We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Guest house”

Penarth Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Penarth Guest House
Ranked #5 of 17 Par B&B and Inns
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

What a find!

I visited Cornwall for a week as working in the area & stayed at the Penarth Guest House for 4 nights.

The Guest house was beautiful & owner fantastic! Spotlessly clean, beautifully furnished & very comfortable. My bed was lovely & power shower super! Breakfast was wonderful & cooked to my taste. I can highly recommend the Scrambled Eggs & bacon & rhubarb & ginger jam on thick sliced granary bread.

Secure,Ample Off road parking & a good fast WIFI was also very beneficial.

I Highly recommend. :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    5
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
55
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed once again with Mike, We had stayed earlier in May this year and as before great hospitality from Mike and his breakfast are fantastic they keep you going all day, lovely rooms and facilities would recommend to all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Spent two nights here last week. The accommodation is spotlessly clean and beautifully appointed. The bed was very comfortable in the Biscovey room. Mike is a superb host and a charismatic character...very helpful. He even offered us a lift home from the pub. I would definitely return to this little gem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joplumbuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Mike is a great guy, very welcoming and has a great knowledge of the area which helped us with our schedule of places to visit. Its very close to the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan. We stayed for 5 nights in the Biscovey room downastairs which is at the front of the house on a main road, the traffic dies down at night after the rush hour which is good as it was very warm when we were there, we had the windows open all night, the only thing that kept us awake was an Owl hooting lol. The room was very clean and tidy, en suite great (shower very good) and a kettle supplied in the room with free tea and coffee. Fresh clean towels whenever we wanted and the breakfasts were fantastic. We will be going back to Cornwall soon and this is the first number I will call to get a room. Don't miss out. A++

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkandSarahNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Had a very enjoyable stay at this guest house. Mike is a very welcoming host and cooks an excellent breakfast, never had bacon quite that thick before! Was worried about road noise when we arrived but it didn't keep us awake at all, we had the twin room on the front of the building, , it's a good size with a very nice ensuite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed with Mike for 5 nights to visit Eden and Heligan. What a find! Absolutely enormous, delicious breakfasts that set you up for the day. Our room, Carlyon, and the gorgeous en-suite were both spacious and immaculately clean, in a very tasteful contemporary style. I was slightly worried the road might be a little noisy, especially as we visited at a time when the heat at night was stifling and so had to have the windows open, but the bed was just so comfortable and we had such busy days, we just sank into it and we never heard a thing until it was time to drag ourselves out of it again and try to prepare for yet another delicious, humongous breakfast. Mike could not have been more friendly, helpful and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble for him and the little extra I requested for hubby's and my wedding anniversary (a bottle of bubbly) was added to above and beyond with a bouquet of gorgeous red roses and a very pretty tin of the very yummy local shortbread, together with a card from Mike himself. We were sorry to leave and were very much hoping to stay over for a little while longer, but for my mobility scooter not being able to cope with the steepness of St Ives! I have already recommended Mike's lovely guest house to lots of our friends and if we're ever back down that way again, Penarth would be the first place we'd be checking for availability. Fabulous! Thank you Mike

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denismenace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed 3 nights and couldn't fault the service. Upstairs double Carlyon. Good size ensuite. Mike was very welcoming and extremely helpful. Treated us as one of the family - even rang us en route to confirm our arrival time. Superb breakfast with all local sourced produce. Clean and friendly. Book as soon as possible to avoid disappointment as very highly sought after. Well situated to explore West Cornwall and walkable to Eden Project (5 mins car - 20 min walk) Good restaurant close by (Britannia Arms). Thanks Mike for an unforgettable weekend.

Room Tip: 2 rooms on first floor 1 on ground all facing east
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Par
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
0.5 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
2.7 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
1.4 mi away
The Royal Inn
The Royal Inn
#2 of 17 in Par
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penarth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penarth Guest House

Property: Penarth Guest House
Address: Penarth St. Austell Road | St Blazey Gate, Par, St Austell PL24 2EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Par
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Penarth Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penarth Guest House is a spacious detached house with three high quality ensuite guest rooms set in its own grounds at the edge of the village of St Blazey Gate just 5 minutes’ drive from the Eden Project. This part of the south Cornish coastline between the River Fowey to the east and the River Fal to the west is known as the Cornish Riviera for its beautiful gardens, palm trees and fine weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Penarth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penarth Guest House Par, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing