We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Penarwyn House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Par
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Penarwyn House
Ranked #10 of 17 Par B&B and Inns
Harxheim, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had the Treffry and Prideaux rooms for our stay and were absolutely delighted with the accommodation. Huge, airy rooms with every amenity possible. Bathrooms spotless, no shortage of toiletries and fluffy towels. Mike and Jan are the nicest hosts we have had the pleasure to meet during our travels. It was so nice to be welcomed with a pot of tea and home-made cake. Thank you also for all the recommendations, whether it be for day trips or places to dine. Mike was never short of a map and instructions to get you wherever you wanted to go. We'd love to return, so see you again next year!

Room Tip: Choose any room - they are all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britannia49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
71
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hants England
Level Contributor
133 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Mike and Jan provide a personalised service. Their aim is to ensure you have a nice stay and enjoy yourself. I wholly support the reviews that others have made for this establishment. The house is spotless and the breakfast nice. Mike and Jan are extremely flexible in helping you have a good stay. So to me it is the old story of 'if you want good service you have to pay for it'. This is the best B&B we have stayed in. The beds have high quality mattresses with a choice of soft or hard pillow.

Room Tip: All rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Resovoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

From arrival to coffee and cake through to departure the level of service was second to none - it's the extra, "above and beyond" details that make the difference and Mike and Jan provided that in spades! The room was superb (the bathroom was even better in reality than it looks on the website) and the breakfasts were as good as anything we'd had - and better than most by far! All nearby attractions such as the Eden Project, Heligan Gardens, Fowey or Lostwithiel are easy to reach and Mike's hints as to the best routes and parking were invaluable. Even the weather did its best and stayed dry! All in all a fantastic week's break, peaceful, enjoyable and rewarding.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penhouse, Owner at Penarwyn House, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to write a much appreciated review, we enjoyed your company and to see you wind down and relax. The weather did and has behaved itself since, we learn to take the weather forecasts with a pinch of salt as we are a narrow peninsula and it can be different from one coast to the other, I can remember on Sundays when I was a boy walking to the railway station in Truro. My father a fireman would phone the fire station at Newquay to see what it was like on the North coast and if cloudy we would catch the Falmouth train and have a good day on the beach there, it was 2d well spent .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful stay-all the extras hugely appreciated and the hosting was impeccable. The room and bath were huge and the breakfasts were huge and really tasty. All the food recommendations nearby were spot on. We felt like special guests and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairek2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penhouse, Owner at Penarwyn House, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Wow, that was quick, thank you Claire for your review you only left yesterday. It was a delight to meet you and hope you get the Treffry style bathroom in your home. We look forward to meeting you and your friends if you can bring them in the future
Many thanks
Mike & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed with my wife for a few nights in the Treffry suite in February 2013 and it was sensational. From the moment we arrived Mike and Jan were there to greet us and help us settle in with hot tea. Throughout the visit Mike took a great personal interest in both us and our visit and was able to provide a wealth of vital local knowledge to help us find the best roads to travel, the best spots to park and the best places to visit. The room was huge, excellently designed and spotlessly clean with a comfortable bed and a silent night's sleep followed by a fantastic breakfast from Jan each day.

The location is right in the heart of a host of local attractions, such as the Eden Project and was a really convenient base of operations which is well worth visiting and we would absolutely go there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penhouse, Owner at Penarwyn House, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We thank you for your delightful comments and the 5 star rating, the guest you shared the dining room with on your last morning was a hotel inspector with Visit Britain and she also gave us 5 Stars with a Gold, as well as a breakfast award, see her report on our website. We enjoyed your company and were pleased you were able to get so much done in each day. We hope all goes well with your new arrival and hope to see you again.
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review it makes such a difference to us
Mike & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marazion
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

At the last minute, my husband and I managed to get a few days away. We were very lucky at such short notice to get a room at this lovely B and B......so much better than a 5 star hotel as you are looked after so well.
The room was an excellent size, spotlessly clean and just lovely. It was good value and the service from our hosts was faultless.
Thank you, hopefully we will return. We will certainly reccomend you too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penhouse, Owner at Penarwyn House, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for coming to stay with us and taking the time in your busy life to write your review, as B/B owners yourselves your comments are most welcomed, we enjoyed sitting down with you and talking shop, it’s good to meet other owners and see that the enthusiasm we feel about our home and what we do is shared with others. We wish you a great season and are sure that with your positive attitude this will happen.
Warm regards
Mike & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here with a friend while we were walking a section of the South West Coast Path. It was a bit of an extra walk to get here from the coastal path but was worth it. Hard to know where to start - the rooms were very spacious (especially the Prideaux Room), it was quiet at night, the beds were very comfortable (I'm buying a mattress from their supplier), it was clean, there were lots of facilities, the shower was great, the toiletries and towels were lovely, the breakfast was really good and there was a lot of choice for the food. The thing that really struck me most about this place was their thoughtfulness, from the tour of the room and facilities to the fact that they had silent fridges in the rooms with cold water and fresh milk in them, and their warm welcome when we arrived (rather dirty and sweaty) and again at breakfast. And the lift to the train station in the morning even though it was in the middle of their breakfast session. And the value for money was very good - a bit more expensive than the average B&B but we got a lot for the money. It was a lovely end to our walk and I would love to go back here sometime.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James3838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penhouse, Owner at Penarwyn House, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you Sarah your comments are very welcome, you are not the first to ask for the suppliers details re the mattress. Yes we are more expensive than the average B&B but as your comments suggest we are not the average. We always try to make a stay with us memorable with our home and our welcome
Kind regards
Mike & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Par
1.4 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.2 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Trenython Manor
Trenython Manor
#1 of 1 in Par
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
3.3 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Inn
The Royal Inn
#2 of 17 in Par
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penarwyn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penarwyn House

Property: Penarwyn House
Address: Penarwyn House Pentour | St Blazey, Par, St Austell PL24 2DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Par
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Gold Star Luxury B\B In a large Victorian gentleman's residence. Free off road parking & wi fi, large luxurious rooms and en-suites with separate baths and walk in showers.Award winning Cornish breakfasts using local produce whenever possible. All served with a smile. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Penarwyn House Par, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing