We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cheap break in superb location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

This was our first caravan holiday so we went with an open mind. We had a brilliant stay, there are good facilities for kids and although it's a steep hike, the beach is beautiful.

The caravan (standard 3 bed) was ok, given the time of year it was very cold at night so layers of clothing for the kids were needed. A good range of kitchen utensils and crockery, a TV, fridge, microwave, oven and hob. It was really handy having the extra bedroom to stick the suitcases etc in out of the way, otherwise I feel we may have been a bit cluttered.

Overall the caravan was perfectly comfortable.

The site staff were friendly enough but service was a bit slow on check in, we needed a bed removing from the kids room to make way for the travel cot. We were told this would be done for us before we arrived but we ended up doing it ourselves as 4 hours after arrival it was still not done, we were also sent around the houses a bit to get a rental bed guard but these were minor irritants rather than a big issue.

We went to a craft morning at the club house, there was a good range of craft materials to make anything you liked, pipe cleaners, tissue paper, scissors, glue, googly eyes etc but not a lot of staff supervision or direction to inspire any ideas, although it was still pretty fun.

The pool was clean enough and there were slides for the older kids.

This was exceptional value, we had a groupon offer but to book online at normal price only turned out £10 dearer. I would definately go back but would probably take a couple of electric heaters!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkiBunny2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerranSands, Manager at Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your past holiday at Perran Sands.
We appreciate all our feedback, although we may not have responded personally, all your comments were passed on to the relevant teams in the hope of improving your holiday experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,547 - 1,553 of 1,790 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

we have been to this park now for the last 5 years and it fails to disappoint.
loads to do on site , kids stuff going on all day long. caravans are of good quality.you dont need to stay in a luxury plus van as the cheaper ones are more than adequate. onsite eating a bit expensive , just go down the road to perranporth for a better value meal.
views over holywell bay / perranporth beach fantastic - only 5mins walk from our van !!
check-in not best organised (you queue up in the evening lounge along with 100"s of others ) but this is to be expected as a massive and popular park. 20mins wait and you"ve got your keys then enjoy the park.lots to do around area as well.

Room Tip: dont pay over the odds for a top-of-the-range van , the cheaper ones are adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dave k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerranSands, Manager at Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your past holiday at Perran Sands.
We appreciate all our feedback, although we may not have responded personally, all your comments were passed on to the relevant teams in the hope of improving your holiday experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have just returned from Perran Sands having spent a long weekend there with our son and daughter-in-law and Grandchildren on the last weekend of the season there .... the park is now closed I believe until March 2013.
Our son and daughter- in- law applied to the daily UK Sun newspaper for the yearly money off coupons to give them a bargain priced winter weekend break away.
We decided to book a caravan and join them ( with their permission of course !) - no coupons however because we hadn't collected any, so we booked via the internet.
The park is lovely ! Lot's of things for the children to do , and although quite expensive in the amusements arcade the benefits outweigh the cost just for a short break ...However it may prove too costly in high season and for longer stays when the weather is inclement and too wet to get out and about as is the norm in recent years in the UK !
Having said this there is a swimming pool , we didn't get a chance to pop in but it is all included in the price so is an economical option to the arcade if you can persuade the children away from the lure of just another £1 in the machine to win the teddy !
Our family stayed in a chalet , it was clean and comfortable and for what they paid with the help of the coupons it was very good value , even for this time of year and the facilities were good for self catering .A well stocked large shop helped too !
We opted for a caravan , we have stayed at many sites in winter over the years and always found something we could have a little moan about ! ..........( justifiably i must add !! )
The caravan was lovely ! It was very very cold and rainy outside ,and although we had the radiators on in the bedroom and fire on in the lounge it was obviously going to be very chilly ! However the caravan was clean and well equipped , having a gas hob and oven ( YIPPPEEEEE !!!!) which performed exceptionally well and we managed to cook breakfast for the whole family in our caravan with no delays or cut off electricity due to having no change for the meter or the trip switch cuttin off the electric !!! ( gas and electric are included in the price ...which is a BIG bonus!)
In previous holiday parks we have visited over the years the cooking facilities have been worse than pathetic ,and the cookers have been sadly electric , sadly lacking in the OOMPH that is needed to cook a family meal on what is supposed to be a self catering holiday ! ( Saving money on eating out !) ....then just as you get the cooker to work the electric in the meter runs out ! Nothing makes me more mad than a useless cooker on a self catering holiday !! It's a no brainer really ,especially for young families that rely on being able to spread the finances .
The staff at Perran sands couldn't do enough to help us , even when i needed something urgently photocopied to send in the post ! I am so grateful for their help because it was something urgent that i had to deal with that couldn't wait until i got home .
I was very impressed with all of the staff ! ...from the supermarket ! to the reception ! to the bar and to the security staff also !They were all polite and enthusiastic and willing to help !
I was very reassured about the saftey of children on the site ( being a nana and a worrier !!!) when a young boy in the amusement arcade was seperated from his dad and was looking a little upset. I took him to the security officer who reassured him , and radioed another security officer who turned up in seconds ! The little boy was reunited with his dad in less than 5 minutes ! That for me says it all ! The children are as safe as they can be in this day and age and i give a massive thumbs up to Perran Sands for doing all that they can to ensure that the children staying on the site are as safe as possible! Notwithstanding the parent's responsibility to ensure they know of their childrens whereabouts at all times !! Enough said !
Big thumbs up Perran Sands !!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DisappointedBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerranSands, Manager at Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your past holiday at Perran Sands.
We appreciate all our feedback, although we may not have responded personally, all your comments were passed on to the relevant teams in the hope of improving your holiday experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the park within the last eleven months. We enjoyed the first trip so much that we booked up again. Excellent location, very spacious site and entertainment complex is close to all areas. It has improved further since our last visit and the welcome staff situated along the driveway are very good at directing people who do not know the way to check in. We ate at the onsite restaurant and Papa Johns and received a good service at both.

Only negative this time was that we did not have an allocated parking space even though we had Prestige accommodation in Holy Well Bay. If we did not get back early enough we did have to park far away from our accommodation. Can't complain for £200 for four nights though!

During our visit we went to Truro, Lizard Point, Cadgwith, Newquay, Eden Project, Port Issac and Perranporth.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BritB71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerranSands, Manager at Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your past holiday at Perran Sands.
We appreciate all our feedback, although we may not have responded personally, all your comments were passed on to the relevant teams in the hope of improving your holiday experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovely clean site great entertainment for the kids. Restaurant excellent value for money and surprisingly cheap. Shop is very overpriced and i would definitely avoid. Going back next year so you can't get a better recommendation than that.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharontony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerranSands, Manager at Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your past holiday at Perran Sands.
We appreciate all our feedback, although we may not have responded personally, all your comments were passed on to the relevant teams in the hope of improving your holiday experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We came on a sun newspaper holiday, did not upgrade & had the most amazing caravan, 3 bedrooms, heating in all rooms, plenty of space, very clean and well presented!! The whole site was just fantastic, loads for the children to do, the entertainment was very very good and we all enjoyed it!!! The indoor pool was adequate & my 6 & 8 year olds thought it was great!!
Loads to do on site and also plenty to do around the area.
Would strongly recommend Papa John's pizza on site, great quality delicious food that you can ring up & order and they will deliver direct to your caravan!!!!!
Can't wait to go again, we had a truley lovely holiday!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerranSands, Manager at Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your past holiday at Perran Sands.
We appreciate all our feedback, although we may not have responded personally, all your comments were passed on to the relevant teams in the hope of improving your holiday experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed for a week from 1st October 2012. Were only due to stay 4 nights but took advantage of the offer to extend from £25 per night, however when went to reception they reduced it to £19 per night!
Had a nice caravan, first time we have ever stayed in a 'standard' van. it was adequate for our purpose. No heating but we didnt expect it so took a fan heater with us which warmed the van quickly.
Also took advantage of the offers in the welcome pack, namely the entry to the seal sanctuary for £2 per person.
Our little boy (2 and a half) loved the kids entertainment of an evening, the entertainment team were great and appealed to adults as well a kids. bar prices remained reasonable and the park itself was spotless.

Overall a great place to stay and we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: dont extend your stay until you arrive so you can take advantage of the on site offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerranSands, Manager at Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your past holiday at Perran Sands.
We appreciate all our feedback, although we may not have responded personally, all your comments were passed on to the relevant teams in the hope of improving your holiday experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perranporth
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
958 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#21 of 37 in Newquay
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,423 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
4.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven

Address: Perranporth TR6 0AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Perranporth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Perranporth
Price Range: $58 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great for:• Surfing, sunbathing and picnicking• Uncrowded, relaxed atmosphere • Discovering nearby NewquayWith our large sandy beach and huge ocean waves, our surf school makes Perran Sands a great spot for surfing beginners. And if you’re a bit more experienced or just want to try another challenge then we’re just a few miles from Newquay and some of the best surfing beaches in the UK. We’ve got even more excitement for you to try on our park thanks to sporty facilities like our climbing wall, indoor and outdoor fun pools with a water flume and our adventure golf course. We’ve also got a great range of Safari Tents, Yurts and Geo Domes which are well worth checking out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perran Sands Holiday Park Hotel Perranporth
Perran Sands Holiday Park Perranporth
Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven Perranporth, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing