We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“does what it says on the tin”
Review of The Royal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Inn
Ranked #2 of 17 Par B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“does what it says on the tin”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Nothing to rave about or complain about. Freindly Staff clean [maybe over furnished]room and bathroom, enjoyed a good nights sleep in a comfortable bed, had a good breakfast selection well cooked.
Hotel/pub is right opposite Par station but no noise problems.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dears99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    85
    22
    1
    4
See reviews for
43
138
14
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed at this establishment for one night to attend a family members 90th Birthday party as we had travelled quite a distance. We were absolutely taken back by the quality of the room we were allocated. Everything you needed was provided in the room for a pleasant stay with a good breakfast included. Our room was overlooking the car park to the side so not a great view though we weren't in the room much anyway so was not an issue. Rooms to the front of the Inn have better views. The room was very clean and tidy and very spacious. The party was in a large room at the back of the Inn just off the bar with plenty of seating and a good buffet was provided. Ther price was very reasonable. Par itself is in the middle of nowhere and is a typical cornish rural area near The Eden Project (approx 4 miles) and only a short walk to Par railway station. Would stay again and recommend.

Room Tip: Any of the 18 rooms are all well equipped though better views from the front of the Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2011

First of all I would like to say that this is my personal review and what I find excellent other people might not. Also if I dont like something it doesn't matter you won't so please bear that in mind.

All in all I had a wonderful stay. I went there in March to celebrate my birthday with my partner. The price was incredible, as far as I remember it was L120 for 3 nights which was outstanding compared with other places I checked.
When we arrived the first thing I noticed was the fact that everything looked so posh and expensive. Marble floors, everything nice and clean. The room was spacious extremely clean and so so beautiful. There also was a kettele and a few of the free goodies such as tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits etc. We were getting a new ones as soon as we used something. There was a TV as well.
We had a little terrace with a table so, weather permitting, you can sit outside and enjoy the day.
I didn't go to the bar which was downstairs so I can't comment on that. I would like to say however that some of the rooms are above the bar. When I read it on the hotel's website I was a bit worried I wouldn't be able to sleep at night. BUT it couldn't be more quiet.

Very close to the hotel you have the most amazing beach I've seen in Cornwall. Very long and wide so make sure you check it out.

I really really enjoyed myself and I would love to come back there some day. If you're looking for a pleasant place to stay where you can get a good night sleep and relax this is a place for you.
Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karolina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

The royal inn,warm and friendly welcome from Mandy,Vince and their team of staff .Good sized well furnished rooms and beds pretty comfortable,free parking, fantastic food ,great selection of beers and wines.The only negative was PAR itself,very little to do apart from beach walking.But as a base to discover Cornwall, go on book a room !!

Room Tip: book a premier room as much bigger ,no6 is a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wedge012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

My partner and I stayed here while I was on business in Cornwall. After waiting some time for the solo barman to provide us with room keys we were horrified to discover the room awash with bluebottles. My partner killed over 60 before we gave up, went back down to the bar and informed said barman of the problem. His answer "are you sure they're not coming through the window", when informed they were not, he accompanied us back to the room and had little chose but to agree there was a problem. He stated he was not sure if he could find us alternative accommodation as the hotel was fully booked but he would see what he could do. He did find another room (which given the late hour we felt we had little choice but accept). The new room was fine, clean with a small fenced in terrace. Later while in the bar we overheard him telling, who we assumed was the manager, about the bluebottles. They both disappeared upstairs, on their return no apology was recevied and no comment made. We chose to eat in the pub as Par is a very small predominantly residential town with little choice of eating places. The food was excellent, very large portions and good service, we would definatly eat there again if passing. Next morning over breakfast I overheard another guest commenting that he had a terrible night sleep due to being constantly 'divebombed' by flies. Given that management were clearly aware of the the problem it was really not acceptable to place a guest in a room which was frankly not fit to be inhabited. Frankly if an alternative room had not been provided I would have reported the establishment to environmental health. Never again!!

Room Tip: Don't go anywhere near room 9 until you have been assured they have fumigated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorisdoolaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuneaton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed for 0ne night only after going to the Eden project . A lovely hotel and our rooms were on the ground floor ,they were lovely . this suited us as our friends had trouble walking far . We stayed in the hotel restaurant for a meal booked at 7pm and finally finished at 9.45pm which could have been sooner but i got the impression that the customers off of the street were served first . in all the meals were very good and tasty The facilities in the room were exceptional and i would recommend anyone to stop there . Noise was not a problem for us ,we didn't hear anyone .A great place to stay .

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annjflorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This hotel has it all, friendly staff, comfortable rooms with great beds and fantastic food. The hotel is close to the railway station so for those who do not want to drive see Cornwall by train. The situation of the Royal is ideal for The Eden Project and Fowey plus The Lost Gardens of Heligan. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are sunny and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willow077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Par
4.2 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
4.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#5 of 9 in St Austell
362 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
2.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,517 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Inn

Property: The Royal Inn
Address: 66 Eastcliffe Road, Par, St Austell PL24 2AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Par
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Par
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Inn Par, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing