We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I stayed here to be close to Eden Project...”
Review of The Royal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Inn
Ranked #2 of 16 Par B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2010

I stayed here to be close to Eden Project and highly recommend this hotel. Very good value for money and will most certainly stay here when I am next in vicinity. Ideal for the Eden Project

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 299 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2010

Loved this place - comfortable, clean rooms, with a nice bar and decent food downstairs.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troopoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

The hotel is very clean, the service was excellent and the food piping hot and great quality - highly recommended

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrinidadD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

My husband and I recently spend two nights at this hotel on a journey round the West Country. I had chosen it as we wanted to go to the Eden Project, and the Royal is only about five minutes drive away. We were very pleased with our decision. Our room was nicely furnished and very comfortable, we even had our own little patio, but unfortunately the kitchen extractor fan was next to it! However, this didn’t cause much of a problem, as it was only running whilst the kitchen was operational between about 6.00 and 9.30.

We were fortunate with the weather, and were able to sit outside both nights to sample the local brew before dinner. We ate in the restaurant both nights and were very happy with the food, the only problem being that the portions were so generous that we didn’t have room to sample the desserts. The full breakfast also set us up for the day, and there was plenty of choice on the menu, I particularly appreciated the boiled eggs and soldiers!

We would definitely recommend this hotel, and would visit again if in the area.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Gladys50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

My wife and I stayed three nights and from the off were impressed. Comfortable and clean. Good sized bathroom , well appointed and all for £90 a night include tow very large breaksfasts.
We had meals on two nights and they were the best i have had anywhere else for the price of the associated price. The beers were a true ale fans heaven. Just a shame i hadn't stopped longer to try them all!
The staff were very very friendly, efficient and helpful.
Wi fi was woring and enabled me to search the area day to day for places to visit.
Only one thing: try to get a room at the back of the house as we were over the dining room and sound resonated up when moving furniture for breakfast and while meals were being served at night.
We will definitely use this place again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheffieldRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Just returned from a four night stay at the Royal Inn and can honestly say that it was perfect for our needs. We stayed in a premier room which was spotlessly clean, in top decorative order and spacious. We used the pub a few times and the restaurant twice (in addtion to every morning for breakfast); nice beer, helpful friendly staff and all food was of a decent quality & piping hot!

Par itself may not be a picture postcard town like Fowey but equally does not suffer from traffic congestion & hordes of visitors. It has a number of pubs, takeaways, one Indian restaurant & one Chinese restaurant, two convenience stores and a post office - there may be more we did not find. None are right next door to the Royal Inn but a short walk or drive will get you to them. The beach is large & sandy and a ten minute walk away. Very convenient for the coastal path (we walked to Fowey one morning) and the Eden Project (10 minutes drive away or a 4 mile walk).

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lemmingjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

The Royal Inn puts a few hotels to shame. Well maintained and clean. Rooms are off an annex to the pub and you can come and go at any hour. Rooms are very clean with large bathrooms. Pub itself is decent enough with a few Cornish ales and selection of food. It is a bit in the middle of nowhere, but not a problem if you have a car.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siasllaffh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Par
4.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#3 of 9 in St Austell
396 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
4.2 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
550 reviews
3.9 mi away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#2 of 3 in Lostwithiel
208 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#3 of 16 in Par
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Inn

Address: 66 Eastcliffe Road, Par, St Austell PL24 2AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Par
Price Range: $86 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Inn Par, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing