We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be put off by the decor!”
Review of The Strand Bistro

The Strand Bistro
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Par
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: All our food is cooked to order with locally sourced meats, fish and vegetables from surrounding areas of the South West.(please allow or time) Booking is advisable as limited seating available. We can get very busy at times. Gluten free and vegetarian available with a wide range to choose from. Please call for any dietary requirements or speak with your server. Now offering Christenings, Weddings, Wakes packages etc ... Huge back garden to accommodate but unfortunately we do not allow dogs in the garden, we do have a back room if you wish to eat where we allow dogs.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the decor!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We went to The Strand after reading all the brilliant reviews on Trip Advisor but when we arrived my husband was completely put off by the look of the place and wanted to leave, don't be fooled the food is absolutely fantastic and the service great. Great value for money and very generous portions.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    44
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous AGAIN !!!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We went as a Party of 3 for a Birthday. We started with a drinks in the Bar of well served , including a well kept Beer. A traditional Pub is hard to find, this one must be tried if you are anywhere near the area. it is worth a visit. The Restaurant was busy on a Wednesday so,
"Booking advisable". Amazing starters if Whitebait & a cold Meat platter, very tasty !! Main courses of Lamb, Pheasant & a Chef style Burger were all very tasty.And helped along with a bottle of wine. The menu has a good selection, we had good service and excellent food, we will go back again & again !! Thank you

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheena O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous food, friendly pub”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Bistro on the Strand is the restaurant of the New Inn pub in Tywardreath (means 'manor on the strand' - think Daphne du Maurier). It's a small restaurant and busy, because it's good. The bar has a real fire, friendly service & plenty of locals.
The Bistro menu is on a chalkboard, specialising in seafood, fish & steaks.
We had three starters: tempura prawns (with dressed salad & lovely bread); mushroom on caramelised onions; whitebait. All were excellent, generous portions, beautifully presented.
Mains we had: Fish pie with vegetables, fish & chips, Thai chicken curry with rice, poppadum, chutney. Again. well presented, generous portions. I don't eat chips at home - I reserve them as a treat but am often disappointed - not here. The chips were GORGEOUS; soft & fluffy inside & they stayed hot ie they were properly cooked. The fish was moist inside the crisp batter. Accompanied by a bottle of Pino Grigio at £15 we were absolutely full in the best way.
The chef in the tiny kitchen behind the restaurant was working very hard to get food out quickly and it was obviously all freshly prepared. Service was efficient and friendly.
My only minor criticism is the expresso coffee machine is very noisy in such a small space - drowned out the conversation for minutes.
We will be back soon (not something I say about many restaurants) and the management & chef deserve to do well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cornish_traveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLYMOUTH
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Had Sunday lunch with my husband and daughter. Great food, the chef couldn't do enough for us. Would go back again

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barbiePlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Honest and tasty ”
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Tucked away in the rear of a good ol hard to find nowadays boozer. Excellent well kept beer by the cask I opted for bass a hard ale to keep! It was perfect, a testament to a good landlord! Tempura of prawns with salad did not disappoint and the portion size for a starter would be classed as a main in other places. The homemade beer battered cod was excellent and the tastiest I have had in a long time. The only criticism would be the plate for the cod was not hot, maybe I am being picky but tripadvisor is here for honesty. The chef was friendly and actually waited our table. He explained all the specials and even offered sandwiches and pannini extra to the board. Will be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank kernowlobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Strand Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Strand Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing