We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, cosy and familiar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St George's Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Perranporth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at the St Georges Country Hotel for one night while walking the South-west coast path. Two lovely, friendly and talkative ladies run the establishment, a large and rambling house a few minutes outside central Perranporth. We arrived in the afternoon after a rainy and rather grim walk, and immediately felt at home. The rooms were large, the bed comfy (important after a day's walk!) and the food excellent. We had dinner cooked by Sharon at the hotel, and it was really enjoyable. The breakfast was the best we had for our whole trip, including fresh fruit and berries and homebaked bread. There is a large "livingroom" with a fully stocked bar, and the house owerflows with quaint (collector's?) things, musical instruments and books. This was the one place where we would have wanted to stay longer if our itinerary had allowed it. I highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrixieMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 253 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

Sharon and Sue run a first class establishment, friendly, pleasant, helpful - the list goes on. We needed a place close to the SWCP and it is - but so much more. Bedrooms though a bit on the small side were spotless and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and would love to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerC190735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Sharon and Susan are the perfect hosts. Their house is extremely comfortable with large rooms decorated very tastefully. Bed was king size plus which was a delight after a day of walking on the Coastal Path. However, the best was yet to come with their home cooking. To start with they have a fully stocked bar where we enjoyed an aperitif then we had scallops with chorizo followed by a chocolate fondue. Absolutely fantastic. Breakfast was just as good. We definitely expect to return.

Room Tip: Room 3 had the very big comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliveandGillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St George's Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We so enjoyed meeting you and look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Situated close to Perranporth, we chose the St. Georges for our trip to Cornwall. It is situated at a country road, so it is easy to find, and parking is provided. Unfortunately, the country road is also a bit of a draw-back, normally I like to walk our dog out of the place we are in, but the cars are driving by with full speed and there is no pedestrian walk way, so at busy times it takes a bit of nerves to start there. However, for dog-owners the reasonable thing to do is anyway to head down to the beach – a two minutes drive. Sharon took me down on our second morning and we walked the dogs together – wonderful. Also, during the night time the traffic subsides to zero, so there are no noise issues – I am normally a light sleeper, but did not have any problems.

The rooms were clean and nicely decorated and of good standard. Our room had a very small bathroom, which made maneuvering around the basin area difficult, however, there was ample space in the shower itself, and it was a good, strong shower, ideal when you are frozen from a day out in the cold.

Breakfast left nothing to desire, with Sharon being an excellent Chef, which she really put on display with the evening meals she prepared for us – we opted to eat at the hotel and a good decision it was. That we are vegetarians never posed a problem, Sharon easily was up for the challenge. What I was missing a bit, though, was a bistro menu. We discussed dinner and all extra wishes (e.g. a cheese platter on the first evening) were eagerly fulfilled, but normally I like to have some sort of menu to be inspired by it – especially since there was a drinks menu. The Bistro rooms were very nice and also tastefully decorated.

As dog owners, we were fully welcome. No wonder since Sharon has a puppy of her own. So our Shina never was a problem in any situation.

Overall it was a stay which we keep in good memory and if we return to the area, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralf F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a lovely country hotel, just outside Perranporth but within very easy reach of Coastal Path - which was our main reason for initially selecting this accommodation. Everything about the place says quality, from the understated but yet classy decor to the amazing breakfasts. We were so impressed that we had planned to return for an additional night's stay at the end of our walk, however, due to a change of plan this was not possible but we would definitely return to stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

A wonderful welcome and marvellous food. A week of rest and relaxation with good friends. The hotel accommodated all our requirements, nothing was too much trouble. A truly delightful find, a home away from home.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We got to the hotel at about 3.30pm, as we were walking. I know this is a bit early to check in but the room was really cold and we had to ask for the heating to come on, also there was no toilet roll. We were told we had booked for dinner although we hadn't so felt a bit obliged to eat there, but having said that what we ate was excellent quality. The bathroom was the best thing about our room - a great spa bath!
The location is out of Perranporth so it wouldn't be easy to walk into the village.
In summary, I think the welcome could have been friendlier and the room preparation better, everywhere could have been warmer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St George's Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

We are so sorry that we disappointed you. We can only apologise for the lack of heating in the house at the time of your arrival, which, by the way, was not an early check-in (we are very flexible here on check-in times!!). We were having great trouble with our boiler/heating system but were trying hard to rectify this with heaters in rooms and log burning stoves in the bar and sitting room until our plumbers could find the problem. We don't quite understand why you felt obliged to eat in but happy that you enjoyed the meal (a lovely home made steak and ale pie, as I remember) We always ask walkers if they would like to eat in. After a long day on the coastal path they are generally relieved that they don't have to take another step other than those to a hot shower, a drink in the bar and a tasty home-cooked meal. It is not our way to make people feel that they have to oblige and we are sorry if you did. The loo roll was an annoying oversight .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perranporth
1.7 mi away
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
5.8 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
3 mi away
Beacon Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
457 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
2.3 mi away
St. Agnes Hotel
St. Agnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in St Agnes
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St George's Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St George's Country House Hotel

Address: St. Georges Hill, Perranporth TR6 0ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Perranporth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Perranporth
Price Range: $131 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St George's Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St George's Country House Hotel is a small B&B located in top of the hill overlooking Perranporth and the countryside. We have wonderful panoramic views and the Southwest Coastal Path is just a hop away. We offer a full English Breakfast. We also offer home cooked dinner for travellers who wish to dine in. All the rooms are en suite and have free wifi. We have a full bar and lounge with comfortable seating. Our holiday cottage ' The Shed out Back' is a new one bed cottage which sleeps 2 adults. It can be rented for a minimum of 3 nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your St George's Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Country Perranporth
Hotel St Georges Country
St George's Country House Hotel Perranporth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing