We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fascinating - mechanical history in action”

Levant Mine and Beam Engine
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Pendeen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Opened in 1820 and closed in 1930, Levant is one of Cornwall's most famous coastal mines where a good part of the mining operations took place far beneath the seabed.
ottawa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fascinating - mechanical history in action”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We wish we had a little more time to spend here, but as advertised, the steam engine was working that afternoon. Works very well with a visit to Geevor next door, and the view as you walk through the museum is spectacular.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ottawavoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    118
    27
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit on a wet day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

There's not a lot to see but it's ok if you have an interest in mining, which I do although my wife was less interested. The video was informative and the working steam powered beam engine was great. Great views of the Cornish coast.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Plenty to see, knowledgeable staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

A large site with a host of knowledgeable NT staff make visiting the Levant alive and human, providing a window on to an age which is quite alien to most of us. There are a good number of buildings in various states of repair affording many photographic opportunities, together with a clear view of neighbouring Geevor. The beam engine was in steam on the day we visited, fantastic to see, and to consider what a difference the advent of steam power made to what was considered viable to mine. Even the improvements made to the miner’s lot which today would be thought of as too dangerous and unpleasant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank EscapeMoreOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere in England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“I Only Know I Knew Nothing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I did not know much about tin mining in Cornwall before visting here. After going on the tour of the Levant mine I know a lot more. We had a excellent tour guide who explained everything you could possiply want to know in great detail. It was good to see the working engine as well, the whole tour around built up to this. You do not have to go on one of the tours but I think that if you walked around by yourself you would miss out on a lot as apart from the engine house it is mostly a ruin. There was a fair bit of walking, so beware of that if you are not the active type and and at one point you go into a short tunnel. One strange thing is that if you are German you get a map of the place, but there is nothing for the English. Fotunately I brought a native German with me so I have the map.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Purrinian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Take a guided tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Fascinating place and full of history, you can explore on your own but if possible take the guided tour as it expalins thing in much more detail and gives a great insight to the mine

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hello_Im_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Levant Mine and Beam Engine also viewed

 

Been to Levant Mine and Beam Engine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing