We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good indian food.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Massala - CLOSED

Royal Massala
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not good indian food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

After a great weeks holiday in Par sands holiday park we decided on our last night to visit this restaurant that we passed every day. We were not greeted on arrival, eventually led to a table, eventually asked for our drink order and then told we could go to the buffet in 5 minutes or so as it was getting topped up.

For a buffet the choice was very limited. 2 starters, only 3 chicken mains and 2 vegetarian, rice and nan bread.

Starters were okay. No sauce for the pakora.

On plating the food.....thin sauce..........on eating...........disgusting!!!

All dishes tasted much the same.

Very dissapointed!!!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    23
    11
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cannot Cook Chicken Tikka”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Generally the food was average for an Indian but what let the whole meal down was the way the chicken tikka was prepared and cooked. It felt and tasted as though it was cooked in a coonventional oven so that it was hard and leathery on the outside. As we order 3 of these for the 5 of us it ruined our meal. Would not go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nan bread was cooked in a microwave!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Popped in here as heard mixed reviews, ordered a small take out before taking the plunge to dine in.

Had to feed the nan bread to the ducks on par sands, needed soaking up with water as was like rock!!

Appauling, always seemed quiet so glad we did not all sit in... Come on, basic nan bread and they can not get that right.

I have tried many curry houses up and down the UK and would not rate this at all, situated right outside par sands caravan park so even if they get one visit of each holiday family they will be quids in, avoid... Go to the ship inn and buy a roast dinner for just over £5!

Don't waste your money even if you crave curry, trying to cash in on holiday makers, complete tasteless food.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Avee76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Massala, General Manager at Royal Massala, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello. Thank you for your review. I can assure you that we have never cooked a nan bread in the microwave! We have a Tandoori oven and all our nan breads are cooked in that. Nan breads are not basic to make either. I am sorry to hear you have had a bad experience. I would like to invite you to the Royal Massala and hope you have a better experience. Once again I apologise on behalf of Royal Massala on your bad experience with our food.

Kind Regards

RM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brocton, Staffs.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sensational!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Turned up on spec for quiet indulgence of my birthday whilst holidaying in Fowey. My taste for fish curry catered for perfectly and vegetarian range extensive. Everything prepared and presented in complete harmony. Our 4 year old was unfortunately asleep when we arrived and slept on a comfy padded bench seat throughout the event, missing out on the beautiful aquarium too. Everyone was totally chilled and pleasant. Good to have Bangladesh women providing the service. Charming.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Graestrummer62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Secrecy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Didnt know the exsistance of this place until early this year even though I live 5 miles away. in house staff are very friendly and welcoming. Nice modern decorn with a hint of an indian theme. Food is cooked to perfection at every visit. Shouldnt be pars best kept secret!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Larawoodleycopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Massala also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing