We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very generous portions of tasty pub grub”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #6 of 24 Restaurants in Par
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very generous portions of tasty pub grub”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I went here with my wife and teenage son. I was the only one to have a starter, which I regretted, not because the whitebait was disappointing but because the portion was almost a full meal in itself.
I had the Ship inn pie and found this to be delicious and again the helping was very generous. My wife tasted the pie and commented on how, unlike many similar dishes, one could really taste the ale. Not cheap but reasonably priced and very enjoyable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ketteringken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    72
    41
    21
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location & friendly staff”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Deceptionally large gardens and cosy inside. The bar staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was good quality and arrived quickly, despite being busy at the time of ordering.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bad roasties.”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the area and this was the first restaurant we tried as it was the only one serving food and we were all tired and hungry.
Had the carvery which had pre sliced meat. It was average but the roast potatoes let the whole experience down for me at least as they were greasy, tasteless and hard.
Overall though it was a nice place to visit, friendly staff, and generally good value athough I found the price of a pint a little steep, but perhaps that's because I tried the local real ale.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John12101961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good homemade grub”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I visited this pub on route to the Eden project for an early dinner. There were 8 of us in total, 4 adults and 4 children and we were pleasantly surprised :)
The food was great 2 of us had lasagne and the kids shared one between them, my husband had mackerel our friend had steak pie and the other kids had scampi and chicken chunks.
The lasagne was plentiful and came with salad the kids loved their meals my hubby being a fish maniac was over the moon and the steak and ale pie was the best my friend had ever eaten! I tried it and must say it was huge, tender and the pastry was crisp absolutely delicious! We has chips and garlic bread as a side and none of us got through it all.
The staff were friendly, the pub was traditional style amenities clean and prices reasonable leaving smiles all round. And we all wobbled around the Eden project trying to burn some of it off lol

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 31essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“good value carvery”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Was camping nearby and dropped in for supper. Surprised to be offered a carvery on a Friday for a fiver (its available all week) so gave it a go... and very nice it was too. Good beer too.
Ok it was busy and not "posh" but it was very pleasant place to enjoy a good meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xxxplymjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing