We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value dining”

The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Par
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, Pub, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value dining”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

The Britannia in is situated on the main A390 road in to St Austell from the East. The meals are good, if not exceptional, but very good value.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julius M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    197
    45
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A jewel in the crown”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

I am always sceptical when booking online, yes you have the reviews to go by and some photos that you sometimes can't trust, but wow this place is excellent.
The location is good although situated on a main road this isn't a problem, the bar area is very well presented as well as the restaurant and good value for money with a good choice for all.
The garden is large with plenty of tables and patio area with wicker style furniture.
The room was excellent, very well presented, spacious with modern clean lines.
I must mention the staff, very well presented and polite especially Charlotte who served us tonight in the restaurant.

A must stop off if your in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greensbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent food!!”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

Ate in the waves restaurant in a big group the service was fast and the food was cook to very high standards. I have ate in the bar on an pervious occasion and I found the quality not so good, but on this trip there it was nothing less than amazing

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karli-Rae-87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very impressed!”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We ate in the main restaurant, not the pub restaurant. Food was great, not the cheapest but well worth the money. Staff polite and happy. The wait for food was much shorter than i thought it would be but defo all freshly cooked. 6 of us all had different meals and everyone enjoyed there food. Drinks a tad more than they need to cost so maybe management could address that. Otherwise great, look forward to returning.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fezzypower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
1 review
“Christening”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Just had our daughters Christening afternoon here 24/08/2014 and we found it brilliant.The Waves restaurant was the perfect setting for it. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating they couldn't do enough for us.We had buffet food and jam and cream scones and it was superb all our friends said how nice the food was.The Britannia Inn also caters for children with climbing frames, swings and a bouncy castle and as the Waves Restaurant doors opened up on to this and the weather was good, all the children who came enjoyed themselves.We found the hire of the room and the buffet great value for money. The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant really did make our little girls day. Thank You so much. Sarah & Jeremy and of course Maddison aged 8 months and 7 days.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeremy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing