We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could want.”
Review of The Royal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Inn
Ranked #2 of 16 Par B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Good Pub with lovely rooms. This Hotel/Pub has just about all you could want,Good Beer,good food and good Entertainment. Oh,another plus.....the Landlady is a nutter !
It's situated close to the Railway Station but NOT noisey.You can walk to the Beach in 5mins. Public transport close at hand. Did I mention the Duck Pond and the Swans swimming in the Lake ?

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nopicnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 290 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were very impressed with the friendly, helpful staff who were on hand to offer advice about the area. The hotel was homely, clean and comfortable. The food was very good with an extensive menu and there was also entertainment in the bar. All at a very reasonable rate. Moreover the location was very central and allowed easy access to the train station so that visiting other areas in Cornwall was simple.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and i have been here at least half a dozen times. We did not stay but we were using the restaurant.
We mostly have had sunday lunch and it has been very good. The staff were very attentive and knew their jobs. I was pleased that the food was served on hot plates not luke warm like many establishments.
The vegetables were served in seperate dishes and were made up of fresh ingredients. \very nice.
I am not a pudding man but my wife always has one and she has not been dissapointed.
Local beers and guest beers are available a nice touch is they let me try the ones that I was not aware of, now that's quality service.
My understanding is that the B&B service has a 3 star AA rating, in my book that should include the food as well.
I will be going back now and again for lunch and I am sure that there will be the same Quality of service..well done

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Cornishkings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

It was our first visit here and we are sure like many others we booked bed and breakfast only but when we saw the menu we just had to eat in!! there was a good selection of vegetarian dishes so we were both very happy.
waiting staff were very attentive, there is a good selection of local draft beers in the bar, which is also popular with the locals ,one night there was live music from an exellent Fleetwood Mac tribute band called "Tango in the Night".
all in all a good place to stay - we plan to visit again

Room Tip: we were at the rear it was very quiet , the front is closer to the road
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a night while walking the South West Coast Path. We had a fabulous room - large with a lounge area and a great bath, which is lovely after a long day! We had an excellent dinner & delicious breakfast in the dining room. The staff were all very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mojito12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

When booking accomodation we are usually guided by Tripadvisor reviews. I am persuaded when 90% of comments are good, ignoring the other 10%. And so it was with the Royal Inn at Par in Cornwall where we have just spent three most enjoyable nights..

Our room was large, clean and very comfortable. the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was absolutely superb. I have to agree with all the previous reviews except the comment that the bed was too hard. Ours was extremely comfortable although we do not favour soft matresses.

We would like to have stayed a fourth night but our room was unavailable.

We have no problem with awarding this Inn five stars.

.

Room Tip: We were in Room 6. Large and very comfortable
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

stayed here in sept 2012, what a find!! had room 4, which was stunning, couldnt believe this place was a B&B!! food cooked to order and surpassed many top restaurants I have been too, breakfast was good value as included and far exceeded my expectations, am already thinking about when I can go back!

Room Tip: room 3 is set up for disabled with a wet room, so if you want a bath, ask for a different room when...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zjm2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Par
4.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
375 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
506 reviews
4.2 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,580 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
3.3 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Inn

Address: 66 Eastcliffe Road, Par, St Austell PL24 2AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Par
Price Range: $89 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Inn Par, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing