We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Italian food”
Review of Del Mar

Del Mar
Ranked #20 of 42 Restaurants in Perranporth
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Herts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fab Italian food”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

We have been many times to this family run Italian and have never been disappointed. Fresh fish is always on the menu as well as juicy steaks and their home made pizzas. It's a must when we are in Perran.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna37X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    68
    37
    21
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Pizza For A Tenner EVER”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Fantastic restaurant offering some of the best Italian food available for a great price. Pizza's to die for and lovely staff

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jojo187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a disappointment!!!!”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Because the restaurant always looked full we decided that it must be good but we were so disappointed with our experience. We started with a lovely waitress serving us our drinks outside whilst we looked at the menus. When we went inside to our pre booked table it wasn't set - this wasn't rectified until the starters came out. Things went downhill from here. The rudest woman we have ever had the misfortune to meet (who was the owner and was certainly not Italian!!!) came to take our order. She was totally unaccommodating and unwilling to make any changes to the dishes on the menu. At one point she was almost belittling us, sneering as she said that the £30 lobster came with no potatoes or vegetables it was LOBSTER! Did we not know that lobster was expensive!?!? Any minor requested seemed to be ignored eg. No lemon (I have an allergy to this), there was no cheese on the cheesy garlic bread etc.
Perhaps the chefs are Italian but the atmosphere was certainly not. Noticeably in the oriental computerised music on a loop system which obviously appealed to the owner.
There wasn't a vegetable in sight when our plates arrived. Don't expect anything more than three Tiny potatoes with your rack of lamb that costs over £15.
There was One lovely waitress who did her utmost to remedy things but she had only been there two weeks and I don't expect that she will last more than two weeks longer as she is too nice.
At the end of the meal we noticed there was quite a commotion. The 'lovely' owner was snapping at a poor woman who was trying to pay on her card but it was failing. The poor woman was forced to send out her husband to the nearest ATM whilst she, who was in tears at this stage, along with her very young children, were held at ransom. It then came to light that there was a problem with the card machine - no apology was made to this poor woman! All diners were then told they would have to walk to the the nearest ATM and pay by cash. Issues like this do occur with technology but the way that they are dealt with is down to human understanding and there seemed to be a total lack of it in this case. One man, who appeared at this stage, seemed to have been deployed to prevent anyone exiting the restaurant without proof of payment.
We will never return whilst this regimen exists!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandraClaireG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Ate here whilst on holiday with family. The food exceeded our expectations and was bursting with flavour. Staff pleasant. Just one little gripe is that they are reluctant to modify any dishes according to customer requests. We asked for garlic pizza, half plain for my son and half with cheese for my husband but they would not do it even though the restaurant was only half full. Would go back again despite this.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vatk2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A truly enjoyable evening”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We ate out on the last night of our Perranporth holiday at Del Mar, we were seated towards the back of the restaurant near the kitchen and could hear the authentic yells of the Chef cooking. The Bruschetta had ripe and tasty tomatoes a good helping of garlic and crunchy bread soaked in olive oil. The cured beef with spinach had fresh crisp leaf and tasty cured beef but needed a good dressing to add to the flavour. The mustard sauce that was stated in the menu seemed to be missing. My garlic pizza bread had a wonderful crisp but soft dough and covered in a healthy portion if oil and garlic. The arrabiata penne had a deep rich tomato sauce with a hint of chilli and with the odd sliced red and green chilli. The special of veal chop with a white wine and rosemary sauce was tender tasty and not at all dry. The roast potatoes that came with it had a pleasing outer crust and soft inside. The lamb shank with roasted potatoes and carrots in a red wine sauce was delicious the lamb was lovely, tender and fell off the bone. My vegetarian lasagne which was perfectly portioned, contained courgettes, carrots, celery and onion and a lovely béchamel sauce which was creamy and thick, which was all topped of with stringy mozzarella. The special of scallop and tiger prawn linguine came with a fresh zingy tomato and chilli sauce that was delightful. For the desserts I had a cheesecake with strawberry coulis which was soft and sweet with a tang. The poached pears came in a rich sweet red wine liquor and a sensational mandarin sorbet. The large helping of mango sorbet was sticky and sweet; delicious! All in all a well prepared and thought out cuisine with an Italian authenticity throughout the dishes, pretty good value for £150 for five including a bottle of wine and some coffee's. Rated 5 in terms of value for money. Worth a try if you're Perranporth.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ProfBobUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Del Mar also viewed

 
Perranporth, Cornwall
 

Been to Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing