We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St George's Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Perranporth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2013

A wonderful welcome and marvellous food. A week of rest and relaxation with good friends. The hotel accommodated all our requirements, nothing was too much trouble. A truly delightful find, a home away from home.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 254 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

We got to the hotel at about 3.30pm, as we were walking. I know this is a bit early to check in but the room was really cold and we had to ask for the heating to come on, also there was no toilet roll. We were told we had booked for dinner although we hadn't so felt a bit obliged to eat there, but having said that what we ate was excellent quality. The bathroom was the best thing about our room - a great spa bath!
The location is out of Perranporth so it wouldn't be easy to walk into the village.
In summary, I think the welcome could have been friendlier and the room preparation better, everywhere could have been warmer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St George's Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

We are so sorry that we disappointed you. We can only apologise for the lack of heating in the house at the time of your arrival, which, by the way, was not an early check-in (we are very flexible here on check-in times!!). We were having great trouble with our boiler/heating system but were trying hard to rectify this with heaters in rooms and log burning stoves in the bar and sitting room until our plumbers could find the problem. We don't quite understand why you felt obliged to eat in but happy that you enjoyed the meal (a lovely home made steak and ale pie, as I remember) We always ask walkers if they would like to eat in. After a long day on the coastal path they are generally relieved that they don't have to take another step other than those to a hot shower, a drink in the bar and a tasty home-cooked meal. It is not our way to make people feel that they have to oblige and we are sorry if you did. The loo roll was an annoying oversight .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

There are not many places where I have felt so comfortable from the moment of arrival. Great hotel, good location out of the town but with views of the beatutiful countryside, plenty of parking spaces but, above all, great hostess's. St Georges is people and dog friendly, comfortable rooms, really good well priced wine list and last but not least -those home cooked meals in the evening.........perfect! Our group of ten voted the Fish pie and bread and butter pudding our favourite, food to dream of! We were there for nine nights and ate in for seven of them- the food was that good! Roomy comfortable lounge and bar area. Cosy and homely are good words to describe the atmosphere. Thank you ladies for a wonderful stay and for the glorious Cornish weather for our costal walking holiday.

Room Tip: We had a small room which had a very large bathroom with a whirlpool bath! ( Room 5) This was very p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St George's Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

We really enjoyed having your group with us for your nine day walking tour. It was great to cook each evening for such hungry and appreciative guests. People like you make our job fun. Thank you for all your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

we had a wonderful time in this comfortable and dog friendly guest house run by two delightful hostesses who between them produce great food (good little wine list also much appreciated). Made the holiday special.

Room Tip: Ask for the one with the bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had a great time at St Georges Country House with magnificent views and a big welcome. It was in every respect a home from home holiday. To cap it off we were treated to a musical soiree with Sue on guitar, her daughter on vocals and a chorus of presseco drinking ladies.


Thankyou very much Sharron and Sue (Great food Shaz)



Marilyn Alberts

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just a bit off the beaten track you will find this quaint and cozy B&B. It's located very conveniently along the Cornish coastal path not too far from the town of Perranporth. We arrived late on a Friday evening to a wonderful, home-cooked meal (and a well-stocked bar!). Loved Sharon's fish pie! Every morning we enjoyed excellent full-English breakfast. I had never had such great breakfasts in a British B&B before - with fresh fruit, cereal, home-made toast as well as an opulent choice of hot foods. Sue and Sharon's warm hospitality was examplary: always there but never imposing! Needless to say that the place is spick an span. This is true for the rooms, bathrooms and the lounge, which btw has a nice, working fire-place. We chose this place because of its location along the coastal path and also within reasonable driving distance to many attractions in Cornwall (Tintagel, St. Michael's Mount, Lanhydrock, Padstow, St. Ives, etc.). If there is a drawback, it would probably be the size of the en-suite bathrooms. They are really small. Still, we plan on staying there again during our next visit. Great choice for us!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tea4Five
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St George's Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely to meet you all and we hope to be able to welcome you again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We found the owners Sharon and Sue very friendly and helpful, loved The homely feel of the place and adored the 12 week old puppy Jess. Will most defiantly stay there every time from now, especially as Sharon's breakfast was to die for.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perranporth
5.8 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
5.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,438 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
2 mi away
Red Fox Barn
Red Fox Barn
#2 of 10 in Perranporth
70 reviews
1.8 mi away
Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St George's Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St George's Country House Hotel

Address: St. Georges Hill, Perranporth TR6 0ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Perranporth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Perranporth
Price Range: $133 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St George's Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St George's Country House Hotel is a small and cosy hotel. We have wonderful panoramic views of the countryside and the Southwest Coastal Path is just a hop away. The hotel has undergone extensive refurbishment and is decorated in a fresh contemporary style. All rooms are en suite and have free wifi. There is free onsite parking for all our guests. Our holiday cottage ' The Shed out Back' is a one bed cottage which sleeps 2 adults. It can be rented for a minimum of 3 nights. Bear in mind that you will always achieve the best price and room selection by booking directly with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your St George's Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Country Perranporth
Hotel St Georges Country
St George's Country House Hotel Perranporth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing