We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Holiday Home from Home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St George's Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Perranporth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks, Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A Holiday Home from Home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

There are not many places where I have felt so comfortable from the moment of arrival. Great hotel, good location out of the town but with views of the beatutiful countryside, plenty of parking spaces but, above all, great hostess's. St Georges is people and dog friendly, comfortable rooms, really good well priced wine list and last but not least -those home cooked meals in the evening.........perfect! Our group of ten voted the Fish pie and bread and butter pudding our favourite, food to dream of! We were there for nine nights and ate in for seven of them- the food was that good! Roomy comfortable lounge and bar area. Cosy and homely are good words to describe the atmosphere. Thank you ladies for a wonderful stay and for the glorious Cornish weather for our costal walking holiday.

Room Tip: We had a small room which had a very large bathroom with a whirlpool bath! ( Room 5) This was very p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St George's Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We really enjoyed having your group with us for your nine day walking tour. It was great to cook each evening for such hungry and appreciative guests. People like you make our job fun. Thank you for all your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    42
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
49
111
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eynsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

we had a wonderful time in this comfortable and dog friendly guest house run by two delightful hostesses who between them produce great food (good little wine list also much appreciated). Made the holiday special.

Room Tip: Ask for the one with the bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had a great time at St Georges Country House with magnificent views and a big welcome. It was in every respect a home from home holiday. To cap it off we were treated to a musical soiree with Sue on guitar, her daughter on vocals and a chorus of presseco drinking ladies.


Thankyou very much Sharron and Sue (Great food Shaz)



Marilyn Alberts

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just a bit off the beaten track you will find this quaint and cozy B&B. It's located very conveniently along the Cornish coastal path not too far from the town of Perranporth. We arrived late on a Friday evening to a wonderful, home-cooked meal (and a well-stocked bar!). Loved Sharon's fish pie! Every morning we enjoyed excellent full-English breakfast. I had never had such great breakfasts in a British B&B before - with fresh fruit, cereal, home-made toast as well as an opulent choice of hot foods. Sue and Sharon's warm hospitality was examplary: always there but never imposing! Needless to say that the place is spick an span. This is true for the rooms, bathrooms and the lounge, which btw has a nice, working fire-place. We chose this place because of its location along the coastal path and also within reasonable driving distance to many attractions in Cornwall (Tintagel, St. Michael's Mount, Lanhydrock, Padstow, St. Ives, etc.). If there is a drawback, it would probably be the size of the en-suite bathrooms. They are really small. Still, we plan on staying there again during our next visit. Great choice for us!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tea4Five
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgeCornwall, Owner at St George's Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely to meet you all and we hope to be able to welcome you again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We found the owners Sharon and Sue very friendly and helpful, loved The homely feel of the place and adored the 12 week old puppy Jess. Will most defiantly stay there every time from now, especially as Sharon's breakfast was to die for.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was the second time we visited this hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Close to the beach at Perranporth this provided the ideal stop over as we toured the northern part of Cornwall. Sharon and Sue, the owners are most welcoming and always checking to ensure things are right. We have a dog that we took with us and the beach made a wonderful play area for her in the evening. The Breakfast was amazing. A Full English with sausages to savor, Homemade Bread with the taste of fennel and warm butter.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We've just spent 4 wonderful days at the St Georges Country Hotel. If you want a small, family run, relaxed, very welcoming place to stay in Perranporth, then this is it. Sue and Sharon who run the hotel are fantastic hosts. The hotel is lovely, rooms very comfortable and up-to-date, and the food is heavenly. Its a really relaxed atmosphere at this hotel and nothing is too much trouble. I would thoroughly recommend - in fact this is our second stay and we will be going back again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaroCBou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perranporth
2.0 mi away
The Driftwood Spars B & B
6.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.8 mi away
Beacon Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
St. Agnes Hotel
St. Agnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in St Agnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St George's Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St George's Country House Hotel

Property: St George's Country House Hotel
Address: St George's Hill, Perranporth TR6 0ED , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Perranporth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Perranporth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St George's Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St George's Country House Hotel is a small B&B located in top of the hill overlooking Perranporth and the countryside. We have wonderful panoramic views and the Southwest Coastal Path is just a hop away. We offer a full English Breakfast. We also offer home cooked dinner for travellers who wish to dine in. All the rooms are en suite and have free wifi. We have a full bar and lounge with comfortable seating. Our holiday cottage ' The Shed out Back' is a new one bed cottage which sleeps 2 adults. It can be rented for a minimum of 3 nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your St George's Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Country Perranporth
Hotel St Georges Country
St George's Country House Hotel Perranporth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing