We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a nice surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Inn
Ranked #2 of 17 Par B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Such a nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Although I have previously reviewed just 5* establishments, the convenience of the location for my trip to Cornwall (and a personal recommendation from the person I was visiting) gave me the opportunity to visit The Royal Inn, described by ‘Visit Britain’ as being in the 'Inn' category – with 17 letting bedrooms; and, by themselves, as a ‘Bar & Restaurant, with rooms’.
Booking by e-mail, there was some initial confusion that I wanted to stay at The Royal and I was referred to alternative accommodation, elsewhere in Cornwall. It took daily insistence on-line that I was indeed both keen and eager to be a patron before I found my way onto their books (?).
Although the Inn dates from the C19th. the accommodation (“tastefully decorated to a high standard”) is quite modern – and designed to be easily cleaned and maintained; which it is, to a high standard. The rooms want for nothing and are well kitted-out – particularly for this price category. I could not fault the one I stayed in.
The staff are to be commended for polite and efficient service – particularly on a weekend evening which saw the place at maximum occupancy, with two party bookings and a live band session in the bar. (‘Par-ty, par-ty !’)
Food and drink were excellent .. and most reasonably priced.
For some people visiting the area, The Royal will be conveniently placed, being near the railway station, on a bus route, and within walking distance of Par Sands (quite a ‘good’ walk !) For all that, Par is NOT the most pretty town in Cornwall and, if The Royal were to be elsewhere (say, Fowey) it would be able to command prices two or three times higher.
The value-for-money while staying here makes me question whether the higher prices at some ‘high end’ hotels is justified for the extra ‘bells and whistles’ which you might (or might NOT) make use of in ‘International’ establishments.

Room Tip: Arrive early to ensure car-parking space
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank operabuff_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    78
    21
    1
    3
See reviews for
41
127
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed at the Royal Inn for one night. The staff were very friendly the room was fresh and clean. And the food and service in the restaurant was very good. But now for the bad news. The room I stayed in was over some sort of machine that was huming all night, and from time to time become very noisy, so not much sleep. No soap supplied in the bath room. And the WI-FI did not work in the room. So stopped me arranging work for the following day. I would stay at the Royal again but I would go with soap and arrange my work first. And ask not to stay in room12.

Room Tip: Not room 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband & I stayed at the Royal Inn & were pleasently surprised, the staff were all very friendly the room lovely, well equiped & very clean. The food & service in the restaurant was really good, we woul strongly reccomend this pub & will go there again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jen121060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Lovely hotel, friendly staff close to Eden and Heligan
Hotel food brilliant
Had a lovely stay in the four poster bed
Book early if you want to eat in the hotel it gets very busy because the food is so good.
Brilliant breakfast

Room Tip: Don't have a room above smoking area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

A Good value B&B, with friendly staff and nice quiet room experience.

Vegetarian Cooked breakfast was good.

Nice path though park to Nearest Beach.

Separate Restaurant room away from bar, good layout and very good service.

Room Tip: Room 1 - fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 758Beamish758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at the royal inn for two nights in august 2013. We booked a room for 2 adults and child. I am nor sure if we had a family room but nevertheless the room was very spacious and clean. The bathroom was excellent with a full sized bath and and in bath shower.

The room was nicely decorated with all the amenities you would expect. The only gripe was that the child's pull out sofa bed was a small single, adequate but not the best.

Breakfast was of a very high standard. we had the traditional English which was very nice.

We ate at the in hotel restaurant, which was very good food at a reasonable price. would recommend.

Room Tip: Have a look on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from this hotel, and read the reviews after having been to see it for myself.
The hotel was clean and good value for the money, the staff were friendly, nice pleasant, helpful people. I booked a family room, for which I expected both a double and single bed, I got two queen's pushed together with a sheet thrown over them as a disguise and a pull out matress.
The main gripe I have other than the fact that the heating was on in the room constantly was the simply terrible breakfast. I was on holiday so tried the Full English Breakfast. (By full I take it to mean full fat.)
It came with fatty smoked streaky bacon, a rubber sausage, mushrooms swimming in butter, beans, an egg, hash brown and coffee that was always cold.
Don't know where some of these reviewers stayed but it wasn't in my room I can assure you.
The acid test for me is always would I go back?
Not a chance.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John12101961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Par
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
2.0 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
2.9 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Inn

Property: The Royal Inn
Address: 66 Eastcliffe Road, Par, St Austell PL24 2AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Par
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Inn Par, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing