We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emms Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Emms Cottage
Ranked #13 of 17 Par B&B and Inns
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A gem of a B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I needed somewhere to stay near where I used to live as a child. This used to be 2 cottages that I visited as a little girl to play in the garden. It is now one and the garden is so beautiful. You can sit and eat the wonderful breakfast looking at the birds eating theirs!!!
Pam and Vic are such good hosts. The room was clean and comfortable. Thank-you for making my memories come alive!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennygray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
9
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

Pam and Vic are wonderful hosts. It was our first time staying in a B&B place. Don't regret it. Vic was ready to pick us up at the train station and also gave drop us off by a beautiful garden in front of the train station on the day we departed. Breakfast was really outstanding. Traditional english breakfast prepared on the spot. I even learnt a couple of tricks. The room was nice and clean with your own dvd player and tv. Not a lot of restaurants to eat from. But Pam and Vic will give their recommendation on which ones are good.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Muriel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alresford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

This lovely little cottage was a great find on my trip to Cornwall.The owners bent over backwards to help and advise me on where to go and just couldn't have made my break more enjoyable.
The delightful bedroom was clean, comfortable and warm (the weather was a bit chilly although sunny).
Lots of choice for breakfast and plenty of coffee whilst planning my day.
Do visit the Eden Project which is very near.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chloris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

Emms Cottage is the sweetest little B&B you could ask for. The rooms are clean, tidy and equiped for every eventuality. The bathroom was large and clean but never an issue to share. Breakfast was a choice of cereals, fruit, juices and cooked breakfast with tea and coffee. You can watch the many birds and squirrels visit the garden from the breakfast room. Pam and Vic are very obliging with many stories to tell. Vic is also a master at catching the odd spider with a great gadget he has. I would definately stay again!
Thanks once again Pam and Vic

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bolloks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2009

A lovely little cottage with only 2 rooms that are let out. Pam and Vic are lovely people and so enormously helpful. Pam extremely interested in gardening and flowers and is an enormous help when sightseeing the various garden complexes in the area. They pick you up and leave you off at the train station. I throughly enjoyed my stay. If you are a plant person, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RagLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2007

Emm's Cottage is within walking distance of the Eden Project and run by a marvelous and helpful couple, Pam and Vic. They are the epitome of kind, funny English people. The house itself is a sweet old whitewashed cottage right on the main road. It's named after the old woman who lived there for many years. Pam keeps just 2 rooms that are comfortably, efficiently, and creatively decorated. The shared bathroom is large, pretty, and clean. Best of all, Pam and Vic are real people who love to meet travelers and go out of their way to be helpful and guide you to good places in Cornwall--yet they also leave you to yourself. I felt more like a personal than a paying guest. The spaces in the house you eat in are beautiful, and Pam works all the time in her tiny yet gorgeous garden. This is a gem.

  • Liked — the owners
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank pinkhat_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Par
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
0.7 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Penarth Guest House
1.2 mi away
Ragstones B&B
Ragstones B&B
#1 of 17 in Par
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Old Ferry Inn
The Old Ferry Inn
#2 of 26 in Fowey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emms Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emms Cottage

Property: Emms Cottage
Address: 19 St. Austell Road | St Blazey Gate, Par, St Austell PL24 2EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Par
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Emms Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emms Cottage is a small friendly B & B with a very pretty wildlife garden, within walking distance to the Eden Project. It is 200 plus years old so has the charm a quaint cottage holds, creaky floorboards & all. The sandy beach by car is just a few minutes away, 20 minutes to the Lost Gardens of Heligan. The breakfast concists of as much local produce as poss. Free range eggs, allergies catered for.Would like to add we are 100 metres between bus stops to St. Austell, Mevasissy & Fowey in the other direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Emms Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emms Cottage Par, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing