We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb service, huge portions, beautiful food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trewellard Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pendeen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trewellard Arms
Ranked #1 of 5 Pendeen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“superb service, huge portions, beautiful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We visited here 3 times during September 2013 and on each occasion we were made very welcome. The venue is informal and relaxed but also has seperate more formal restaurant area although menu is the same. Martin, the landlord is relaxed, chatty and friendly as are his lovely children Jess and Lucas. We understand wife and mum Jill is the chef but we didn't meet her! However we did taste her fabulous dishes. The usual pub stuff is on offer but added to which are many unusual daily specials. On the menu too was a stunning chicken and tarragon with pasta and chicken breasts wrapped in bacon and served with port, honey and currant sauce with four freshly cooked veg. Portions are huge, hot and freshly cooked, very highly recommended. A free house where the real ale on offer changes daily. Full of traditional charm with a modern slant. Can't wait to visit again soon! Thank yoy

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LC180660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    31
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
42
42
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

The pub was recommended by friends who live in the area. It has a very friendly,warm and welcoming atmosphere. There was plenty of room to sit outside if you chose to.There was a great variety of beers and a good choice of food which was freshly cooked and locally sourced.We went there several times and had a meal on one occasion.I had John Dory which was a new experience for me it was well cooked and very tasty although I was tempted to have the wild boar burger that my husband enjoyed,which I will leave until next time.We will definitely visit the pub again on our return to Cornwall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were staying just across the road and thought it would be silly not to go in! Great food - I had a lovely Hake with cheesy crust - and fab atmosphere. Friendly landlord and bar staff. Amazing selection of single malts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Funnybee75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Went here whilst on holiday in the area over the bank holiday weekend. Although the place was busy, the friendly barman soon pushed a couple of tables together to squeeze us in (5) We were promptly served with our food which was both very tasty and in giant portion sizes. I had the steak and ale pie which was clearly homemade and very rich and tasty. Bill for five including drinks was a very reasonable £67. Well recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevinperree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We ate here whilst staying down the road (literally!) in Pendeen. We hadn't eaten lunch and had walked about 15 miles, so we were starving! We were very lucky to get a table here. There is a generous specials board with lots of local fish dishes, and the service was fast and friendly. Some good real ales, too - it's a freehouse, which is always good to support.

Most of all, though, the host made us feel really welcome, with his genuinely friendly manner. Would certainly come here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsbach-Haehnlein, Germany
Level Contributor
180 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We happened to come across the restaurant on July 20, 2013. No chance to get a seat inside so we had to take the outside on a scorching day. Food was excellent with average waiting time - we helped us with some more lager

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dietmar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Really nice find this pub. The food we have had has been really good and the steak and ale pie is up there in joint second of best of the best. It's a real short rust pastry number full of chunks of steak. Really friendly staff and owners and can't wait u til Friday when their June beer festival starts :-)

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank paxasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pendeen
1.8 mi away
Cape Cornwall Golf & Leisure
4.9 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Land's End Hotel
The Land's End Hotel
#1 of 1 in Land's End
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
6.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wintara B&B
Wintara B&B
#1 of 1 in Botallack
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trewellard Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trewellard Arms

Property: Trewellard Arms
Address: Trewellard Road, Pendeen TR19 7TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Pendeen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Pendeen
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Trewellard Arms Hotel Pendeen
Trewellard Arms Pendeen, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing