high.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Inn

The New Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The New Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 40 Restaurants in Perranporth
Price range: $6 - $38
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Truro
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, small portions, prices a bit too high.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

As I live literally a stones throw from this pub, I was delighted, as was everyone in Goonhavern to see the extensive renovation of this pub, which has for many years been a dingey lifeless place selling toxic food. The revamped New Inn looks fantastic, I cannot fault the decor, lighter, brighter and still full of character.
I went there with family for dinner, service was good the food was fantastic,a good night was had by all. I have spoken to a lot of people in Goonhavern about their view of the pub and restaurant. Every person has said the same thing.
The food is outstanding, the chef is great, although the portions are very small. (I went home and ate another meal an hour later.)
Prices are a bit steep for locals
The renovation looks great.

Personally, I think the pub and restaurant will do very well in the summer, but the consensus seems to be that although it will be nice to go for dinner on a special occasion, it won't be where you go out on the weekend for a drink, mainly due to the prices.
I think a 20% price drop during winter months or some offers/promotions would appease locals and get some people through the door at a time when local businesses can struggle.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stillhungry73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    66
    37
    35
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A change for good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

The food is absolutely beautiful, the pulled pork burger being my favourite on the current menu. Excited to see the change that comes with the seasons. A million times better than the food that was served here before.

Service was great, the staff were very attentive and made sure we had everything we needed.

The prices of the food are very reasonable for the quality. Portion size wasn't an issue for us, we were very satisfied with what we were given. Will be eating here regularly!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beanzz93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah B, Public Relations Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we're so glad that you enjoyed dining here. We'll be launching our loyalty card very soon so be sure to keep an eye out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

There is a great children's play fort in the enclosed garden. We had a 2 year old and an eight year old with us so it was a good incentive to stop. The pub itself is newly refurbished and has a good feel, modernised classic and warm. My only concern was that the interior wasn't as child friendly and the play centre suggested, the staff were really welcoming and helpful

Most importantly the food was wonderful and we are looking forward to going back again in a few months

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mountberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Having visited on two occasions since the new opening I can not fault it. The décor is very relaxing, but more importantly the food is absolutely fantastic. The service is second to none and we were treated with warmth and friendliness. Will definitely be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ned7691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic experiance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

fantastic food, ambiance, service and the venison was beautiful! Now that the menu is changing 4 times a year I defiantly will be going back more! Looking forward to it! It's great value for money and brilliant atmosphere..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Inn also viewed

Perranporth, Cornwall
 

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing