We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great reasonable priced food”
Review of The North Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pendeen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The North Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Pendeen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sennen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great reasonable priced food”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Went for lunch, last Sunday. Ordered a roast pork and nut roast. Both served with AMAZING roasties and lots of freshly cooked veg. What impressed me, was my nut roast came with its own little jug of veggie gravy. What great attention to detail. Especially given I'm not a vegetarian but just fancied the nut roast as opposed to a meat meal!

Have eaten there 3 times now, and each time the food has been great! Looking forward to trying one of their homemade curries, which many have recommended!

They have a lovely outside garden, when the weather is right as well!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebell1074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    35
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
66
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston Upon Thames, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Here was an English pub as you remembered it ,all you needed in addition to the friendly locals was Dr Syntax in a corner reading his tour. A welcoming landlord John Coak ( do admire his braces ) plus a happy and welcoming staff. A good range of local beers.Enterprising John has built a set of bedrooms just to the rear of the pub including a well equipped disability room which was a great bonus for us. Good basic pub food plus a range of great curries which John designs and cooks himself. There are periodic curry nights with a wide range of dishes and you help yourself.Very splendid poppodoms! Very jolly affairs. Good English breakfast cooked and served by mine host. Plenty of parking in front of this granite hostelry. Cheerful village store up the road plus minute post office. Lovely garden with views to the sea. All this in the heart of the old tin mining area. St Just a couple of miles away has atmosphere.

Room Tip: Don't leave it too late!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith12348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbeeshyre
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We visit the North Inn every year when on holiday in Sennen. Its a lovely traditional pub. The curries are amazing , the staff are welcoming and friendly, and the menu is very reasonable, especially the kids meals. Consistently brilliant year on year.

Would recommend this pub to anybody. But if you are going in July next year please dont have the monkfish curry as some blighter had the last one when I went it this year and now i've got to wait another 12 months , still the Lamb curry I had instead was delicious ............

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsGrohl-Armstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stopped here for dinner and was amazed by the variety of curries on the menu. The food was excellent: freshly cooked, very generous and tasty. Good variety of drinks at the bar including some tasty local brews. The staff were friendly and welcoming and prices reasonable. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkpidgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Had a reasonable meal for 6 here on a Sunday evening. Popped in for a beer on Saturday to review the menu. Prices fair - good selection of curries which the locals loved (although I found the curries a tad expensive). Burgers, Fish and Chips and Pies were all ok. We were advised that this was the best all round pub for families compared to the the other 2 pubs.

Nice beer garden.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darrengreenhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lincs
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The North Inn is a local village pub, with no great airs and graces. It relies on its position on the main road through Pendeen, its hospitality and the food that comes out of the kitchen.
We have recently returned from a 2 week stay in Pendeen and ate at the North several times, eating home cooked food, prepared to order, and very much worth waiting for.
We sampled the pies, the curries, the gammon and the sausages, and could find no fault in anything. Delicious...
It was encouraging to see that not only the tourists, British & foreign, but also the large number of locals aeating and drinking there
Well recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_SNorthLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the North Inn for one night whilst walking the coastal footpath and found the landlord and staff very friendly. The accommodation is in a building at the rear of the Inn and was spacious and clean with both a bath and separate shower in our room which was designed to be disabled friendly. There was a pleasant balcony overlooking the garden. This pub specialises in curry, with a considerable choice on the menu, but we went for a more traditional 'scampi and chips' in the bar. Breakfast is served in an upstairs function room which is a bit like stepping back in time. It is just a short walk to Geevor tin mine which is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pendeen
2.3 mi away
Cape Cornwall Golf & Leisure
5.3 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
475 reviews
9.1 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Land's End Hotel
The Land's End Hotel
#1 of 1 in Land's End
490 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
52 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The North Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The North Inn

Property: The North Inn
Address: The Square, Pendeen TR19 7DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Pendeen
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Pendeen
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The North Inn Pendeen, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing