We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool beach bar to hang out in!,” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Watering Hole

The Watering Hole
Ranked #4 of 40 Restaurants in Perranporth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cool beach bar to hang out in!,”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I love this place. Great view and great atmosphere. The Sunday roast was a little over normal pub prices at £9.64 but no more than you would expect for where it is. There was plenty of it ( cos you can help yourself and load it up as high as you like), very tasty and plenty hot enough, compared to some buffets which notoriously go cold very quickly. The wine is a bit pricey, agreed, but I will still be back.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1963sm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    300
    111
    48
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We are regulars to Perranporth (3 visits in the last 12 months) and we always seem to end up in the Watering Hole at least a couple times a visit. The food is a mixture of normal pub fare and some great seafood. The lunchtime menu als has a great selection which the kids loved. The staff are always friendly with a real layed back atmosphere even in the height of summer. We will be back this Easter again....and the summer....and probably autumn half term.....

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DJThatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merriott, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great in all seasons”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Watering Hole I believe is unique in being the only bar situated literally on the beach. I have been in winter and summer now and both times were excellent. The view alone makes it somewhere worth visiting. The staff have always been friendly and helpful plus the prices are reasonable - I have seen not so nice venues charge a lot more for drinks just because the view is good. The breakfast is very tasty and perfect for warming you up on a winters day. I wish I lived nearer as would love to use it for the venue for my birthday meal-out.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LoopyLou1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“With a view that good, nothing else matters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had a view drinks here - couple more than anticipated, but view was too good to leave behind - and would love to go back. Amazing location, right on the beach with incredible sunset views. Drink prices were acceptable (have seen far steeper in locations alike) and food good value. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

brilliant bar great spot! If you want a drink at sunset theres no better place to see it! only problem I found was the toilets were not the best but thats understandable as the whole beach uses them and food was expensive.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanbels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Watering Hole also viewed

 
Perranporth, Cornwall
Perranporth, Cornwall
 

Been to The Watering Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing