We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary made very special in the same honeymoon hotel 40 years on.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St George's Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St George's Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Perranporth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Anniversary made very special in the same honeymoon hotel 40 years on.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

On our arrival we were toasted with champaigne as it was our 40th anniversary and made very welcome in a hotel with a really relaxed and great family atmosphere by Sue and Sharon who knew their job and the area very well. They had loads advice about where to visit during our stay. The meals were delicious. The room was great with nice en suite. Definetley recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TopTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    42
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
49
110
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wien
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed at St Georges Country Hotel in the beginning of May for one week. The stay was very relaxing and we felt like at home away from home. The hotel is beautifully decorated, with a very personal touch. Also, the food is great. It is also a great place for children. The location is ideal for exploring Cornwall, most attractions can be reached within a 40 min drive. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerAUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

This couldn't have been a better place to stay, close to newquay, and our relatives in Cubert. Room was the best, breakfast great, Molly perfect. Bathroom may have been tight but clean, new and lovely. Patty and John Ellis, Fort Bragg, California

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pnjls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

We arrived late, our son had been car sick but the landlady was extremely helpful and laundered his clothes for us. The room was spacious, comfortable and a lovely view. We were at a wedding so didn't have an evening meal, but the breakfasts were tasty and satisfying. They were very child-friendly, with books, toys and games in the bar and musical instruments in the lounge. It was a short distance from Perranporth, so quite convenient too. I can't really understand other negative reviews of this place, we found it friendly, comfortable and very welcoming, and would happily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NandPMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

We found the owners very welcoming. The breakfasts were beautifully cooked with, when we were there, eggs from the owners own hens.
Also on hand for beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank montereymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

...and home's not bad!! All 4 of us had the perfect stay - the beds were extremely comfortable, the food was delicious and the service was exemplary. From the moment we arrived, we felt welcome and at home (so much so that we booked an extra night within a few hours of our arrival!). Our 2 boys, aged 9 & 7, absolutely loved the place and keep asking when we are going to return! Mollie, the lovely collie, is a very well-trained dog and brilliant for our slightly dog-phobic children! By the end of the 5-day stay, they were both stroking her happily and one was even happy to be left alone with her - unheard of!. The proprietors, Sue and Sharon, are extremely competent and hospitable - nothing was too much trouble for them. They anticipated our needs and were brilliant with the kids. The ground coffee and cafetiere provided in the bedroom far surpassed the normal 'instant'! The Hog's Pudding and homemade muesli for breakfast were particularly good and Sharon's lasagne was "to die for"! A top find - and we plan to return!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kingstonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westernaus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

We recently stayed here to attend a wonderful wedding. From the minute we arrived we were stunned by the amazing position the hotel sits in. You can easily get to the wonderful beach of Perranporth or the more picturesque St Agnes. The welcome from Sue and Sharon was warm and friendly which was echoed throughout our stay. The bathrooms especially are gorgeous. I thoroughly recommend this hotel, and next time I will be bringing my daughter as I noted that other guests who brought their children were also warmly welcomed and well accomodated for. Thanks again Sharon and Sue for such a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank love-food-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perranporth
1.7 mi away
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
St. Agnes Hotel
St. Agnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in St Agnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Driftwood Spars B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
2.8 mi away
Beacon Country House Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St George's Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St George's Country House Hotel

Property: St George's Country House Hotel
Address: St George's Hill, Perranporth TR6 0ED , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Perranporth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Perranporth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St George's Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St George's Country House Hotel is a small B&B located in top of the hill overlooking Perranporth and the countryside. We have wonderful panoramic views and the Southwest Coastal Path is just a hop away. We offer a full English Breakfast. We also offer home cooked dinner for travellers who wish to dine in. All the rooms are en suite and have free wifi. We have a full bar and lounge with comfortable seating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your St George's Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Country Perranporth
Hotel St Georges Country
St George's Country House Hotel Perranporth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing