We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Review Highlights
Interesting and informative vidit

The last Cornish tin mine closed in 1990 and the geevor mine was a good example of life in tough... read more

Reviewed today
Vigilant2013
,
Brackley, United Kingdom
Interesting Place

We spent a good few hours walking around the tin mine. It was very interesting and informative... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Lorraine W
,
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Read all 1,193 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Pendeen
from $437.76
More Info
Reviews (1,193)
Filter reviews
1,193 results
Traveler rating
901
239
37
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
901
239
37
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the underground tour the hard rock mine shaft above ground hard hats wheal mexico dry room ex miner underground section cornish mining pastries self guided processing plant a real eye opener recent history industrial history real sense
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,193 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I liked this place very much, very educational and it is very much about the near past of the place as well. Nice shop and seaview cafe. I had very bad weather that day, if you go by bus on a day like that wear some outer trouser...the wind may be very strong and blows sideways... nice collection of books in the shop as well. Excellent.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank pidg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a good place to learn how livelihood was earned in old times, before globalisation killed the mining industri in this part of England. It is situated in the middle of the St Just Mining District but is the only mine and processing facility that is kept as it was when the mine closed. A walk around the grinding and extraction buildings is well worth the time. A shaft originally opened in the 18th century has been found in recent times and has now been reinforced and illuminated. It was called the Wheal Mexico Mine and is now open for an underground tour. Martin, who started to work in Geevor at the age of 15, was our friendly guide, many thanks to him!

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank gowask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a really good day here even though there was a heavy sea mist! Plenty to see and the cafe had fantastic Cornish pasties. The guides for the mine tour were really informative and helpful.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I loved the tour of the tin mine. We were on a tour, so we had a guide for the tour.

The history, the tour through the locker room, the processing building and a small portion of the underground mine was very well done and a lot of fun for me. As a civil engineer with interest in tunnels and mining processes, this was amazing.

On the other hand, my wife enjoyed the history but was not as enthralled with the rest of it.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank DHook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The underground tour is short and not very informative. Compared to the excellent underground slate mine tours in North Wales it is a waste of time.

It is expensive to go in for what you get.

Also not good to have dogs in the restaurant

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Geraint E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews