We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Royal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Inn
Ranked #2 of 17 Par B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cornwall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband & I stayed at the Royal Inn & were pleasently surprised, the staff were all very friendly the room lovely, well equiped & very clean. The food & service in the restaurant was really good, we woul strongly reccomend this pub & will go there again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen121060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    78
    22
    1
    3
See reviews for
41
127
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Lovely hotel, friendly staff close to Eden and Heligan
Hotel food brilliant
Had a lovely stay in the four poster bed
Book early if you want to eat in the hotel it gets very busy because the food is so good.
Brilliant breakfast

Room Tip: Don't have a room above smoking area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

A Good value B&B, with friendly staff and nice quiet room experience.

Vegetarian Cooked breakfast was good.

Nice path though park to Nearest Beach.

Separate Restaurant room away from bar, good layout and very good service.

Room Tip: Room 1 - fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 758Beamish758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at the royal inn for two nights in august 2013. We booked a room for 2 adults and child. I am nor sure if we had a family room but nevertheless the room was very spacious and clean. The bathroom was excellent with a full sized bath and and in bath shower.

The room was nicely decorated with all the amenities you would expect. The only gripe was that the child's pull out sofa bed was a small single, adequate but not the best.

Breakfast was of a very high standard. we had the traditional English which was very nice.

We ate at the in hotel restaurant, which was very good food at a reasonable price. would recommend.

Room Tip: Have a look on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from this hotel, and read the reviews after having been to see it for myself.
The hotel was clean and good value for the money, the staff were friendly, nice pleasant, helpful people. I booked a family room, for which I expected both a double and single bed, I got two queen's pushed together with a sheet thrown over them as a disguise and a pull out matress.
The main gripe I have other than the fact that the heating was on in the room constantly was the simply terrible breakfast. I was on holiday so tried the Full English Breakfast. (By full I take it to mean full fat.)
It came with fatty smoked streaky bacon, a rubber sausage, mushrooms swimming in butter, beans, an egg, hash brown and coffee that was always cold.
Don't know where some of these reviewers stayed but it wasn't in my room I can assure you.
The acid test for me is always would I go back?
Not a chance.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John12101961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backwell
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Because my grandchildren were caravanning near St Austell we decided at the last minute to join them in a local hostelry.
Our late booking proved to be !st class .Excellent room -good food -welcoming hosts --and a great place for trains ,buses and of course cars.

Room Tip: Our room no1 was on the ground floor opposite the car park No view but perfect for us. Rooms upsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BackwellMichaelhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Booked for a short break on 2 nights in Cornwall to visit the Eden Project. Overall I was pleased with the hotel, most things were clean and tidy and the room had everything we needed. Air conditioning would have been good given the 30 degree heat, but you get what you pay for and the portable fan kept us comfortable.

Couple of niggles that were really not major but would have helped push the rating to a 5. Room safe did not work - mentioned this to one of the staff but no help forthcoming. Also had a very small roof terrace next to the room which I assume is for smokers - given that their cigarette butts were still there.

Back on the positive, the wi-fi worked great with no dropouts or lack of signal. Breakfast was good; nothing fancy but more than adequate for a solid start to the day. We did use the restaurant one evening and it was fine. Menu not extensive but met our needs after a long drive.

Would certainly return here for a good value break in clean and tidy accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Par
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
4.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
2.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.0 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
2.9 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Inn

Property: The Royal Inn
Address: 66 Eastcliffe Road, Par, St Austell PL24 2AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Par
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Inn Par, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing