We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Brit”

The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Par
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Brit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Good quality food and very accommodating, I have eaten here on several occasions and have never had anything but a 1st class experience, very clean dining areas, happy helpful staff loads of parking excellent children's outside play area, but what you want the most is good tasty food and it has it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveRS2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    183
    43
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bones in a curry style sauce?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

never had chicken drum sticks and other parts of a chicken attached to bones in the sauce hardly any butternut squash or rice, the steak was terrible fat laden sinewy and incorrectly prepared, asked for a blue steak and dint get it....definitely not worth the £30 spent and the Doom Bar pint was watery.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meia5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We called in to have lunch with a group of friends while on our way through Cornwall to go on holiday. We ate in the bar where you can purchase 2 main meals for £15. Lovely selection and choice (Salmon with mussels was delicious!) and the variety of meals we ate were beautifully served with ample helpings. Sorry to say our hotel where we stayed didn't match the standard of food at the Britannia.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sonja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We visited while staying in the area and had a fantistick meal in great surroundings. The staff where very freindly and made it a most enjoyable evening

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing, first class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I came for a meal here after seeing it on trip advisor whilst stayin in st Austell. What can I say it was amazing from start to finish. The service was first class, the steak was the best we've had in a long time. Good selection of wine and drink. We would've been happy paying double what we did. I will strongly recommend this place to everyone who visits here.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant also viewed

St Austell, Cornwall
St Austell, Cornwall
 

Been to The Britannia Inn & Waves Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing