We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another happy stay, highly recommended”

Review of Barn Coombe

Barn Coombe Cornish Stone Apartment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Barn Coombe Cornish Stone Apartment
Perranporth Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Barn Coombe Cornish Stone Apartment
Perranporth Beach
Lounge Area
Kitchen area
Dining Area
Bathroom
Entrance lobby
Staircase
Driveway to the property
View across Penwartha Coombe valley
Beautiful countryside walk from the property
Valley walk leading to the Bolingey Inn and Perranporth
The charming 17th century Bolingey Inn a short walk from the property
Enjoy sunsets from the Watering Hole pub on the beach
Perranporth beach from Penhale end
Chapel Rock on Perranporth beach at sunset
Perranporth Beach at High Tide
One of many coastal walks in the Perranporth area
View of the beach & Watering Hole from Droskyn Point
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Perranporth, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Richard S
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Another happy stay, highly recommended”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was our third stay at Barn Coombe, so it will be no surprise that we like the place. We visited as a family with our dog. The accommodation is quite small, but was still quite sufficient for the four of us. Jeanne was a lovely host as usual. The Wifi seems to have improved so it's now available through nearly all the house, and a few other items have been renewed to keep the place looking fresh.
The location is great, out in the middle of the countryside. Perranporth is walkable, but we normally took the car as we tended to have lots of beach gear. There are lots of nice places to eat nearby, or you can bring your own DVDs to watch if you prefer. We had another very happy stay and will look forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dottie102
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing home from home”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The owners met us on arrival with a warm and welcoming greeting. The property was within easy reach of Cornwalls popular beaches and amenities. A charming clean and relaxing home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quite
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielJai...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Joy to Stay - Peaceful Setting and Close to Amenities”
Reviewed June 25, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a great stay in Barn Coombe with our 2 year old dog. The owners are very welcoming and friendly, and the property was very modern, clean and cozy. There is a large garden for the dog to have a good run, and the owners are very dog-friendly. Set in the countryside, it's very peaceful and quiet, but still not too far from local amenities. You can get to Perranporth Beach on foot. Only takes half an hour. Plus there is a nice pub halfway through the walk if you want to stop for a drink!
Would highly recommend and would love to stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte...
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“A comfy and welcoming home from home,”
Reviewed June 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Barn Coombe. Our children are 5 and 2 and even though it was a one bedroom cottage, it was ideal that they had pull out beds (of a very generous size) in the kitchen/lounge area and still plenty of room for our youngest ones travel cot. The walk to the beach was lovely and we even managed it there and back with both children walking. Jeanne and Nick are very welcoming and we would definitely stay here again and highly recommend Barn Coombe to couples or young families looking for a more peaceful country break.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2015
Thank you very much for leaving a review. It's much appreciated and I'm pleased you enjoyed your holiday at Barn Coombe. Best wishes, Jeanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ang6550
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very comfortable cottage, suitable for dogs and central to travelling around Cornwall.”
Reviewed May 18, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Excellent service - cottage clean and tidy and very comfortable.
Good position for travelling around Cornwall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort
Liked least: Garden wasn't secure so I couldn't let the dogs out without them being on a lead.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2015
Thank you very much for leaving a review. It's very much appreciated and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Barn Coombe.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jode26
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place - very welcoming.”
Reviewed November 20, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I and our (rather large) Saint Bernard dog had a lovely four night stay at Barn Coombe. All 3 of us were very welcomed and made to feel very relaxed. The accomodation is perfect for a quiet break, situated just outside Perranporth the walks are fantastic and there are plenty of friendly pubs on route! Would defintely recommend to others for a little break away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How cosy the cottage was.
Liked least: Probably the only thing I can think of - the view is slightly dissapointing but you cannot have it all!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rofcarl
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“a peaceful cornish retreat”
Reviewed September 23, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My mother booked this apartment for a week about 3 weeks ago for my partner and I. We fell in love with the sereness of the location and the friendliness of the Baarsches. We had a great time in Perranporth, Newquay, Eden project, lost gardens of Helligan and the bedruthan steps, all within easy reach from the cottage (by car). It was the super moon during our stay which made it even more magical.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing